Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

eSATA - Has been enabled, but....


  • Please log in to reply
2830 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,689 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 05 October 2006 - 08:50 AM

Has anyone confirmed that the drive is not re-formatted if it has already been formatted?

For example, record something on the internal drive. Remove power and install an external drive. Bring the unit up and record something on the external drive. Remove power and remove the external drive. Bring the unit back up on the internal drive. Recording(s) still there and useable. Remove power and plug the external drive back in. Bring the unit up and verify recording(s) still there and useable.

If so, then it would also seem that you could have multiple external drives (only using one at a time of course) with different sets of recordings. I know that your other settings, SL's, etc., are not preserved, at least at this time.

Carl

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 05 October 2006 - 09:54 AM

Has anyone confirmed that the drive is not re-formatted if it has already been formatted?

The unit appears to treat external drives exactly the same as the internal drive. And the internal drive is not formatted every time you boot up. So...

#128 OFFLINE   Ed Campbell

Ed Campbell

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,319 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2006

Posted 05 October 2006 - 09:58 AM

Just a ditto for eSATA for archiving, storage. That's how I have my Mac set-up -- store all iTunes and iPhoto files in the external firewire drive [backups, as well, of course]. Since I have another external storing backups from another Mac, I setup Backup to backup music, video, photos to whichever external they're not in. Redundancy rules.

OTA can't get here soon enough!

Looking forward to hooking up wireless access point to ethernet port > streaming IPTV files, e.g. Cranky Geeks, MacBreak, command-N and dl.tv and watching them in the LR instead of my study. WAF doesn't allow for more holes in the walls and cables strung under the soffit from the study to the LR.

#129 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 05 October 2006 - 11:17 AM

I'm just looking for potential bugs by saying this, but....

If you perform the full HR20 reset/HD format, will it format the internal drive or will it know that the external drive is connected and format that instead?

#130 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 05 October 2006 - 11:30 AM

I'm just looking for potential bugs by saying this, but....

If you perform the full HR20 reset/HD format, will it format the internal drive or will it know that the external drive is connected and format that instead?


My guess is if the eSATA is connected it would format that drive.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#131 OFFLINE   cabanaboy1977

cabanaboy1977

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,473 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 05 October 2006 - 01:25 PM

eSATA 500GB Drive is up and Running :D

I Unpluged power to HR20, powered up My External enclosure with SATA drive, plugged into back of HR20.

I then plugged in HR20 and let it power up... everything the same, never asked for me to reformat drive (maybe because it is a clean drive)

I cant tell difference, didnt know if external drive was working with the exception that my Favorite list reset (Earl mentioned this would happen)

So to test if the external drive was working with the HR20 I pulled the SATA cord out of the back of the HR20, and 30 seconds later the box froze up and went to black screen. I guess his tells me that the eSATA drive was indeed working.

I guess the only way to tell is to fill the hard drive up... But that wont happen for a while. I dont have time to play with filling it up. I will let that Naturally happen :)

Earl, is there any way to look in the menus to see if it is recording to the External drive and not the Internal ???


So what happen's if you turn it back off and take the external out? Does it go back to the orignal state using the internal drive (ie. are the shows recorded on the internal still there and the SL's) or does it wipe the internal drive.

BTW when you said the favorites where gone, did you mean the Series Links?
1 R15's and 2 HR20-100

#132 OFFLINE   DVRaholic

DVRaholic

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 305 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 05 October 2006 - 01:51 PM

So what happen's if you turn it back off and take the external out? Does it go back to the orignal state using the internal drive (ie. are the shows recorded on the internal still there and the SL's) or does it wipe the internal drive.

BTW when you said the favorites where gone, did you mean the Series Links?

It was a New HR20, so I had no SL set up.
Because of my WF :( I'm not gong to mess around pulling drive/rebooting. Everytime this is done I lose the Guide data and it needs a full 24 hrs to repopulate. Major pain, PLUS it seems to be working fine now. 2 recordings from last nite, and I dont want to mess up the DVR with all the rebooting and plug/unplugging sata drive. My luck something will get broken.

