Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

eSATA - Has been enabled, but....


  • Please log in to reply
2830 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 11:45 AM

So this shouldnt be a major thing for Directv to activate this on Our HR20-700's

It is a major thing, it's a ton of new code.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   Howie

Howie

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 294 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 11:47 AM

You can't just plug in the external drive and do a red button reset?

#53 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,957 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 04 October 2006 - 11:49 AM

Interesting. Anyone actually tried it yet? :) (curious why this was chosen to be implimented before the OTA activation)

Probably as a "throwing the dog a bone" gesture in the absence adding real functionality.

#54 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,957 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 04 October 2006 - 11:52 AM

Probably cause this was easier to code. All they probably needed to do was enable it to detect an external drive and tell it to use the external SATA controller instead of the internal one.

But is it really fair to release it with the caveat that it is largely untested and a warning that they aren't going to support it?

#55 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 04 October 2006 - 11:59 AM

But is it really fair to release it with the caveat that it is largely untested and a warning that they aren't going to support it?


Why not?

It is a feature that you have to actually go out buy an eSATA solution, then plug it in.... If you don't want to take the risk of using it, you don't have to go out and use it...
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#56 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 04 October 2006 - 12:02 PM

So, it's unplug the power cord to the unit and attach an eSata external HDD. Plug back in the power cord and turn on the unit to format the external HDD?

What if we want to use the internal HDD again. It's unplug the power cord of the unit, detach the external HD and plug back in the power cord and then what? Will the internal drive be reformatted, or since it was already formatted and used, it'll be simply "read" and all is good?

Again, same thing with reattaching the external HDD. I would hate for the HR20 to constantly reformat the HDD when switching between the two if that's at all possible.


You got it. And as Earl has posted and is in the first post, it will detect if it's already formatted and leave it alone. It will only format if it's not already.

And as posted, the port was simply activated. There are not "ready for prime time" features here. It's just enabled if you want to play with it for now. This will also help DirecTV get detailed info on the various drives and enclosures and see what works and what doesn't. Think of it as a true beta test which is the way I view it.

#57 OFFLINE   cuibap

cuibap

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 197 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 12:02 PM

This shouldn't be a problem. My Cablevision SA 8300HDDVR can do this, all you need to do is unplug the power, plug in the eSATA, reboot and 5 minutes later you will have 2 drives connected together (internal and external) and you can record on both.
The Box decides which drive to record on, usually the one with more space available.
So this shouldnt be a major thing for Directv to activate this on Our HR20-700's


I don't think it's good to let the box decide which drive to record on. I think it should fill up the internal drive first and then the external one. It also should have the option so we can move recording from one drive to the other and then unplug it and move the external to another HR20 box and watch it.

#58 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 04 October 2006 - 12:04 PM

Why not?

It is a feature that you have to actually go out buy an eSATA solution, then plug it in.... If you don't want to take the risk of using it, you don't have to go out and use it...


Sigh....I knew it wouldn't take long for someone to complain about it. Unreal and sad :nono2:

They simply activated it, let the techies play with it for a few months, then work on some solid features for it later on after OTA and so forth are rolled out.

#59 OFFLINE   matto

matto

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 686 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 12:06 PM

I don't think it's good to let the box decide which drive to record on. I think it should fill up the internal drive first and then the external one. It also should have the option so we can move recording from one drive to the other and then unplug it and move the external to another HR20 box and watch it.


And now you all see why fully implementing this functionality isn't trivial.

#60 OFFLINE   jdmac29

jdmac29

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 401 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 12:35 PM

I have older computer, no sata stuff on it, but I have a relatively new 200 GB WD internal ide hard drive used for video recording only. Looking at www.cooldrives.com some of the enclosures will take an ide drive and use an sata connection. Does anyone think this will work with the hr20-700?

#61 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 12:41 PM

I have older computer, no sata stuff on it, but I have a relatively new 200 GB WD internal ide hard drive used for video recording only. Looking at www.cooldrives.com some of the enclosures will take an ide drive and use an sata connection. Does anyone think this will work with the hr20-700?


There are IDE to SATA adaptors available for single drives. Not a 100% guarantee that the enclosures you're talking about will work, but I'm pretty sure it would.

#62 OFFLINE   racrex

racrex

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 2 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 01:27 PM

If I have a spare 500gb eSATA drive how much storage space will I get in the terms of HD hours? Sorry I am a newbie. Thanks

#63 OFFLINE   cabanaboy1977

cabanaboy1977

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,473 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 04 October 2006 - 01:29 PM

What if we want to use the internal HDD again. It's unplug the power cord of the unit, detach the external HD and plug back in the power cord and then what? Will the internal drive be reformatted, or since it was already formatted and used, it'll be simply "read" and all is good?

Again, same thing with reattaching the external HDD. I would hate for the HR20 to constantly reformat the HDD when switching between the two if that's at all possible.


I was thinking the same thing. I hope that it doesn't reformat and remembers the settings.
1 R15's and 2 HR20-100

#64 OFFLINE   rkester

rkester

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 84 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 01:35 PM

500 would = about 50hours mpeg2, 80 mpg4, 350 maybe SD i think. just guessing based on the internal drive.

#65 OFFLINE   DVRaholic

DVRaholic

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 305 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:03 PM

It is a major thing, it's a ton of new code.

