Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

eSATA - Has been enabled, but....


  • Please log in to reply
2830 replies to this topic

#201 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,255 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 06 October 2006 - 12:07 PM

who's freakin dvr is it, anyway? between the 30-second commercial preview, and the "Space You Can't Use" feature, it really seems like D*'s decided to show us paying customers who's the boss.

Going forward, it will be D*'s receiver that they lease to you.

D* is trying to ape TiVo and other perceived "industry leaders" to try to become an industry leader themselves. The rest of us know that the only way to become an "industry leader" is to deliver what people want.

TiVo doesn't lead any industry, but the perception is there because they offer a product that is relatively well though out, easy to use and relatively reliable. These are the lessons that D* needs to learn.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#202 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,702 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 October 2006 - 12:37 PM

Hmm...did not know that....

Well at least with two striped 750gb, that gives you pretty good sized hard drive.


That's right, or if we will wait a little when 1 TB disk will come ...

#203 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 06 October 2006 - 12:48 PM

That's right, or if we will wait a little when 1 TB disk will come ...


Did Seagate just announce a 1 TB sata drive?
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#204 OFFLINE   noobie937

noobie937

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2006

Posted 06 October 2006 - 12:57 PM

There is some technical obstacles of SATA standard what cannot be avoid without adding SW support of multiple hosts by HR20 including new SATA controller in it.
So, Earl - sorry, no way to do that.


Do we know this for sure? I haven't dug too far, but I don't remember seeing anything on the chipsets and firmware and/or software that the HR20 is using. Or if it is able to use port multipliers or not. Probably not an easy question to answer unless Earl can get into the dev side of things there.

Will be an expensive "test" for one of us to do unless someone here runs or works for a resaler that would have access to a >2 drive eSATA chasis and the drives to test it.

#205 OFFLINE   jbellanca

jbellanca

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 72 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 06 October 2006 - 01:25 PM

Anyway, I don't do "server support", I did large-scale site architecture. Probably a few names you'd recognize. BBN Planet, Electronic Arts, Sony, Register.com, UC Berkeley. A couple of national-footprint ISPs in Japan.

For the last year or so I've been writing software instead, its much less grunt work.

Where have you been working?


I feel like we should all thump our chests, wave big sticks around and throw rocks. Our toys may change over time, but the human race still sticks to it's roots. :)

#206 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,702 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 October 2006 - 01:36 PM

enough posting Off-TOPIC

if you have HR20, could you tell us what SATA chip is there ?

#207 OFFLINE   william8004

william8004

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 166 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2006

Posted 06 October 2006 - 03:45 PM

From what I've read in this thread, this drive should work.

Compusa SKU# 341441
(it won't let me link until I've made 5 posts)

Am I correct?


Also,
Does a drive bay report back to the computer or DVR that only only large drive exists eventhough 4 physically reside in the box? I think this is a correct statement. So if one drive goes bad then I'm SOL if I was running RAID 0.

Thanks guys

#208 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 06 October 2006 - 03:51 PM

Also,
Does a drive bay report back to the computer or DVR that only only large drive exists eventhough 4 physically reside in the box? I think this is a correct statement. So if one drive goes bad then I'm SOL if I was running RAID 0.

Thanks guys


In a RAID0... one disk goes bad... then yes, for all practical purposes... you are SOL..

and yes:
http://www.compusa.c...uct_code=341441

should work just fine
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#209 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,702 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 October 2006 - 04:39 PM

"even though 4 physically reside in the box" - no way for regular eSATA box;
only 1 or 2 disk allowed.

#210 OFFLINE   dtvmiami

dtvmiami

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2006

Posted 07 October 2006 - 03:32 AM

http://www.newegg.co...&ATT=12-174-001


That is the same one I found in a search, but it is backwards for this application.

That adapter is to take an eSATA device and connect it to a USB Port.
We need an adapter that takes a USB Device and connects it to a eSATA port.

Or is it just too late and I am backwards?


It looked that way to me as well, but wouldn't a male to male esata cable and a usb coupler make this compatible?


I don't know if it would.. guess it depends on what is going on inside that adapter.


Here is a link to their website for more info.


http://www.addonics..../io/aau2esa.asp

I just emailed them and asked them if this would be a viable option. I will post when I find out something.


