Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How do you get DVR 625 to stay on all day?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   calgary2800

calgary2800

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 300 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2006

Posted 14 September 2006 - 06:20 PM

Why does the 625 seem to have a screensaver mode? In the morning when I turn on my dish there is this dish tv logo saying " press select to continue". What is this a computer?:lol:

Sometimes I want to use my VCR to record lets say 6 hours of a channel. How can this be done if after a few hours the DVR and dish goes to screensaver mode.

You guys know what I am talking about right?
Choice XTra
NHL Center Ice

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Mike D-CO5

Mike D-CO5

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,099 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2003

Posted 14 September 2006 - 06:54 PM

Two ways you can accomplish this.

1. Go to preferences menu # 8 and then #9 inactivity standby and hit disable button . Then the receiver will stay on till you turn it off .



2. You can set an automatic timer to turn to what ever channels you wish and to what ever time you wish, and the receiver will turn itself on. Then set the vcr to record the show and you get the 6 hours of vcr recording.


But my question is why don't you just record it to the dvr itself? No one uses vcrs anymore for recording . THat is so 1980s.

#3 OFFLINE   calgary2800

calgary2800

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 300 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2006

Posted 14 September 2006 - 07:20 PM

How do I even get to the preference mode? Thanks.
Choice XTra
NHL Center Ice

#4 OFFLINE   compubit

compubit

    AllStar/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 143 posts
Joined: Jun 08, 2004

Posted 14 September 2006 - 10:20 PM

I found that when the receivers go into "download program guide" mode in the middle of the night, they end up going to the screen saver.

If I want to record something early morning (or daytime) or my DVD recorder (as well as the DVR), I set both the record time on the DVR and an "external event" timer just before the DVR timer kicks off. It seems (on my 522) that with the latest software upgrade, the screensaver stays on, even during a recording, unless I hit the select button - but an external event timer will "bring the video output to life". (I record a fair amount of news onto DVD...)

Preference mode is one of the options on the main menu (hitting the menu button the first time - I think it's 8 - I'd check, but I'm dubbing something from DVR to DVD right now...)

Jim

#5 OFFLINE   DishSubLA

DishSubLA

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 238 posts
Joined: Apr 09, 2006

Posted 15 September 2006 - 10:59 AM

Do as Mike D-CO5 suggests, and, in addition, disable the Nightly Udates feature. Using some timers as suggested also helps.

#6 OFFLINE   Mark Lamutt

Mark Lamutt

    Your Neighborhood Liasion

  • Registered
  • 12,527 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 15 September 2006 - 01:36 PM

press the Menu remote button, then the 8 button, then the 9 button to get to the preferences option (I think anyway)
Mark Lamutt
markdl@dbstalk.com
Your DBSTalk.Com Community Liaison to Dish Network

#7 OFFLINE   Sleepylazy2006

Sleepylazy2006

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2006

Posted 24 September 2006 - 06:59 PM

Mine is set for 8 hours.

Let say there's a movie on at 2:30am, and it doesn't end until 4:45am, well we all know that the DVR updates itself at 3:00am, but don't worry, the movie will still be recorded. Just because the screensaver comes on during the movie, you won't miss it.

#8 OFFLINE   tnsprin

tnsprin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,129 posts
Joined: Mar 15, 2003

Posted 25 September 2006 - 10:34 AM

Why does the 625 seem to have a screensaver mode? In the morning when I turn on my dish there is this dish tv logo saying " press select to continue". What is this a computer?:lol:

Sometimes I want to use my VCR to record lets say 6 hours of a channel. How can this be done if after a few hours the DVR and dish goes to screensaver mode.

You guys know what I am talking about right?


Basicly you don't have to do anything. Just because its "off" doesn't mean it won't record.
Ex Dish subscriber
Fios TV subscriber on 3/8/10




Protected By... spam firewall...And...