Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

New HR20- Am I getting all the channels?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
20 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   geoliquid

geoliquid

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 22 August 2006 - 03:22 PM

Hello, i just got my new HR20 installed this saturday. Before this I did not subscribe to D* HD package. Is anyone able to get your RSN on this? Mainly Primeticket so I can watch the dodgers. Is this something they forgot to activate, or something wrong with the box or is it not available. I could of swore the lady on the phone said I should get them. :confused: Thanks in advance.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 22 August 2006 - 03:30 PM

HD-RSNs are not 24/7

You would only get the RSN designated to your area.
I am not sure what the schedule is for LA's.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   geoliquid

geoliquid

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 22 August 2006 - 03:40 PM

Thanks Earl. My package consists of Total Choice Plus with the added HD subscription. Any one in LA with this package able to see this weekends Dodgers Giants game in HD? It was not in HD on channel 652 put was displaying on channel 95 in HD but was blocked. Just want to make sure it's not my box or not enabled. Thanks again.

#4 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 22 August 2006 - 03:42 PM

If 95 was blacked out, then you where getting it... but due to what ever "blackout rules" that where in effect... you may not have been able to see it on 652..

Was it an away game?

Usually you will be blacked out if it is the "other" teams broadcast.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#5 OFFLINE   dvrblogger

dvrblogger

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 562 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2005

Posted 22 August 2006 - 03:45 PM

ARe you getting your MPEG 4 locals ? The HD RSNs ar epart of the KA band locals package. Channel 95 may be part of MLB extra innings and a different package.

#6 OFFLINE   geoliquid

geoliquid

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 22 August 2006 - 04:08 PM

I am getting cbs, nbc, fox and abc in HD. It was an away game and did run on 652 primeticket in SD ot HD. Sorry for all the silly questions but when the RSN do come in HD, will it be on the same channel? Thanks everyone for your help. Just wanted to make sure my HR20 was set up right. Oh by the way, this thing is awesome! This morning I was watching Sunrise Earth and wow! and to be able to pause, rewind and then say wow again. so cool.

#7 OFFLINE   dthoman

dthoman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 234 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 22 August 2006 - 04:14 PM

New to the forum. What does RSN stand for?

#8 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 22 August 2006 - 04:24 PM

Regional Sports Network

Some RSNs are comming in on the same channel, others are not 24/7 and are only only for specific evetns in the upper 90s
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#9 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 8,662 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 22 August 2006 - 04:34 PM

I am getting cbs, nbc, fox and abc in HD. It was an away game and did run on 652 primeticket in SD ot HD. Sorry for all the silly questions but when the RSN do come in HD, will it be on the same channel? Thanks everyone for your help. Just wanted to make sure my HR20 was set up right. Oh by the way, this thing is awesome! This morning I was watching Sunrise Earth and wow! and to be able to pause, rewind and then say wow again. so cool.


According to DirecTV.com, FSN Prime Ticket HD (Dodgers) is available on #652, and FOX Sports Net West HD (Angels) is available on #653.

~Alan

#10 OFFLINE   skessel

skessel

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Aug 11, 2006

Posted 22 August 2006 - 04:35 PM

Hello, i just got my new HR20 installed this saturday. Before this I did not subscribe to D* HD package. Is anyone able to get your RSN on this? Mainly Primeticket so I can watch the dodgers. Is this something they forgot to activate, or something wrong with the box or is it not available. I could of swore the lady on the phone said I should get them. :confused: Thanks in advance.


AFAIK, you should see in in Channel 96 or 97. But FSW doesn't broadcast every game in HD, check their webpage for the dates...
Sebastian

---
Bedroom: 1 HR20-700, Hanns 32' (Networked)
Living Room: 1 HR20-100, Vizio 37'

#11 OFFLINE   wilbur_the_goose

wilbur_the_goose

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,390 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 22 August 2006 - 05:26 PM

don't you think D* as the sports leader, would make all the games available on HD to sports package subscribers? - especially once the new satellites are up?

