Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

eSATA - Has been enabled, but....


  • Please log in to reply
2830 replies to this topic

#2826 OFFLINE   fropones

fropones

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2010

Posted 01 February 2010 - 03:06 PM

I'm sure this was already answered, but if I use an external hard drive and then I unplug it and reboot the receiver will it go back to the internal drive with all the old recordings?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2827 OFFLINE   gdavisloop

gdavisloop

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2007

Posted 01 February 2010 - 03:16 PM

Yes, you can use several external hard drives, as well as the internal drive.
I recommend you unplug the power of the receiver before changing drives, although some people just switch off the power on the external drive and then reboot through the menu (to get back to the internal drive).

Keep in mind that each drive has its own "to do" list for recording, ie, you must separately set up the list of shows you want recorded on each disk.

Also, it takes considerable time to reboot - more than 10 mins - so swapping disks is not all that fun.

--Gary

#2828 OFFLINE   RussBarr

RussBarr

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2010

Posted 04 December 2012 - 08:43 PM

I received firmware 62c at 3:38am December 4. My HR20/700 receiver never rebooted. Front panel was dark buttons did nothing. Reset started the Boot but it never made it to Self Test it just kept rebooting over and over. I have a LIANLI EX-20 RAID box connected with one 2TB drive. It was working fine in 5d2 version. I disconnected the RAID box and the receiver restarted OK. Reconnecting RAID that uses Silicon Image SIL5744 RAID controller resulted in the failed boot. Removing the 2TB drive and connecting it directly to the external ESADA connector resulted in a successful reboot but the drive needed to be reformatted since it was no longer under the SteelvVine storage Processor control resulting in the loss of all recorded movies. It looks to me like the LINUX version that was used to build firmware version 62c is not compatible with SIL5744 Storage Processor.

#2829 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,416 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 04 December 2012 - 08:46 PM

Just out of curiosity, if you forced a download via 02468, would it re-download 062c, or would it download the most recent national release? If the latter, maybe this would help you to regain your recordings (unless, of course, they were wiped out).

FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#2830 OFFLINE   RussBarr

RussBarr

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2010

Posted 04 December 2012 - 08:53 PM

According to DirecTV there is no way to revert to an older Firmware or for that mater to opt out of a new release. Since I reformatted my hard drive the File allocation tables are wiped clean and the data is lost even though the actual data is there until it is recorded over. Trying to rebuild the allocation tables would require working with the drive offline with tools to modify the holly places on the drive. Not something you would want to try unless your life depended on it.

#2831 OFFLINE   RussBarr

RussBarr

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2010

Posted 04 December 2012 - 09:02 PM

If I had knew of the problem I could have connected the RAID box to a LINUX system and done a image copy to a bare drive and then used the bare drive in the 62c firmware box. Even though the files are encrypted to a specific receiver the image copy would just copy all the data without knowing what it was and the new stand alone drive would have all the files the original RAID box had. Maybe the next person with this issue (if any) would know how to recover there files.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...