Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Natgeographic


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   transplant

transplant

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2005

Posted 03 July 2006 - 08:06 PM

I have Dish 120. They are running natl geo for free until the 12th. Is there any way to get Natl geo without going to 180? I don't want all the junk that comes with 180, but I would like to have Natl Geo.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Steve Mehs

Steve Mehs

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 11,499 posts
Joined: Mar 21, 2002

Posted 03 July 2006 - 08:09 PM

Nope, you can't just have National Geographic, you have to take the whole package.
Friends Don't Let Friends Subscribe To: Verizon Landline, Verizon DSL, Verizon Fios Phone, Verizon Fios Broadband, Verizon Fios TV, Verizon Wireless or Verizion Wireless Mobile Broadband
Keep America Beautiful, Ban Verizon From Your Home!
Down With Verizon!

#3 OFFLINE   JohnL

JohnL

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 701 posts
Joined: Apr 01, 2002

Posted 03 July 2006 - 08:15 PM

I have Dish 120. They are running natl geo for free until the 12th. Is there any way to get Natl geo without going to 180? I don't want all the junk that comes with 180, but I would like to have Natl Geo.



Transplant,

If you enjoy the National Geographic there are a BUNCH of Discovery Channels (Discovery Times, Science Channel (Love this one), Discovery Home), that you would Love. Those combined with the Encore Channels (Speed OLN) and several others for me, make Top 180 a MUST HAVE.

The other choice is to get DirecTV National Geographic is in much cheaper package, but if you have HDTV DirecTV does NOT yet have National Geographic HD.

John

#4 OFFLINE   jldhawk

jldhawk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 190 posts
Joined: Apr 09, 2006

Posted 03 July 2006 - 09:41 PM

You can keep National Geographic on the 120 package, just not in HD, RIGHT?
52" JVC HD-ILA LCoS TV
Dish Network HD Gold Package
Dish VIP211 Reciever
Dish1000.2 antenna
Pioneer 7.1 DTS Surround System
Toshiba DVD/VHS with HDMI Upconversion for DVD's
Off-Air Terk HDTV-s Rooftop antenna (5 HD Channels) NBC/ABC/2-PBS/CBS off-air, 1 DTV (Fox)
Dodge Ram (Ya, it's got a HEMI) Infinity Sound System

#5 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,748 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 03 July 2006 - 10:02 PM

No ... the regular and the HD NatGeo are only in AT180/HD Gold.

#6 OFFLINE   geno58

geno58

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2006

Posted 04 July 2006 - 08:13 AM

No ... the regular and the HD NatGeo are only in AT180/HD Gold.



James, this has nothing to do with this thread, but, I wanted to compliment you on your nice logo for today. "Let's fly on the 4th" What will be more appropriate than launching the Discovery shuttle on the 4th of July. ----The biggest fireworks display of them all. Good luck Discovery crew!!! :D

#7 OFFLINE   jldhawk

jldhawk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 190 posts
Joined: Apr 09, 2006

Posted 04 July 2006 - 11:11 AM

No ... the regular and the HD NatGeo are only in AT180/HD Gold.

OK, thanks for clearing that up, I misunderstood the channel line up.
AND I agree, I can't wait to be able to watch the Launch in HD on HDNET.
I thought for sure this was going to get delayed again, to a day time when I am working.
Good Luck NASA Crew.
God Speed!
52" JVC HD-ILA LCoS TV
Dish Network HD Gold Package
Dish VIP211 Reciever
Dish1000.2 antenna
Pioneer 7.1 DTS Surround System
Toshiba DVD/VHS with HDMI Upconversion for DVD's
Off-Air Terk HDTV-s Rooftop antenna (5 HD Channels) NBC/ABC/2-PBS/CBS off-air, 1 DTV (Fox)
Dodge Ram (Ya, it's got a HEMI) Infinity Sound System




Protected By... spam firewall...And...