Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Confused about Timers and HD??


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
27 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   nitz369

nitz369

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2005

Posted 19 September 2006 - 07:21 PM

Okay I am confused about what types of programs I can record at one time. I am running in Single Mode. I have an OTA hooked up too.

Tonight I saw that I had two shows recording at the same time. Both were HD Locals from the Sat. I could not switch the an SD or HD channel without turning off one of the timers, BUT I could watch something from the OTA.


I thought you could:

Record 1 HD Program
Record 1 SD Program
Record 1 OTA Program
All at the same time

BUT

It seems that I can Record 2 HD Programs and still watch/record OTA all at the same time.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   ChuckA

ChuckA

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,010 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2006

Posted 19 September 2006 - 07:55 PM

All tuners can record HD content. You are correct that you can record or watch three things at once. Except that you can record three things at once and watch one or two pre-recorded programs in addition.
Receivers: ViP622 (dual mode), ViP722k (single mode), 311
Dish 1000
America's "Everything" Pack & HD
TV1: SONY 55" KDF-55WF655; HDMI & Components connections
OTA Antenna in attic
PocketDish AV700E

#3 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,909 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 19 September 2006 - 09:10 PM

Reiterating the above and stating slightly differently...

You can record simultaneously with a ViP622:

2 SD or HD programs from satellite
1 SD or HD program from digital OTA

All could be HD, all could be SD, or any combination available.

You could also watch a pre-recorded program while recording those 3 different channels above. It has nothing to do with SD vs HD... has to do with 2 satellite tuners and 1 OTA tuner for 3 total tuners.

#4 OFFLINE   lujan

lujan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,202 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2004

Posted 20 September 2006 - 07:15 AM

..
Tonight I saw that I had two shows recording at the same time. Both were HD Locals from the Sat. I could not switch the an SD or HD channel without turning off one of the timers, BUT I could watch something from the OTA.
...



The reason you couldn't switch to another station was because both satellite tuners were in use (recording). You could have typed in an OTA station and it should have worked (maybe you did).
171 Blu-ray
83 DVD
63 HD DVD

#5 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • Registered
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 20 September 2006 - 11:53 AM

The tuner 2 input is fully capable of HD.
The TV2 output always downconverts to NTSC, but that is independent of the input source or format.
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#6 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,502 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 20 September 2006 - 12:56 PM

The ViP622 has 5 independent functions - 3 record and 2 playback. All 3 record options are HD capable. TV1 output is HD; TV2 output is SD.

#7 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,279 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 27 April 2007 - 04:37 PM

Bringing this back from the dead. I am getting the 622 installed Sunday and was wondering if I could record 2 OTA programs at the same time regardless of what the sat is doing.

Keep in mind I'm coming from an HR20 where I can only record two things at once but they can be 2 OTA, 2 SAT or one of each.

If the 622 will only record 1 OTA program regardless, that seems a little disappointing.
65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

 


#8 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,909 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 27 April 2007 - 04:45 PM

Bringing this back from the dead. I am getting the 622 installed Sunday and was wondering if I could record 2 OTA programs at the same time regardless of what the sat is doing.

Keep in mind I'm coming from an HR20 where I can only record two things at once but they can be 2 OTA, 2 SAT or one of each.

If the 622 will only record 1 OTA program regardless, that seems a little disappointing.


No. The 622 has 2 satellite tuners and 1 OTA tuner. It is possible to record up to 3 programs at the same time, but only one of them can be OTA.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#9 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,279 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 27 April 2007 - 04:48 PM

No. The 622 has 2 satellite tuners and 1 OTA tuner. It is possible to record up to 3 programs at the same time, but only one of them can be OTA.



Huh. Not that big of a deal, just wondering why they went that route. Wouldn't be an issue at all if everyone had hd locals, but that is a good ways off.
65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

 


#10 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,375 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 27 April 2007 - 05:10 PM

Reiterating the above and stating slightly differently...

...

You could also watch a pre-recorded program while recording those 3 different channels above. ...