One thing I did notice Once you set up your favorites the hard drive will keep the information, I noticed this when I first pulled the external drive, the original drive kept the original information. I would assume it would do the same for any SL set up on each drive.

I ordered this baby today..
http://cgi.ebay.com/...RK:MEWN:IT&rd=1
FREE Shipping and NO TAX

I should have it by tuesday, and I will be setting it up with 1-500GB quickview drive & 1-250GB Western Digital drive. This should give me 125 Hrs Mpeg-4 recording And Or 75 Hrs Mpeg-2

:)
My personal DVR Collection... (Addiction) :D
-----------------------------
1-HR23-700 (2TB E-sata)
2-HR20-700's (1TB & 750GB E-SATA )
2-HR20-100 's
ALL HR2xx Networked
3- R22 DVR's

5-Harmony 676's (Best DVR Remote)
1-5lnb Slimline
1-Zinwell 6x16 Powered Ka-Ku Multswitch's
2-Zinwell Cascaded 6x8 Multiswitch's
1-Channel Master 4221 OTA
------------------------------------

Directv Since Cablevision Yankees/YES Fiasco
2002

#133 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,289 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 October 2006 - 02:02 PM

1) RAID controller will take minimal disk size for stripe/mirror, ie 500+250 => 500 GB
2) a spec of the gadget limiting max size of each disk to 500 GB, ie 1 TB total.

#134 OFFLINE   cabanaboy1977

cabanaboy1977

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,473 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 05 October 2006 - 02:03 PM

It was a New HR20, so I had no SL set up.
Because of my WF :( I'm not gong to mess around pulling drive/rebooting. Everytime this is done I lose the Guide data and it needs a full 24 hrs to repopulate. Major pain, PLUS it seems to be working fine now. 2 recordings from last nite, and I dont want to mess up the DVR with all the rebooting and plug/unplugging sata drive. My luck something will get broken.

One thing I did notice Once you set up your favorites the hard drive will keep the information, I noticed this when I first pulled the external drive, the original drive kept the original information. I would assume it would do the same for any SL set up on each drive.

I ordered this baby today..
http://cgi.ebay.com/...RK:MEWN:IT&rd=1
FREE Shipping and NO TAX

I should have it by tuesday, and I will be setting it up with 1-500GB quickview drive & 1-250GB Western Digital drive. This should give me 125 Hrs Mpeg-4 recording And Or 75 Hrs Mpeg-2

:)


If you can when you add external will you try it and see what happens. Sounds like you'll have more than enought HD space now :D
1 R15's and 2 HR20-100

#135 OFFLINE   DVRaholic

DVRaholic

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 305 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 05 October 2006 - 02:11 PM

1) RAID controller will get minimal disk size for stripe/mirror, ie 500+250 => 500 GB
2) a spec of the gadget limiting max size of each disk to 500 GB, ie 1 TB total.


So what you are trying to say is 500GB and 250GB wont give me 750 total ??

I need Identical sized drives to make RAID work properly ??

For example If I had two 320GB drives I would get 640GB right ???
My personal DVR Collection... (Addiction) :D
-----------------------------
1-HR23-700 (2TB E-sata)
2-HR20-700's (1TB & 750GB E-SATA )
2-HR20-100 's
ALL HR2xx Networked
3- R22 DVR's

5-Harmony 676's (Best DVR Remote)
1-5lnb Slimline
1-Zinwell 6x16 Powered Ka-Ku Multswitch's
2-Zinwell Cascaded 6x8 Multiswitch's
1-Channel Master 4221 OTA
------------------------------------

Directv Since Cablevision Yankees/YES Fiasco
2002

#136 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,289 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 October 2006 - 02:12 PM

Right, but again : 500+250 will give only 500 GB.
You don't need identical HDD, just similar size, total = smallest size x 2.

#137 OFFLINE   DVRaholic

DVRaholic

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 305 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 05 October 2006 - 02:29 PM

Right, but again : 500+250 will give only 500 GB.
You don't need identical HDD, just similar size, total = smallest size x 2.

Got iT! Thanks...

