Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DTV 3 LNB setup ?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   EL34dude

EL34dude

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2002

Posted 20 August 2002 - 09:45 PM

Can someone explain how the 3 LNB DTV dish works?
I am currently on E* and want to switch to D* come Dec. when my yearly contract expires. I want two DTivo2's to start and the oval dish. I will eventually want to add an HD tuner, so I will need access to the 110 sat , if they move some HD to 110.

My current setup has the dish on the roof with only 2 lines run to the util closet in the basement and then to various rooms. So my concern is that I only have these two lines to works with. Can I access all 3 sats, using the sat-c kit and use a multiswitch inside the house to then run to the DTivos? Are there different dishs, those that have internal multiswitches and those that don't. I'd also like a multiswitch that can accept ant and/or cable and then use diplexers at the DTivos to seperate the signals.

Oh, and then the $64 question.... what will happen post merger, which slots will Echo/Direct use, etc.

Let me know what you think is the best setup.

thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Neil Derryberry

Neil Derryberry

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,014 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 21 August 2002 - 06:45 AM

The oval dish usually comes with an integrated Eagle Aspen multiswitch... it is actually built in to the end of the lnb arm, and the lnb's plug directly into it. 2 benefits with that... you don't need the whole sat c kit, just the lnb, because the lnb's actually attach directly to the switch with no cables. The output from that switch is 4 leads that will each provide a signal to a reciever tuner. You could go to the expense of a second multiswitch to cascade from, but it may be cheaper to run two more cables.... your choice.
Neil Derryberry, WD4NET
neil dot derryberry at gmail dot com

#3 OFFLINE   EL34dude

EL34dude

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2002

Posted 21 August 2002 - 01:31 PM

If I could run two more cables I would, but it's darn near impossible. Dish is outside on roof (2 story + basment) , two existing wires go thru attic to center of house then down to the util closet in basment. All this was done when the house was built. I could be wrong, but I don't think I can retro two more wires along this path, hence my interest in using an external switch.

#4 OFFLINE   Neil Derryberry

Neil Derryberry

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,014 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 21 August 2002 - 01:34 PM

That can certainly be done.
Neil Derryberry, WD4NET
neil dot derryberry at gmail dot com




Protected By... spam firewall...And...