Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

My Install is Tomorrow and suggestions?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
23 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   fijimark

fijimark

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 08 October 2006 - 08:41 PM

Well my install was pushed back a week and is schedules for tomorrow. Does anyone have any suggestions for me to make sure the installer does/dosn't do during my install? I am scheduled to receive (2) units, a new 5 lnb dish, and a 6x8 switch. I am a little nervous to give up my HD Tivo's.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Slyster

Slyster

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 731 posts
Joined: May 17, 2005

Posted 08 October 2006 - 08:53 PM

Be patient and give it a full WEEK before you post your rants! :)

#3 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 09 October 2006 - 06:04 AM

FYI you don't have to give up your HD Tivo's at all. Keep them (or at least one of them) installed. That way you have a backup if you have issues. On my main TV I have an HR20 and still have my old SD DirecTivo going as well as my old HD box for OTA. It's only $5 a month extra for each (plus I need the spillover for conflicts anyway).

Once OTA is activated and stable I'll deactivate the stand alone HD box.
Once I'm 100% confident that the HR20 can record everything with no issues (haven't had one yet) and I get a second one then the Tivo will be deactivated.

Anything this new I certainly wouldn't just have HR20's only for critcal recordings.

#4 OFFLINE   jaywdetroit

jaywdetroit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,308 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2006

Posted 09 October 2006 - 06:31 AM

Be VERY happy you are getting a monday install and not a friday install. I had mine installed on Friday- which was a BAD idea. The guy did not want to be here and he didn't try to hide that fact.

#5 OFFLINE   FireDog

FireDog

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2006

Posted 09 October 2006 - 07:35 AM

FYI, guy who installed our 5 lnb dish in July was fired for charging customers for some of the work he did ( should have been included) and pocketed the cash.
The guy who installed the HR20 last month replaced my dish at no charge because the crook installed it incorectly. Like any outfit, some techs are great, some are lousy.

#6 ONLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,450 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 09 October 2006 - 07:40 AM

I would absolutely keep the Tivo's in service for awhile for three reasons. First, as someone else noted, as backup to the HR20. Second, make sure the installer runs new coax for the new equipment (which he won't if you replace instead of add to). Third, make sure the installer doesn't pick them up and take them away (which happened to at least one person posting on these forums).

Carl

#7 OFFLINE   mtnagel

mtnagel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,015 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 09 October 2006 - 10:35 AM

Be VERY happy you are getting a monday install and not a friday install. I had mine installed on Friday- which was a BAD idea. The guy did not want to be here and he didn't try to hide that fact.

Rut-rut! Mine's set for Friday afternoon. I didn't even think of that :(

Hopefully mine isn't too difficult though. Just a dish swap-out, install the multi-switch, run two more cables, and set up the HR20. That can't be that difficult can it?

#8 OFFLINE   glennb

glennb

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 1,614 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2006

Posted 09 October 2006 - 11:29 AM

The dish swap out will include a new mount since the old mount won't work for the AT9 dish. It could take a while.

#9 OFFLINE   mtnagel

mtnagel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,015 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 09 October 2006 - 11:44 AM

The dish swap out will include a new mount since the old mount won't work for the AT9 dish. It could take a while.

:(

So is the new dish bigger?

#10 OFFLINE   iceman2a

iceman2a

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 541 posts
  • LocationHudson, FL (originaly from BOSTON, MA.)
Joined: Dec 30, 2005

Posted 09 October 2006 - 12:00 PM

:(

So is the new dish bigger?


;) Just a little!;)
_______________
Slimline5 ODU
swm16
HR34/700/AM21
HR21-200
HR20/700
2 H21-200

#11 OFFLINE   mtnagel

mtnagel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,015 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 09 October 2006 - 12:03 PM

;) Just a little!;)

Thanks.

I just bought a KDF-46E2000. Is that what you have?

#12 OFFLINE   iceman2a

iceman2a

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 541 posts
  • LocationHudson, FL (originaly from BOSTON, MA.)
Joined: Dec 30, 2005

Posted 09 October 2006 - 12:13 PM

Thanks.

I just bought a KDF-46E2000. Is that what you have?


No, that's the LCD projection, isn't it? I have an older CRT rear proj!
_______________
Slimline5 ODU
swm16
HR34/700/AM21
HR21-200
HR20/700
2 H21-200

#13 OFFLINE   mtnagel

mtnagel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,015 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 09 October 2006 - 12:25 PM

No, that's the LCD projection, isn't it? I have an older CRT rear proj!

Yep. LCD RP.

#14 OFFLINE   jaywdetroit

jaywdetroit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,308 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2006

Posted 09 October 2006 - 01:43 PM

Rut-rut! Mine's set for Friday afternoon. I didn't even think of that :(

Hopefully mine isn't too difficult though. Just a dish swap-out, install the multi-switch, run two more cables, and set up the HR20. That can't be that difficult can it?


