Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Pause should remember your spot


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 19 August 2006 - 07:31 AM

Since DirecTV is watching this forum, I think the #1 thing they need to fix is the "remember your spot when paused" function.

Perfect example from last night on a DirecTivo:
Was watching Eureka from earlier in the week. Happened by an ad for a Stargate special that would air before the 200th episode at 9. First I had heard of it and I know it wouldn't be recording. So I hit the back arrow which sends me back to the program entry, back again to the menu. So I setup this special to record. Back to the ToDo list and select Eureka and "resume playing" is the option and it picks up where I left off.

It kinda sounds like from Earl this works sometimes but not others. Definately make this a priority and track it down.

Related, if you pause a program that is currently recording, it should have the same behavior. We'll use the Sunday Ticket example. If I'm recording one game on one tuner and surfing around on the other tuner, if I pause the recorded game it should remember that pause when I switch back. This might help soften the blow somewhat for not having dual live buffers (which should also be a priority to get working, DirecTV, you can download your showcases and whatnot in the middle of the night if that's the reason).

Earl, feel free to merge this somewhere if there is already a thread about it.

So far the HR20 looks pretty solid but these issues might be something to address after getting the OTA tuners activated.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 19 August 2006 - 07:34 AM

Definately make this a priority and track it down.


From what I have been told... they have, and I should have an "update" to the issue very soon.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   cabanaboy1977

cabanaboy1977

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,473 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 19 August 2006 - 02:05 PM

Hopefully they will also give us back the jump to the start of the program. It's annoying to have to RR the show all the way or FF all the way and then say no don't delete, then start the show again. Adding a 3rd option of start over would be good to.
1 R15's and 2 HR20-100




Protected By... spam firewall...And...