What I meant is if the Crappy SA 8300 box can have it activated then it should be no problem for Directv to do it also
My personal DVR Collection... (Addiction) :D
-----------------------------
1-HR23-700 (2TB E-sata)
2-HR20-700's (1TB & 750GB E-SATA )
2-HR20-100 's
ALL HR2xx Networked
3- R22 DVR's

5-Harmony 676's (Best DVR Remote)
1-5lnb Slimline
1-Zinwell 6x16 Powered Ka-Ku Multswitch's
2-Zinwell Cascaded 6x8 Multiswitch's
1-Channel Master 4221 OTA
------------------------------------

Directv Since Cablevision Yankees/YES Fiasco
2002

#66 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:10 PM

What I meant is if the Crappy SA 8300 box can have it activated then it should be no problem for Directv to do it also

Right, and I'm sure DirecTV will have it eventually.

#67 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,920 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:13 PM

Are these the same kind of drive or is there something unique about eSATA?

I've seen SATA drives mentioned for a long time, in fact, one of my newer machines has one, but I've not seen eSATA before. Is this something special or just different nomenclature for the same device?
...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock
HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD
DirecTV since 1995

#68 OFFLINE   matto

matto

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 686 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:14 PM

Are these the same kind of drive or is there something unique about eSATA?


the 'e' is for 'external'.

#69 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,920 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:16 PM

the 'e' is for 'external'.


Duh! thanks...just curious at this point, waiting for OTA!
...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock
HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD
DirecTV since 1995

#70 OFFLINE   pgfitzgerald

pgfitzgerald

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 270 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:17 PM

DirecTV will NOT increase their designed usage space for recordings. (these numbers are estimates)If if you add a 500gb drive; 400gb will be for user space, 100gb for DirecTV. If you had 21TB; 20,900gb for user space, 100gb for DirecTV


Your example shows DirecTV gets 100GB of a 500GB drive (or a 21TB drive). Are you saying that DirecTV has reserved 100GB of the 300GB internal drive for their own use?

Paul
Family Room: DIRECTV HR24-500 [HDMI] SAMSUNG 56" HDTV (HL-S5687W) [eSATA] Antec MX-1 + WD20EVDS
Master Bedroom: DIRECTV H21-200 [HDMI] VIZIO 37" HDTV (VO370M)
Office: DIRECTV D12-300 [S-Video] Toshiba 14" SDTV (14AF43)
Equipment & Wiring: DIRECTV Slimline-3S (SWM), Belden RG6/U Coax (7915A)

#71 OFFLINE   talbain

talbain

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:18 PM

three pages and not a single person has tried this yet? if i actually had a sata drive i'd be all over this...

#72 OFFLINE   directvfreak

directvfreak

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 335 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:27 PM

Your example shows DirecTV gets 100GB of a 500GB drive (or a 21TB drive). Are you saying that DirecTV has reserved 100GB of the 300GB internal drive for their own use?

Paul


Directv gets 50gb of the 300. You get 250 for recording.
Matt

#73 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:29 PM

I've been seen two different numbers, so I took the higher of the two.
50gb and 100gb
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#74 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:34 PM

I have older computer, no sata stuff on it, but I have a relatively new 200 GB WD internal ide hard drive used for video recording only. Looking at www.cooldrives.com some of the enclosures will take an ide drive and use an sata connection. Does anyone think this will work with the hr20-700?



I don't know about the enclosure... but I should have included this in the original post.

The hard drive HAS to be larger then 300gb.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#75 OFFLINE   pgfitzgerald

pgfitzgerald

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 270 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:41 PM

500 would = about 50hours mpeg2, 80 mpg4, 350 maybe SD i think. just guessing based on the internal drive.


I came up with nearly the same results.

Directv gets 50gb of the 300. You get 250 for recording.


According to DirecTV, the HR20 is capable of recording up to 200 hours of SD, up to 30 hours of MPEG2 HD, and up to 50 hours of MPEG4 HD. Based on that, here's what I've come up with.

Internal 300GB drive
  • SD: 200 Hours
  • HD (MPEG2): 30 Hours
  • HD (MPEG4): 50 Hours

External 500GB drive
  • SD: 333 Hours
  • HD (MPEG2): 50 Hours
  • HD (MPEG4): 83 Hours

External 750GB drive
  • SD: 500 Hours
  • HD (MPEG2): 75 Hours
  • HD (MPEG4): 125 Hours

External 1TB drive
  • SD: 667 Hours
  • HD (MPEG2): 100 Hours
  • HD (MPEG4): 167 Hours


This is, of course, assuming DirecTV based their estimates on the capacity of the entire hard drive instead of just what is available to us.

I'd really like an eSATA drive. :D

Paul
Family Room: DIRECTV HR24-500 [HDMI] SAMSUNG 56" HDTV (HL-S5687W) [eSATA] Antec MX-1 + WD20EVDS
Master Bedroom: DIRECTV H21-200 [HDMI] VIZIO 37" HDTV (VO370M)
Office: DIRECTV D12-300 [S-Video] Toshiba 14" SDTV (14AF43)
Equipment & Wiring: DIRECTV Slimline-3S (SWM), Belden RG6/U Coax (7915A)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...