Any reply or follow up on this yet? B4 I read these posts I google and found same item and though similar to making it work. Perhaps we'll see one of the like on ebay sometime soon.

#211 OFFLINE   hadji

hadji

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 152 posts
Joined: Sep 29, 2006

Posted 07 October 2006 - 03:56 AM

Any reply or follow up on this yet? B4 I read these posts I google and found same item and though similar to making it work. Perhaps we'll see one of the like on ebay sometime soon.


no word yet.

#212 OFFLINE   william8004

william8004

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 166 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2006

Posted 07 October 2006 - 09:17 AM

In a RAID0... one disk goes bad... then yes, for all practical purposes... you are SOL..


Thanks Earl. I'll probably wait for the 750 or 1T to come out.

#213 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,702 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 October 2006 - 10:12 AM

Fry's selling 750 GB for $309

#214 OFFLINE   cw18306

cw18306

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2006

Posted 07 October 2006 - 10:36 AM

Did Seagate just announce a 1 TB sata drive?


Western Digital has one.

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822136061

#215 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,255 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 07 October 2006 - 10:45 AM

Western Digital has one.

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822136061

Understand that a USB/Firewire RAID is probably not going to work well as an SATA (or eSATA) hard drive. I'm not ready to buy into the idea that a USB -> eSATA or Firewire -> eSATA interface converter is going to work.

#216 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,702 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 October 2006 - 11:08 AM

And the MyBook device content two 500 GB disks. Not one.

#217 OFFLINE   bbroach

bbroach

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2006

Posted 07 October 2006 - 11:47 AM

This is the one I'm looking at...it has built in hardware RAID 0 and RAID 1

Posted Image

http://www.nitroav.com/product/442/


Has anyone hooked one of these up to an HR20 yet? I'm about to pull the trigger on one & can't see any reason why it wouldn't be compatible. I spent some time yesterday with NitroAv online support; they had no info on the HR20, but were able to tell me that the drives they are shipping are Seagate.


regards, billb....
| HR10 | 2XHR20 | 42HDT55 | 1TB eSATA RAID 1 | Other Stuff |

#218 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 07 October 2006 - 12:51 PM

Has anyone hooked one of these up to an HR20 yet? I'm about to pull the trigger on one & can't see any reason why it wouldn't be compatible. I spent some time yesterday with NitroAv online support; they had no info on the HR20, but were able to tell me that the drives they are shipping are Seagate.


regards, billb....


You could be our forum eSATA RAID guinea pig if you're really itching to pull the trigger :D

#219 OFFLINE   jedster

jedster

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 194 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 07 October 2006 - 03:21 PM

Fry's selling 750 GB for $309


esata? what brand? must go get one. NOW!!!

Love that fry's.

6 months from now they'll be selling 1TB esata for $99
- 10 years and counting with D*
- 3 HR20s (2 modified to be silent)
- 2 H20s connected via S-Video to my HTPC (Vista Media Center)
- Anxiously awaiting D*'s tuner for Windows Vista (hope they don't screw it up like CableLabs did!) :)

#220 OFFLINE   bbroach

bbroach

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2006

Posted 07 October 2006 - 05:41 PM

You could be our forum eSATA RAID guinea pig if you're really itching to pull the trigger :D


Deal; I'll post results when it arrives - ETA is Thursday, Oct 12.

Products ordered
SKU Product Item price Quantity Total

81.V8-100706-22615 2-Bay Vanguard IIIS SATA & USBv2 Combo Ultra-Fast Hardware RAID
Selected Options/Bundles:
2-Bay Vanguard IIIs Hard Drive Configurations
1000GB (2x 500GB -7200RPM w/16Mb Cache) SATA RAID Subsystem
Vanguard IIIS Warranty Options
Vangaurd IIIS Extended Warranty ** (2 Years Total) Not available on enclosure kit sales.
2-Bay Vanguard IIIs Format & RAID Setup
Linux NFS-EXT2 (RedHat) Raid Level '0'
$898.95 1 $898.95
Subtotal: $898.95
Shipping cost: $27.26
Insurance: $6.12

Total: $932.33



regards, billb....
| HR10 | 2XHR20 | 42HDT55 | 1TB eSATA RAID 1 | Other Stuff |




spam firewall