Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

eSATA - Has been enabled, but....


  • Please log in to reply
2830 replies to this topic

#61 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 12:41 PM

I have older computer, no sata stuff on it, but I have a relatively new 200 GB WD internal ide hard drive used for video recording only. Looking at www.cooldrives.com some of the enclosures will take an ide drive and use an sata connection. Does anyone think this will work with the hr20-700?


There are IDE to SATA adaptors available for single drives. Not a 100% guarantee that the enclosures you're talking about will work, but I'm pretty sure it would.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#62 OFFLINE   racrex

racrex

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 2 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 01:27 PM

If I have a spare 500gb eSATA drive how much storage space will I get in the terms of HD hours? Sorry I am a newbie. Thanks

#63 OFFLINE   cabanaboy1977

cabanaboy1977

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,473 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 04 October 2006 - 01:29 PM

What if we want to use the internal HDD again. It's unplug the power cord of the unit, detach the external HD and plug back in the power cord and then what? Will the internal drive be reformatted, or since it was already formatted and used, it'll be simply "read" and all is good?

Again, same thing with reattaching the external HDD. I would hate for the HR20 to constantly reformat the HDD when switching between the two if that's at all possible.


I was thinking the same thing. I hope that it doesn't reformat and remembers the settings.
1 R15's and 2 HR20-100

#64 OFFLINE   rkester

rkester

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 84 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 01:35 PM

500 would = about 50hours mpeg2, 80 mpg4, 350 maybe SD i think. just guessing based on the internal drive.

#65 OFFLINE   DVRaholic

DVRaholic

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 305 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:03 PM

It is a major thing, it's a ton of new code.

What I meant is if the Crappy SA 8300 box can have it activated then it should be no problem for Directv to do it also
My personal DVR Collection... (Addiction) :D
-----------------------------
1-HR23-700 (2TB E-sata)
2-HR20-700's (1TB & 750GB E-SATA )
2-HR20-100 's
ALL HR2xx Networked
3- R22 DVR's

5-Harmony 676's (Best DVR Remote)
1-5lnb Slimline
1-Zinwell 6x16 Powered Ka-Ku Multswitch's
2-Zinwell Cascaded 6x8 Multiswitch's
1-Channel Master 4221 OTA
------------------------------------

Directv Since Cablevision Yankees/YES Fiasco
2002

#66 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:10 PM

What I meant is if the Crappy SA 8300 box can have it activated then it should be no problem for Directv to do it also

Right, and I'm sure DirecTV will have it eventually.

#67 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,856 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:13 PM

Are these the same kind of drive or is there something unique about eSATA?

I've seen SATA drives mentioned for a long time, in fact, one of my newer machines has one, but I've not seen eSATA before. Is this something special or just different nomenclature for the same device?

...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock

HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD

DirecTV since 1995


#68 OFFLINE   matto

matto

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 686 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:14 PM

Are these the same kind of drive or is there something unique about eSATA?


the 'e' is for 'external'.

#69 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,856 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:16 PM

the 'e' is for 'external'.


Duh! thanks...just curious at this point, waiting for OTA!

...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock

HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD

DirecTV since 1995


#70 OFFLINE   pgfitzgerald

pgfitzgerald

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 270 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:17 PM

DirecTV will NOT increase their designed usage space for recordings. (these numbers are estimates)If if you add a 500gb drive; 400gb will be for user space, 100gb for DirecTV. If you had 21TB; 20,900gb for user space, 100gb for DirecTV


Your example shows DirecTV gets 100GB of a 500GB drive (or a 21TB drive). Are you saying that DirecTV has reserved 100GB of the 300GB internal drive for their own use?

Paul
Family Room: DIRECTV HR24-500 [HDMI] SAMSUNG 56" HDTV (HL-S5687W) [eSATA] Antec MX-1 + WD20EVDS
Master Bedroom: DIRECTV H21-200 [HDMI] VIZIO 37" HDTV (VO370M)
Office: DIRECTV D12-300 [S-Video] Toshiba 14" SDTV (14AF43)
Equipment & Wiring: DIRECTV Slimline-3S (SWM), Belden RG6/U Coax (7915A)

#71 OFFLINE   talbain

talbain

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 101 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:18 PM

three pages and not a single person has tried this yet? if i actually had a sata drive i'd be all over this...