So if I dont want to waste my 500GB drive I need another 500Gb drive (any brand) to benifit from RAID, then I will have 1TB

Which is 164 Hrs MPEG-4, and 100 Hrs Mpeg-2
WOW
My personal DVR Collection... (Addiction) :D
-----------------------------
1-HR23-700 (2TB E-sata)
2-HR20-700's (1TB & 750GB E-SATA )
2-HR20-100 's
ALL HR2xx Networked
3- R22 DVR's

5-Harmony 676's (Best DVR Remote)
1-5lnb Slimline
1-Zinwell 6x16 Powered Ka-Ku Multswitch's
2-Zinwell Cascaded 6x8 Multiswitch's
1-Channel Master 4221 OTA
------------------------------------

Directv Since Cablevision Yankees/YES Fiasco
2002

#138 OFFLINE   JBernardK

JBernardK

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 174 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 05 October 2006 - 02:30 PM

earl,

Is this the long term solution that DirecTV will use for eSATA, or is it possible they will implement something different later? By different I mean, for example, using both the internal and external together to add more space. Or will they sell a unit with no internal HD? It doesn't make a whole lot of sense to disable the internal drive, but I'm sure they did it this way because it was a quick and easy solution.

#139 OFFLINE   matto

matto

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 686 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 05 October 2006 - 02:33 PM

Got iT! Thanks...

So if I dont want to waste my 500GB drive I need another 500Gb drive (any brand) to benifit from RAID, then I will have 1TB

Which is 164 Hrs MPEG-4, and 100 Hrs Mpeg-2
WOW


Do yourself a favor and use matched pairs of drives.
Other combos will work, but may give you some nasty surprises later.

Also keep in mind that if you stripe across two disks, you are halving your mean time to failure- meaning you're twice likely to experience a disk failure, and a failure of either means you lose all the data on your array.

#140 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 05 October 2006 - 02:40 PM

earl,

Is this the long term solution that DirecTV will use for eSATA, or is it possible they will implement something different later? By different I mean, for example, using both the internal and external together to add more space. Or will they sell a unit with no internal HD? It doesn't make a whole lot of sense to disable the internal drive, but I'm sure they did it this way because it was a quick and easy solution.



They will never sell a unit without a hard drive inside of it.

This is the solution for the immediate future. Long Long term... They do have some other plans, but for the practicle period of time... this is the eSATA feature.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#141 OFFLINE   jedster

jedster

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 194 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 05 October 2006 - 03:36 PM

They will never sell a unit without a hard drive inside of it.

This is the solution for the immediate future. Long Long term... They do have some other plans, but for the practicle period of time... this is the eSATA feature.


Put on your crystal ball hat: do you think they will deliver a PC card capable of tuning D* under Windows Vista or multi-room viewing first?

I say this assuming that eSATA enhancements are likely to come after both. And both of those are germane to the issue of how much storage you have, each for different reasons.

While I'm at it, do you know what filesystem D* uses? I.E., could a PC read a D* eSATA drive?
- 10 years and counting with D*
- 3 HR20s (2 modified to be silent)
- 2 H20s connected via S-Video to my HTPC (Vista Media Center)
- Anxiously awaiting D*'s tuner for Windows Vista (hope they don't screw it up like CableLabs did!) :)

#142 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 05 October 2006 - 03:38 PM

Put on your crystal ball hat: do you think they will deliver a PC card capable of tuning D* under Windows Vista or multi-room viewing first?

I say this assuming that eSATA enhancements are likely to come after both. And both of those are germane to the issue of how much storage you have, each for different reasons.

While I'm at it, do you know what filesystem D* uses? I.E., could a PC read a D* eSATA drive?



With my crystal ball.... PC Card for Windows Vista, if I was a betting guy.
MRV is probably not going to be available until the HMC... but that is in MY crystal ball... not based on information I have been given.

And yes... eSATA enhancements are pretty far down the list.
A PC could "see" the drive, but the data is encrypted so you would get very far with it.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#143 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,768 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 05 October 2006 - 03:43 PM

Right, but again : 500+250 will give only 500 GB.
You don't need identical HDD, just similar size, total = smallest size x 2.

