Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Adding a receiver to the 5LNB dish


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mikenov

mikenov

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2006

Posted 11 September 2006 - 03:30 PM

I currently have the 5LNB dish, one HD Mpeg2 box upstairs and one HD H20 box downstairs. I am trying to add a third standard definition box but they did not install a multi switch when they put in the new dish for the h20. Is there anyway to add the multi switch to the correct lines so I can add a third cable run ? I talked with Directv support and after haggling with them for a while they started explaining how I can hook up another reciever directly to the 5LNB dish. It only took a couple of minutes to realize this was not a do it yourself job. They said no go to a splitter (Missing channels? ) . What are my options ? Any help is greatly appreciated.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 11,710 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 11 September 2006 - 05:28 PM

You don't need a multiswitch to add a third receiver because your dish has four outputs from its integrated multiswitch. You just need another cable from the dish to your new receiver.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#3 OFFLINE   mikenov

mikenov

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2006

Posted 12 September 2006 - 04:22 PM

You don't need a multiswitch to add a third receiver because your dish has four outputs from its integrated multiswitch. You just need another cable from the dish to your new receiver.


Thanks for responding. I appreciate the help. When I called directv they did everything they could to try to disuade me from attempting to run that line to the dish on my own. They said I would have to unplug transponders and move them and all kinds of other stuff. I guess what I need to know is , is the integrated switch something that is accesible without tampering with the existing set up ? If so then this is a no brainer and I will be up on the ladder tonight.

#4 OFFLINE   wolfman730

wolfman730

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: Sep 10, 2006

Posted 12 September 2006 - 05:12 PM

Thanks for responding. I appreciate the help. When I called directv they did everything they could to try to disuade me from attempting to run that line to the dish on my own. They said I would have to unplug transponders and move them and all kinds of other stuff. I guess what I need to know is , is the integrated switch something that is accesible without tampering with the existing set up ? If so then this is a no brainer and I will be up on the ladder tonight.


You will have to unbolt the large LNB and pull it out to hook up another cable, they should have installed a multiswitch when they installed the dish for future upgrades.

#5 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 11,710 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 12 September 2006 - 05:24 PM

The risk with removing the LNB arm is that you'll mess up the dish alignment. Proceed with caution.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#6 OFFLINE   mikenov

mikenov

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2006

Posted 13 September 2006 - 07:24 AM

The risk with removing the LNB arm is that you'll mess up the dish alignment. Proceed with caution.


That was what I needed to know. I probably will just run a coax line from downstairs on Sundays until Directv comes out and installs my HR20 the first week of October. I just got a projector and screen set up upstairs and the rush is to get The Bears and the rest of the games in Big screen format on sundays. Its a little ghetto but I can deal temporarily and let the professionals take care of it. If I screw it up its going to be a long wait until October when they can get someone out there. I guess they don't have enough installers that can work on the new dishes b/c they said its going to take a month to get the HR20 installed.
Thanks again to all who replied.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...