#72 OFFLINE   directvfreak

directvfreak

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 335 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:27 PM

Your example shows DirecTV gets 100GB of a 500GB drive (or a 21TB drive). Are you saying that DirecTV has reserved 100GB of the 300GB internal drive for their own use?

Paul


Directv gets 50gb of the 300. You get 250 for recording.
Matt

#73 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:29 PM

I've been seen two different numbers, so I took the higher of the two.
50gb and 100gb
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#74 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:34 PM

I have older computer, no sata stuff on it, but I have a relatively new 200 GB WD internal ide hard drive used for video recording only. Looking at www.cooldrives.com some of the enclosures will take an ide drive and use an sata connection. Does anyone think this will work with the hr20-700?



I don't know about the enclosure... but I should have included this in the original post.

The hard drive HAS to be larger then 300gb.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#75 OFFLINE   pgfitzgerald

pgfitzgerald

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 270 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:41 PM

500 would = about 50hours mpeg2, 80 mpg4, 350 maybe SD i think. just guessing based on the internal drive.


I came up with nearly the same results.

Directv gets 50gb of the 300. You get 250 for recording.


According to DirecTV, the HR20 is capable of recording up to 200 hours of SD, up to 30 hours of MPEG2 HD, and up to 50 hours of MPEG4 HD. Based on that, here's what I've come up with.

Internal 300GB drive
  • SD: 200 Hours
  • HD (MPEG2): 30 Hours
  • HD (MPEG4): 50 Hours

External 500GB drive
  • SD: 333 Hours
  • HD (MPEG2): 50 Hours
  • HD (MPEG4): 83 Hours

External 750GB drive
  • SD: 500 Hours
  • HD (MPEG2): 75 Hours
  • HD (MPEG4): 125 Hours

External 1TB drive
  • SD: 667 Hours
  • HD (MPEG2): 100 Hours
  • HD (MPEG4): 167 Hours


This is, of course, assuming DirecTV based their estimates on the capacity of the entire hard drive instead of just what is available to us.

I'd really like an eSATA drive. :D

Paul
Family Room: DIRECTV HR24-500 [HDMI] SAMSUNG 56" HDTV (HL-S5687W) [eSATA] Antec MX-1 + WD20EVDS
Master Bedroom: DIRECTV H21-200 [HDMI] VIZIO 37" HDTV (VO370M)
Office: DIRECTV D12-300 [S-Video] Toshiba 14" SDTV (14AF43)
Equipment & Wiring: DIRECTV Slimline-3S (SWM), Belden RG6/U Coax (7915A)

#76 OFFLINE   dharrismco

dharrismco

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:43 PM

What I meant is if the Crappy SA 8300 box can have it activated then it should be no problem for Directv to do it also


I just have to pipe in and comment that I was on Brighthouse cable prior to switching back to D*, and I had an 8300 and a lot of people are complaining because Brighthouse hasn't fully actived the Sata port on the 8300 either (not at all in Central FL). I hear that there are some people who have an update that does "enable" it, but they can't use trickplay properly.. I will concede that there are 2 providers for the 8300 software.. One does support SATA properly, but I can't remember their name, but Passport doesnt which is what Brighthouse uses.

#77 OFFLINE   matto

matto

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 686 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:43 PM

I'm predicting the WAF of an external disk enclosure hanging off the HR20 to be around 0 :)

#78 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:45 PM

External 21TB drive/array
  • SD: 14,007 Hours
  • HD (MPEG2): 2100 Hours
  • HD (MPEG4): 3507 Hours

So using dual duners 24/7 it would take:
292 days of SD recording to fill it up
44 days of HD-MPEG2
73 days of HD-MPEG4
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#79 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:46 PM

I'm predicting the WAF of an external disk enclosure hanging off the HR20 to be around 0 :)


That is why some enterprising smart company, needs to make an enclosure that is the same width as the HR20 with a height just necessary to hold the drives and keep a good air flow around it.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#80 OFFLINE   matto

matto

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 686 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 04 October 2006 - 02:47 PM

That is why some enterprising smart company, needs to make an enclosure that is the same width as the HR20 with a height just necessary to hold the drives and keep a good air flow around it.


And end up supporting the users on this forum!? No thanks!!! :D




Protected By... spam firewall...And...