Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Locals or Distants Only


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Link

Link

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,744 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2004

Posted 14 August 2006 - 04:33 PM

Can you just keep locals or distants with Directv and pay some $5.00 access fee? I knew with Dish you could but wasn't sure on Directv.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 14 August 2006 - 05:20 PM

In generall...

No... Once you have access to your "true" locals... you will lose access to the DNS feeds.

There some exceptions to that rule (especially until the HR20 is released).
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   Link

Link

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,744 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2004

Posted 14 August 2006 - 05:56 PM

In generall...

No... Once you have access to your "true" locals... you will lose access to the DNS feeds.

There some exceptions to that rule (especially until the HR20 is released).


I know you either have one or the other. My dad has distant networks with no locals option. Can he keep them without any other directv programming package?

#4 OFFLINE   AnonomissX

AnonomissX

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 432 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 14 August 2006 - 06:10 PM

not really...he has to have a "base" package. You can check into Directv's new "family" package, this is now only $29.99 monthly
~Melodie~ Aka AnonomissX

If you have a question, I may or may not have an answer.

"Fat people are harder to Kidnap" :lol:




Protected By... spam firewall...And...