Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

exta remote control question


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   shark420

shark420

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Jun 08, 2006

Posted 11 June 2006 - 04:27 PM

I am going to get a direct tv dish setup but I will be splitting one of the receivers in 2 rooms. Does anybody know if I can get an extra remote control when I sign up for my instalation and as will they charge me for it?

thanks
Shark420

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 11 June 2006 - 05:22 PM

I am going to get a direct tv dish setup but I will be splitting one of the receivers in 2 rooms. Does anybody know if I can get an extra remote control when I sign up for my instalation and as will they charge me for it?

thanks
Shark420


How would we know? This is a Dishnetwork Discussion Forum.

#3 OFFLINE   Slamminc11

Slamminc11

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,333 posts
Joined: Jan 27, 2005

Posted 11 June 2006 - 05:57 PM

I know that Dish and Direct start with the same letter, but one has a few more than the other.
You might head over the the Direct area and ask them about how their systems work

#4 OFFLINE   shark420

shark420

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Jun 08, 2006

Posted 11 June 2006 - 07:27 PM

I know that Dish and Direct start with the same letter, but one has a few more than the other.
You might head over the the Direct area and ask them about how their systems work


sorry guys, had a brain lapse I meant dish network

#5 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 11 June 2006 - 08:25 PM

sorry guys, had a brain lapse I meant dish network


Are you getting a single or dual tuner receiver? Dual tuner receivers come with two remotes. If you need additional, contact dish - you can get additional remotes depending on your receiver.

#6 OFFLINE   tigerhonaker

tigerhonaker

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: May 08, 2006

Posted 11 June 2006 - 08:28 PM

sorry guys, had a brain lapse I meant dish network


It looks like you are asking about Dish Network and how many remotes?

I got Two-Remotes with my 622 install.

1-for the H/D T/V and 1-For the Standard T/V. Does this answer your question on how many remotes you can get?

Also I think I should mention that I was ask on the front end how many T/V's I would be hooking up to.

So maybe that is what you need to let them know. You need 2-Remotes.

Terry
Runco VX-5000ci Projector
Stewart, 4-Way ScreenWall ElectriMask, 123"
Integra Research RDC-7 AV Controller/Receiver
Integra Research RDV-1 DVD Audio/Video Player
3-Classe' Cam350 Mono Amps.
2-Classe' CA-201 Amps.
JM Lab, Pair Mezzo Utopia front left & right
JM Lab, Center Channel Utopia
JM Lab, Pair Side Utopia
JM Lab, Pair Mini Utopia, for rear
Subs. 4-Mirage BPS400
1-Richard Gray RGPC-1200S/BK
7-Richard Gray RGPC-400S
Transparent Audio & Video Cables
VP 622 HD DVR

#7 OFFLINE   The intimidator

The intimidator

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 67 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2006

Posted 11 June 2006 - 09:56 PM

Get a 322 dual tuner if connected to a phone line they waive the additional outlet fee.. With this you will get an infared remote for the tv one location, and a uhf remote for the second location. With the uhf it will enable you to change channels through walls up to 100 feet from the receiver location.. The only other option is to get a uhf conversion kit. about 60.00 but why???
:stickman:
:goodjob:
:new_smili

#8 OFFLINE   TMaud

TMaud

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 12 June 2006 - 02:35 PM

Go to Ebay and you can get one. I just split the TV2 output on my 522 receiver and bought a second remote on ebay. Works great.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...