#12 OFFLINE   Timco

Timco

    Woof!

  • Gold Members
  • 964 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2002

Posted 22 August 2006 - 05:36 PM

Looks like the next HD broadcast is on 8/28. You should be able to check then.

#13 OFFLINE   geoliquid

geoliquid

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 22 August 2006 - 05:48 PM

Looks like the next HD broadcast is on 8/28. You should be able to check then.


Very cool, Thanks :D

#14 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,949 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 22 August 2006 - 06:57 PM

I am getting cbs, nbc, fox and abc in HD. It was an away game and did run on 652 primeticket in SD ot HD. Sorry for all the silly questions but when the RSN do come in HD, will it be on the same channel? Thanks everyone for your help. Just wanted to make sure my HR20 was set up right. Oh by the way, this thing is awesome! This morning I was watching Sunrise Earth and wow! and to be able to pause, rewind and then say wow again. so cool.


At this point I believe only home games are carried in HD (there may be some exceptions, however).

#15 OFFLINE   upnorth

upnorth

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 375 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2006

Posted 22 August 2006 - 08:12 PM

I am getting cbs, nbc, fox and abc in HD. It was an away game and did run on 652 primeticket in SD ot HD. Sorry for all the silly questions but when the RSN do come in HD, will it be on the same channel? Thanks everyone for your help. Just wanted to make sure my HR20 was set up right. Oh by the way, this thing is awesome! This morning I was watching Sunrise Earth and wow! and to be able to pause, rewind and then say wow again. so cool.


If your RSN is FSN Prime Ticket then you will get select home games in HD on channel 96 not all home games are HD I am sure there will be more home games in the future in HD.
See the link below.;)

http://msn.foxsports.com/name/HD

#16 OFFLINE   upnorth

upnorth

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 375 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2006

Posted 22 August 2006 - 08:18 PM

don't you think D* as the sports leader, would make all the games available on HD to sports package subscribers? - especially once the new satellites are up?


D* does not decide which games are in HD that would be FSN right now they can only produce so many games at a time.

FSN is building a new production facility in Texas so my guess is you will see many more games in HD in 2007.;)

#17 OFFLINE   yensid

yensid

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Aug 12, 2006

Posted 22 August 2006 - 08:33 PM

We have MLB Extra Innings. Try this for confusing....

We watch the Dodger games from out here in Florida. Most of the games are on MLBEI, however if it is blacked out we grab that remote. We search Prime Ticket or whatever FSN the Dodgers are playing against. They are usually on that station. If not, we try ESPN. There has only been two times the games were totally blacked out.

Talk about a guide nightmare! You would think they would make this just a tad easier.

By the way, we sure miss Vinnie when they carry the opposing team's FSN even at home games :(

#18 OFFLINE   skessel

skessel

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Aug 11, 2006

Posted 22 August 2006 - 09:20 PM

I was told just now that those channels are mpeg-4 and the hr-10s can't get them. Anyone with more knowledge than me care to comment?
Sebastian

---
Bedroom: 1 HR20-700, Hanns 32' (Networked)
Living Room: 1 HR20-100, Vizio 37'

#19 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 22 August 2006 - 09:22 PM

I was told just now that those channels are mpeg-4 and the hr-10s can't get them. Anyone with more knowledge than me care to comment?


That is exactly correct.

All the HD-RSN's are in MPEG-4 (with the exception of the occasion YES game)... the HR10-250 can not tune in, nor decode the MPEG-4 signal
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#20 OFFLINE   skessel

skessel

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Aug 11, 2006

Posted 23 August 2006 - 10:11 AM

That is exactly correct.

All the HD-RSN's are in MPEG-4 (with the exception of the occasion YES game)... the HR10-250 can not tune in, nor decode the MPEG-4 signal


snif... :crying_sa I just found a reason to want my HR20... oh well, I could've been worse. :)
Sebastian

---
Bedroom: 1 HR20-700, Hanns 32' (Networked)
Living Room: 1 HR20-100, Vizio 37'




spam firewall