Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

South Asian Indian Channels Directv vs Dish Network


  • Please log in to reply
947 replies to this topic

#326 OFFLINE   rdmt319

rdmt319

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2009

Posted 26 March 2009 - 12:27 PM

Saturday, March 28
02:30 am (ET) | 01:30 am (CT) | 11:30 pm (PT) - Akele Hum Akele Tum (1995)
05:00 am (ET) | 04:00 am (CT) | 02:00 am (PT) - Kahani Gudiya Ki (2007)
08:00 am (ET) | 07:00 am (CT) | 05:00 am (PT) - Kashmir Ki Kali (1964)
11:00 am (ET) | 10:00 am (CT) | 08:00 am (PT) - Agnipankh: Sky Is Not the Limit (2004)
02:00 pm (ET) | 01:00 pm (CT) | 11:00 am (PT) - Aap Mujhe Acheche Lagne Lage (2002)
05:00 pm (ET) | 04:00 pm (CT) | 02:00 pm (PT) - Janbaaz (1986)
08:30 pm (ET) | 07:30 pm (CT) | 05:30 pm (PT) - Oye Lucky! Lucky Oye! (2008)
11:30 pm (ET) | 10:30 pm (CT) | 08:30 pm (PT) - Pyare Mohan (2006)

Sunday, March 29
02:30 am (ET) | 01:30 am (CT) | 11:30 pm (PT) - Sanam Hum Aapke Hain (2007)
05:00 am (ET) | 04:00 am (CT) | 02:00 am (PT) - Love (1991)
08:00 am (ET) | 07:00 am (CT) | 05:00 am (PT) - Afsana Pyaar Ka (1991)
11:00 am (ET) | 10:00 am (CT) | 08:00 am (PT) - Badnam Farishte (1971)
02:00 pm (ET) | 01:00 pm (CT) | 11:00 am (PT) - Yuva (2004)
05:00 pm (ET) | 04:00 pm (CT) | 02:00 pm (PT) - Dil Jo Bhi Kahey (2005)
08:30 pm (ET) | 07:30 pm (CT) | 05:30 pm (PT) - Pinjar (2003)
11:30 pm (ET) | 10:30 pm (CT) | 08:30 pm (PT) - Main Madhuri Dixit Banna Chahti Hoon (2003)

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#327 OFFLINE   Nina

Nina

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 144 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2008

Posted 26 March 2009 - 01:32 PM

Quizzer,
Do you guys think UTV is any better than Filmy? Before I change my package?

#328 OFFLINE   gdeep

gdeep

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 26 March 2009 - 02:02 PM

Quizzer,
Do you guys think UTV is any better than Filmy? Before I change my package?


I already dropped Filmy....:D

Plus I'm sick of the comedy show they show over and over. Filmy is a movie channel and they shouldn't even show any comedy show.

#329 OFFLINE   quizzer

quizzer

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 742 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 26 March 2009 - 05:49 PM

Quizzer,
Do you guys think UTV is any better than Filmy? Before I change my package?


Filmy doesnt have a good following even in india.

I believe UTV movies has got good line up of movies.

Dont forget to ask the CSR about the other 3 "new" channels when you call them to change the package.

#330 OFFLINE   Nina

Nina

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 144 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2008

Posted 26 March 2009 - 07:08 PM

Filmy doesnt have a good following even in india.

I believe UTV movies has got good line up of movies.

Dont forget to ask the CSR about the other 3 "new" channels when you call them to change the package.


Thanks Quizzer,
When I called CRS to drop Filmy, I got the same running around as to March is not yet over and that the channels are going to launch!!!!!!!

#331 OFFLINE   hp123

hp123

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 57 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2009

Posted 27 March 2009 - 03:22 PM

hi,
i had filmy before.(given free 6 months trial)....same rerun movies....not even single new movies ,got tired off it and cancel filmy.....in india ...b4u and filmy...worse movie channel ...and utv has better movies than filmy for sure....cannot compare with zee cinema and sony max...stargold .....as they are king for yrs in india


thanks
hp

#332 OFFLINE   quizzer

quizzer

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 742 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 30 March 2009 - 06:18 PM

Thanks Quizzer,
When I called CRS to drop Filmy, I got the same running around as to March is not yet over and that the channels are going to launch!!!!!!!