You would be suprised that was "all" he had to do for me and he was here 5 hours. He will almost certainly have to mount the new dish elsewhere on your roof. Then he will likely run 4 new cables.

Whatever you do, don't let them charge you anymore than you agreed too. Just offer to call D* if they try that on you.

#15 OFFLINE   glennb

glennb

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 1,614 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2006

Posted 09 October 2006 - 02:09 PM

:(

So is the new dish bigger?


The new dish assembly weights about 30 lbs.
It's not just a little bigger. You'll see. :)

#16 OFFLINE   mtnagel

mtnagel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,015 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 05:20 AM

You would be suprised that was "all" he had to do for me and he was here 5 hours. He will almost certainly have to mount the new dish elsewhere on your roof. Then he will likely run 4 new cables.

Whatever you do, don't let them charge you anymore than you agreed too. Just offer to call D* if they try that on you.

Why would they have to use a new location?

And the installer should never charge you anything, right? I thought it was all free :confused:

#17 OFFLINE   mtnagel

mtnagel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,015 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 05:21 AM

The new dish assembly weights about 30 lbs.
It's not just a little bigger. You'll see. :)

Wifey might not be too happy about that. The current one is right on the front of the house. Pretty ugly as it is.

#18 OFFLINE   gb33

gb33

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 212 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 05:51 AM

If the installer is Bluegrass, it will suck. That is for sure.

#19 OFFLINE   german72

german72

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 05:57 AM

If the installer is Bluegrass, it will suck. That is for sure.


I had two installs by Bluegrass here in Ky. and the installs where as perfect as you can get.

I used to sell and install the big dishes and receivers so I know a good install when I see one.

There are bad installers and good ones every where.

Mike:)
Retired close-up magician living in Harrison, Ohio.

Sony 60 a2020 & Bose 35 lifestyle system
Using hdmi.
:)

#20 OFFLINE   Andrew_J_M

Andrew_J_M

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 181 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2005

Posted 10 October 2006 - 06:48 AM

My install took approximately 2 hours. All he needed to do was take down the old dish, mount the new one a few inches further up the roof and run new cables to the grounding blocks. I already had a WB68 multiswitch as replacement for a failed older one. The installer did a really neat job, starting at 5:30pm on a Saturday, we were in a 1:00 through 5:00 slot so he was late and still had 1 more to do that evening.

#21 ONLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,450 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 10 October 2006 - 09:12 AM

And the installer should never charge you anything, right? I thought it was all free :confused:


The free "standard install" does not include such things as providing a pole in the ground (if needed), fishing cable through walls, working in atticks in most cases, etc. It also limits the amount of coax per receiver that is provided at no cost.

If your installation goes outside these criteria, there may be charges for the additional work. In that case, the installer should explain specifically what work is being charged extra for, and you should get (insist upon) a receipt with the company info on it for the extra work. You can also call DirecTV while the installer is there to clarify what is or is not included if there is disagreement between you and the installer.

Carl

#22 OFFLINE   paulman182

paulman182

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,838 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 04:21 PM

"The free "standard install" does not include such things as providing a pole in the ground (if needed), fishing cable through walls, working in atticks in most cases, etc. It also limits the amount of coax per receiver that is provided at no cost."

Evidently this varies from area to area. My installers supplied the pole, concreted it in, hung the AT9, buried about 150 feet of 4-run RG6 (on 2 dish installs,) and supplied about 100 more feet of 4-run RG6. That's about 1000 feet of cable for four receivers, and it and the pole install were free.

Equipment includes a buncha stuff that I no longer have interest in detailing


#23 OFFLINE   mtnagel

mtnagel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,015 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 05:05 PM

Seems like a good enough place to post this.

Friday's my install of the HR20. This is a picture of my dish install. I have an R10 in our living room and an HDVR2 in our daughter's bedroom. I want to keep the R10 as a back up in our living room (and obviously keep the HDVR2 in the kid's room). So this is what I believe I need (correct me if I'm wrong):

- the new AT9 dish installed and aimed
- a multiswitch installed (what model number is it?)
- 2 more lines run to the living room for the HR20 from the multiswitch
- set up HR20

Is there anything I'm missing or info I should know? Based on the picture, do you think he'll need to mount it somewhere else?

Thanks for any info you can provide.

#24 OFFLINE   paulman182

paulman182

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,838 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 05:18 PM

If you need more than four outputs, the switch is the Zinwell WB68, which has 8 outputs.

As to whether he'll mount the dish there or not, it depends upon things that we can't see from the photo--like any trees in the line of sight, and what's under that roof. The installer will have to make that call. But yes, it sounds like you have a good handle on things.

Equipment includes a buncha stuff that I no longer have interest in detailing





Protected By... spam firewall...And...