Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20: Hard Drive Upgrade


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
212 replies to this topic

#201 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 28 February 2008 - 02:44 PM

some amount (guessed at 50-100gb) is used by the dvr.. so a 500gb is 2-2.5x and a 750 is 3-3.5x the space..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#202 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,479 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 February 2008 - 10:05 PM

I don't understand the math houskamp.

320 GB minus 100 GB = 220 GB (assuming 100 GB for Housekeeping)
500 GB minus 100 GB = 400 GB
400 GB divided by 220 GB = 1.8 Times more space
650 GB divided by 220 GB = 2.95 Times more space
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#203 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 28 February 2008 - 10:15 PM

I don't understand the math houskamp.

320 GB minus 100 GB = 220 GB (assuming 100 GB for Housekeeping)
500 GB minus 100 GB = 400 GB
400 GB divided by 220 GB = 1.8 Times more space
650 GB divided by 220 GB = 2.95 Times more space

close enough..
it's all estimates...
I get close to 100 hrs mpeg4 (new chanels) on my 500s..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#204 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,479 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 February 2008 - 10:17 PM

I guess what throws alot of people is that they don't take into consideration that the OS needs between 50 & 100 GB to do it's thing!!!
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#205 OFFLINE   davahad

davahad

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 116 posts
Joined: Jun 02, 2007

Posted 03 March 2008 - 01:46 PM

Tried a Hitachi Deskstar 1 Terabyte (PN:0A34193) with a HR21-700 internally and it did not work. After about 10 minutes the drive got really loud and the picture froze. Put the stock drive back in and all was fine.

Tested the Hitachi drive with their Drive Fitness Test in both quick and advanced and drive tested fine.
Two (2) HR24-500's*
5 LNB Dish*
HR10-250**
3 LNB Dish**
Pioneer Elite 1120HD 50" Plasma (1080i)
Denon 4308 CI
HR24's connected via HDMI through Denon Receiver
RG6 Quad Shield Cable 30' Run (No SWiM)
Network - Cat 6 Cable/Gigabit Linksys EG008W Switch & Linksys WRT600N Router

#206 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 03 March 2008 - 02:19 PM

Tried a Hitachi Deskstar 1 Terabyte (PN:0A34193) with a HR21-700 internally and it did not work. After about 10 minutes the drive got really loud and the picture froze. Put the stock drive back in and all was fine.

Tested the Hitachi drive with their Drive Fitness Test in both quick and advanced and drive tested fine.

Did you try it with and without the speed jumper in place?

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#207 OFFLINE   davahad

davahad

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 116 posts
Joined: Jun 02, 2007

Posted 03 March 2008 - 03:04 PM

Did you try it with and without the speed jumper in place?



The Hitachi doesn't have a speed jumper. It is set in software using their utility and I just checked and it was set to 3.0Gbs. Guess I can try 1.5Gbs and see if that works.

What are the drives normally set to, 1.5 or 3.0?
Two (2) HR24-500's*
5 LNB Dish*
HR10-250**
3 LNB Dish**
Pioneer Elite 1120HD 50" Plasma (1080i)
Denon 4308 CI
HR24's connected via HDMI through Denon Receiver
RG6 Quad Shield Cable 30' Run (No SWiM)
Network - Cat 6 Cable/Gigabit Linksys EG008W Switch & Linksys WRT600N Router

#208 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 03 March 2008 - 03:18 PM

The Hitachi doesn't have a speed jumper. It is set in software using their utility and I just checked and it was set to 3.0Gbs. Guess I can try 1.5Gbs and see if that works.

What are the drives normally set to, 1.5 or 3.0?

Good question :lol:
Don't know.. but there have been reports of some DVRs not liking 3.0..
but all mine are set for 3.0 and work fine.. :confused:

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#209 OFFLINE   skylinebeach

skylinebeach

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 72 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2008

Posted 03 March 2008 - 08:23 PM

Noticed this thread and am wondering if the HR21 has problems like the HR20 when upgrading internal sata drives?

There is no need for special setups is there? Just replace the internal drive no matter the size up to 1TB and it will work I thought. Is this wrong?

Does the HR20 and HR21 units automatically take advantage of the larger hard drive space or do you need to do something to enhance that?

#210 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 03 March 2008 - 08:37 PM

Noticed this thread and am wondering if the HR21 has problems like the HR20 when upgrading internal sata drives?

There is no need for special setups is there? Just replace the internal drive no matter the size up to 1TB and it will work I thought. Is this wrong?

Does the HR20 and HR21 units automatically take advantage of the larger hard drive space or do you need to do something to enhance that?

no special setups..
just throw out the warrentee (and violate the lease), replace drive, and turn on.. it will automaticaly setup itself with the new space.. then you have to reset all series links and favorites..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#211 OFFLINE   skylinebeach

skylinebeach

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 72 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2008

Posted 03 March 2008 - 08:54 PM

How will they ever know about the upgrade?

Dont ask, Dont Tell.

#212 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 03 March 2008 - 09:00 PM

How will they ever know about the upgrade?

Dont ask, Dont Tell.

If you ever have to have an exchange they may or may not find out.. there are warenty stickers on the recivers and if they were to look at the drive and see that the last recording was in 06 they might know..
but it's all a guess, just depends on the risk level you feel...

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#213 OFFLINE   skylinebeach

skylinebeach

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 72 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2008

Posted 03 March 2008 - 09:33 PM

look, my cat and your cat should get together...

but as far as D* hooking up and starting your unit to check for recording dates...

well, we know that wont happen.

the stickers are on less then half of the units acording to a thread somehwere with a poll on it and as someone also said it makes sense that they are not keeping track of which units have stickers and which dont.

this is my take on it anyways.

is your cas as fat as mine is (21lbs) or is that just a bad hair day for him/her?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...