April 1 is a wednesday. March will be gone and still no news from directv on any new channels.

#333 OFFLINE   JKnight

JKnight

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2005

Posted 31 March 2009 - 11:21 AM

I just spoke to Directv. the CSR told me about some information that he had about NDTV Goodtimes (it suppose to be channel 2009, but wasn't sure if that was already coing through or what) and NDTV Profit (suppose to be channel 2010, but same thing wasn't sure if it was coming already or not). Seemed very honest about information that he didn't not knew.

#334 OFFLINE   quizzer

quizzer

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 742 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 31 March 2009 - 05:03 PM

I just spoke to Directv. the CSR told me about some information that he had about NDTV Goodtimes (it suppose to be channel 2009, but wasn't sure if that was already coing through or what) and NDTV Profit (suppose to be channel 2010, but same thing wasn't sure if it was coming already or not). Seemed very honest about information that he didn't not knew.


Seems like you and Nina spoke to the same CSR?

#335 OFFLINE   gdeep

gdeep

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 31 March 2009 - 05:33 PM

Seems like you and Nina spoke to the same CSR?


I just got done talking to CSR and I was told that the (Profit and Goodtime) channels should be launching anytime next week. I will believe that when I see them on my tv :)

#336 OFFLINE   JKnight

JKnight

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2005

Posted 31 March 2009 - 08:37 PM

I just got done talking to CSR and I was told that the (Profit and Goodtime) channels should be launching anytime next week. I will believe that when I see them on my tv :)



When I spoke to the CSR, he seemd to be looking at some Channel Fact Sheet or something like that. I had asked him abt the PTC Punjabi. He didn't see that on the list, but had many customers inquiring about that channel. I guess gdeep must be one of those customer.

#337 OFFLINE   gdeep

gdeep

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 31 March 2009 - 09:09 PM

When I spoke to the CSR, he seemd to be looking at some Channel Fact Sheet or something like that. I had asked him abt the PTC Punjabi. He didn't see that on the list, but had many customers inquiring about that channel. I guess gdeep must be one of those customer.


That's for sure.... :)

#338 OFFLINE   puri

puri

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2009

Posted 31 March 2009 - 09:52 PM

Here is the response I got from Direct TV about PTC punjabi.
''Thanks for writing. I checked your account information and found out that you are one of our loyal customers for several years now. We do appreciate your continuous patronage of our products and services.

We don't carry PTC or any Punjabi Channel right now. However, I have made a note to your account regarding your request.

In addition, whenever we add channels to our lineup, we release a statement to the press, so keep an eye on the news to find out about the newest channels or visit our web site at directv.com/pr.

#339 OFFLINE   quizzer

quizzer

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 742 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 31 March 2009 - 11:17 PM

Here is the response I got from Direct TV about PTC punjabi.
''Thanks for writing. I checked your account information and found out that you are one of our loyal customers for several years now. We do appreciate your continuous patronage of our products and services.

We don't carry PTC or any Punjabi Channel right now. However, I have made a note to your account regarding your request.

In addition, whenever we add channels to our lineup, we release a statement to the press, so keep an eye on the news to find out about the newest channels or visit our web site at directv.com/pr.


This is their standard reply. I got the same when i had asked about Sahara filmy in 2007 and UTV movies few days back.

#340 OFFLINE   satexplorer

satexplorer

    Superstar

  • Registered
  • 536 posts
  • LocationDock X
Joined: Feb 06, 2007

Posted 01 April 2009 - 04:03 PM

Thanks for writing.

We have some exciting new offers that make it one of the best times to sign up for DIRECTV.