Some of the new RAID controllers now support JBOD (Just a Big Ol' Drive).

#144 OFFLINE   rabi

rabi

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 198 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2006

Posted 05 October 2006 - 03:43 PM

With my crystal ball.... PC Card for Windows Vista, if I was a betting guy.
MRV is probably not going to be available until the HMC... but that is in MY crystal ball... not based on information I have been given.

And yes... eSATA enhancements are pretty far down the list.
A PC could "see" the drive, but the data is encrypted so you would get very far with it.


Does the HMC still EXIST?????

#145 OFFLINE   jedster

jedster

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 194 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 05 October 2006 - 03:43 PM

With my crystal ball.... PC Card for Windows Vista, if I was a betting guy.
MRV is probably not going to be available until the HMC... but that is in MY crystal ball... not based on information I have been given.

And yes... eSATA enhancements are pretty far down the list.
A PC could "see" the drive, but the data is encrypted so you would get very far with it.


I hope you are right. I met an HTPC enthusiast from Microsoft earlier this year who said he was sure the D* card would come before CableCard. He followed up with me on e-mail with the same info, but it appears that he may not be right. However, hopefully D* will be less restrictive than CableCard insofaras allowing you to add the D* card after-market. Have you heard anything about this?

p.s.: My bet on the over-under for a D* vista card would be next May. What do you think?
- 10 years and counting with D*
- 3 HR20s (2 modified to be silent)
- 2 H20s connected via S-Video to my HTPC (Vista Media Center)
- Anxiously awaiting D*'s tuner for Windows Vista (hope they don't screw it up like CableLabs did!) :)

#146 OFFLINE   matto

matto

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 686 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 05 October 2006 - 04:28 PM

Some of the new RAID controllers now support JBOD (Just a Big Ol' Drive).


JBOD = Just a Box Of Disks; a mode where each disk device is presented as its own target.. that's a bit different than raid 0 concat, where drive space is simply concatenated together.

#147 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,289 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 October 2006 - 04:32 PM

Do yourself a favor and use matched pairs of drives.
Other combos will work, but may give you some nasty surprises later.

Also keep in mind that if you stripe across two disks, you are halving your mean time to failure- meaning you're twice likely to experience a disk failure, and a failure of either means you lose all the data on your array.

Yeah, a pair of new identical drives would be top choice;
but regading your statistical math ... nay, you don't know this ;) ; look 0.95 of each drive will give 0.95x0.95=0.9025 total reliability, the rule is use multiply, not dividing by.

#148 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,289 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 October 2006 - 04:35 PM

JBOD = Just a Box Of Disks; a mode where each disk device is presented as its own target.. that's a bit different than raid 0 concat, where drive space is simply concatenated together.

not "simply", but as a sequence of "stripes" accross all disks included into RAID-0
Man, where is your certificate ? :)

Also, JBOD is "Just a Bunch Of Disks"

#149 OFFLINE   matto

matto

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 686 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 05 October 2006 - 04:38 PM

not "simply", but as a sequence of "stripes" accross all disks included into RAID-0


No, I said raid 0 concat, not raid 0 stripe.

Man, where is your certificate ? :)

No certificate, just a decade and change in the industry..


Also, JBOD is "Just a Bunch Of Disks"

I beg to differ, but either works fine.

#150 OFFLINE   YankeeFan

YankeeFan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 127 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2006

Posted 05 October 2006 - 04:45 PM

I beg to differ, but either works fine.



Actually RAID-0 will give you better performance. If I understand it correctly, JBOD will write to one disk until it is full and then start on the second disk, whereas RAID-0 will write to both disks at the same time using both channels.


HR20-700 --> HDMI --> Mitsubishi HD1000U DLP PJ (1 TB eSATA RAID)
HR20-700 HDMI --> DVI --> Toshiba 57HX93 RPTV
Philips DirecTivo --> S-Video --> Toshiba 57HX93 RPTV
Philips DirecTivo --> S-Video --> Samsung 20" LCD

AT-9 Dish
Zinwell WB68 6x8 Multi-Switch




Protected By... spam firewall...And...