Where "pre-recorded" includes any of the programs currently being recorded.

#11 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,279 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 27 April 2007 - 05:29 PM

Where "pre-recorded" includes any of the programs currently being recorded.


So you can record/watch one OTA while recording another OTA?
65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

 


#12 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • Registered
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 27 April 2007 - 05:51 PM

No. There is still only one OTA tuner. You can watch any event from the beginning while it is still recording, but the tuner is still tied up capturing that event and is not available for another.
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#13 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,279 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 27 April 2007 - 05:52 PM

No. There is still only one OTA tuner. You can watch any event from the beginning while it is still recording, but the tuner is still tied up capturing that event and is not available for another.


Ok, thats what I thought but the statement made me wonder.
65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

 


#14 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,909 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 27 April 2007 - 11:15 PM

Where "pre-recorded" includes any of the programs currently being recorded.


Sure... but that is limiting... You can record up to 3 simultaneous programs, using each available tuner... then you can watch an already completed recording while those 3 are being recorded.

Watching a recording that is in-progress shouldn't be a surprise feature (I would hope not anyway) since the capability to watch what you are recording is pretty much an inherent feature... The ability to watch a completely different pre-recorded program is a feature worth mentioning.

I guess where I'm going here is... it should be obvious that you can watch any channel that you are recording while the recording is in progress... but additionally you could choose to watch a completely different pre-recorded program.

(FYI, in dual mode you can watch 2 different pre-recorded programs while those 3 new ones are being recorded... so actually 5 things can be happening at the same time.)

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#15 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,909 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 27 April 2007 - 11:18 PM

Huh. Not that big of a deal, just wondering why they went that route. Wouldn't be an issue at all if everyone had hd locals, but that is a good ways off.


Possibly cost... or possibly not that high of a demand... or perhaps the processing power of the unit wouldn't support 4 simultaneous tuners going at once, which could happen if they put 2 OTA tuners in with the 2 satellite tuners.

Since they ultimately plan to have more locals in HD via satellite... I suspect it made more sense to have 2 satellite tuners and just 1 OTA to keep the overall cost of the unit down... hoping that eventually it would not matter once they got most market's locals in HD uplinked.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#16 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,375 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 28 April 2007 - 07:20 AM

...

(FYI, in dual mode you can watch 2 different pre-recorded programs while those 3 new ones are being recorded... so actually 5 things can be happening at the same time.)

This also should be obvious... :rolleyes:
How 'bout this one? In Dual Mode , while recording three differerent programs the two users can be watching one of those three at different points of time. :)

#17 OFFLINE   rocky01

rocky01

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2005

Posted 16 May 2007 - 01:33 PM

Can you record a HD program in SD on TV1?

Once a program's timer is given a record preference of HD can it be recorded in SD instead or does that require deleting the timer for that single event and reinstalling a HD preference timer afterwards?

This is a wish list item and perhaps likely not even a plausible thing but can a program be downconverted to NTSC by TV2 after it's recorded by TV1 in HD?

I really want more flexibility and best of resolution vs disc space options before and after setting up timers, until they give us more DVR space and offloading options that don't cost as much as say, pocket dish. :(

#18 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,502 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 17 May 2007 - 02:54 PM

Can you record a HD program in SD on TV1?


No, if the source is HD it is recorded in HD, no option to down rezz before recording.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#19 OFFLINE   tnsprin

tnsprin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,129 posts
Joined: Mar 15, 2003

Posted 18 May 2007 - 07:02 AM

No, if the source is HD it is recorded in HD, no option to down rezz before recording.


And this is indepedent of which of the tuners is used. If the source is HD it is recorded in HD.
Ex Dish subscriber
Fios TV subscriber on 3/8/10

#20 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,502 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 18 May 2007 - 10:21 AM

You are correct, sir!

On the issue of recording more than one OTA channel, this is a receiver produced by a satellite company, the OTA tuner is a perk, most DishNetwork DVR's cannot record ANY OTA material.

If it had two OTA tuners we would want three.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...