We don't carry NDTV Profit and Goodtimes channels right now and we don't currently have plans to add it to our lineup.

However, I have forwarded your request to DIRECTV management.

In addition, whenever we add channels to our lineup, we release a statement to the press, so keep an eye on the news to find out about the newest channels or visit our web site at directv.com/pr.

We have set up two ways for you to get immediate responses to all of your questions and begin enjoying DIRECTV:

For information about our current offers or to place your order online in just minutes, simply go to directv.com/getdirectv.

You can also call us at 1-800-DIRECTV from 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 a.m. ET daily to get answers to your questions..

Thanks again for writing.

SATEXPLORER,

Can you find out if its going to make it?


NDTV Good Times and NDTV Profit wondering around for a leased office? It takes an office to get the channels running.

Today, DISH Network has uplinked an punjabi channel on Channel 602 coming April 22, 2009.

Edited by satexplorer, 01 April 2009 - 04:14 PM.


#341 OFFLINE   quizzer

quizzer

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 742 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 01 April 2009 - 05:22 PM

NDTV Good Times and NDTV Profit wondering around for a leased office? It takes an office to get the channels running.

Today, DISH Network has uplinked an punjabi channel on Channel 602 coming April 22, 2009.


Does that mean those two channels are gone for ever?

#342 OFFLINE   puri

puri

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2009

Posted 01 April 2009 - 08:27 PM

what is this new Punjabi channel called?If any one have info,please post.I am debating to move over to DISH

#343 OFFLINE   JKnight

JKnight

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2005

Posted 01 April 2009 - 08:28 PM

NDTV Good Times and NDTV Profit wondering around for a leased office? It takes an office to get the channels running.

Today, DISH Network has uplinked an punjabi channel on Channel 602 coming April 22, 2009.


which punjabi channel is it? Name? what kind of programming?

#344 OFFLINE   gdeep

gdeep

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 01 April 2009 - 09:02 PM

which punjabi channel is it? Name? what kind of programming?


Channel is called PUNJABI TV and here is more info:http://worldmediacon...om/Clients.html

I couldn't find anything related to this channel on the web. Here is list of all punjabi channels in the world and this channel isn't listed there so, this might be new punjabi channel. http://en.wikipedia....vision_channels

PTC Punjabi is better option then any other punjabi channel.

Edited by gdeep, 01 April 2009 - 09:18 PM.


#345 OFFLINE   peano

peano

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 747 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2004

Posted 02 April 2009 - 04:48 AM

Can someone summarize which Punjabi channels are available now on Directv? Do I need a special dish? I currently sub to Dish Network for South Asian channels, but my channels have gone black and they won't send me new cards.

Is there a link to what Directv offers?

TIA.

#346 OFFLINE   gdeep

gdeep

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 02 April 2009 - 07:05 AM

Can someone summarize which Punjabi channels are available now on Directv? Do I need a special dish? I currently sub to Dish Network for South Asian channels, but my channels have gone black and they won't send me new cards.

Is there a link to what Directv offers?

TIA.


PTC Punjabi will be launching soon on Directv. Here is link with more info: http://www.cinemayam...ebhtml/PTC.html

Here is link to Directv south asian channels: http://www.directv.c...ooternavtype=-1

#347 OFFLINE   peano

peano

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 747 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2004

Posted 02 April 2009 - 05:55 PM

Thank you. Which satellite are the South Asian channels on?

#348 OFFLINE   gdeep

gdeep

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 03 April 2009 - 07:35 AM

Thank you. Which satellite are the South Asian channels on?


Galaxy 3C at 95.0°W - http://www.lyngsat.c...rectvusa95.html

#349 OFFLINE   gdeep

gdeep

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 03 April 2009 - 01:06 PM

Did anybody else notice difference in PQ on UTV movies (looks bad now)?

#350 OFFLINE   quizzer

quizzer

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 742 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 03 April 2009 - 03:07 PM

Did anybody else notice difference in PQ on UTV movies (looks bad now)?


Its bad most of the times.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...