Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Is the D10's 16x9 setting supposed to do something?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 03 July 2006 - 07:26 PM

Just curious. Got a widescreen TV for my office, but both the 4:3 and 16x9 settings seem to be the same.
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 03 July 2006 - 07:40 PM

Well "kinda"...

It is a carry over setting that has been there since the first box has ever been out. A long time ago, DirecTV would broadcast both a 4:3 and a 16:9 version of the program, and that setting was to set your default.

Now... it is basically a setting that effects nothing.

Upgrade to an H20 :D
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 03 July 2006 - 08:15 PM

An H20 is $100. :(

I prolly will after a bit, but I don't want to split my antenna to a second receiver. Wouldn't it degrade the main signal?
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM


#4 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 03 July 2006 - 08:26 PM

No, not really.

Digital signal is a digital signal... if you can recieve it, you get the picture.
Splitting with a high quality signal won't degrade it enough to be a problem.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#5 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 03 July 2006 - 10:27 PM

But it's an OTA signal... and I'm on a deep fringe antenna. I thought it might be a problem. If not, I'd be willing to put a splitter on.
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM


#6 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 03 July 2006 - 11:40 PM

But even the "OTA" you are picking up the digital signal...
You should be fine, so long as you put a high quality splitter on it.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#7 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 04 July 2006 - 06:08 AM

Can you recommend a high quality one?
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM


#8 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 04 July 2006 - 08:38 PM

I 'll tell you something weird on my 50" RPTV when I have it on 4:3 it doesn't look
as good as the 16:9 setting go figure right.That with my D11-500.

#9 OFFLINE   Brent04

Brent04

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 211 posts
Joined: Nov 22, 2004

Posted 08 July 2006 - 12:05 PM

Well I have a 60" DLP rear projection HDTV and an UltimateTV receiver and have the screen size set to 16:9 and it does do something on the UltimateTV receiver. If the show is in letterbox and has it listed as such in the guide then the UltimateTV receiver automatically zooms the picture to get rid of the the black letterbox bars on the top and bottom. I have noticed that if a program that starts at say 8:00 pm actually comes on at 7:59pm before the time and guide on the receiver turns to 8 at first I will see the letterbox bars but once the time on the receiver turns to 8 the image automatically zooms in.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...