Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

internal smart card? Help


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   marscandybars

marscandybars

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 03 October 2006 - 04:48 PM

Hello, I was wondering (and i know that the 942 has an internal smartcard) but can I use my standard dishnetwork card with this receiver? I see that it has a slot for a card, but will my standard card work if I place it inside?

Also, how does the internal smartcard update itself? via phoneline?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   kmcnamara

kmcnamara

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 860 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2004

Posted 03 October 2006 - 05:18 PM

Hello, I was wondering (and i know that the 942 has an internal smartcard) but can I use my standard dishnetwork card with this receiver? I see that it has a slot for a card, but will my standard card work if I place it inside?

No, a smartcard is married to a specific receiver.

Also, how does the internal smartcard update itself? via phoneline?

I believe some of it updates via satellite and some of it updates via phoneline. Although the receiver will function correctly with no phoneline connected so I'm guessing the critical update is via satellite.

Hopper w/ Sling, Hopper 2000, 1 Joey


#3 OFFLINE   lakebum431

lakebum431

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 615 posts
Joined: Jun 30, 2005

Posted 03 October 2006 - 08:13 PM

Updates are received via satellite signal.

There is no reason to use another smart card. It is built in and you would never need to do this. Why do you ask?

#4 OFFLINE   Mark Lamutt

Mark Lamutt

    Your Neighborhood Liasion

  • Registered
  • 12,527 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 04 October 2006 - 05:00 PM

No, not possible. Closing thread.
Mark Lamutt
markdl@dbstalk.com
Your DBSTalk.Com Community Liaison to Dish Network




spam firewall