Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20 15 minute tick problem?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,200 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 09 October 2006 - 02:30 PM

Has anyone seen this problem? I expanded a recording from 1 hour to 2 because often this late at night the schedule is off what it should be due to a sporting event, and the first hour has the 15 minute ticks, but the last hour does not.

See picture for example.

Attached Thumbnails

  • tickprob.jpg

--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,371 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 09 October 2006 - 02:35 PM

Looks like a bug. Probably caused by padding the program an extra hour.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#3 OFFLINE   Rugged

Rugged

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 231 posts
  • LocationNashville
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 09 October 2006 - 02:40 PM

speaking of the ticks....is there an easy way to "skip to tick" marks like there was with DTivo's?

#4 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,200 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 09 October 2006 - 02:46 PM

Hold FF down for three seconds, it skips to the next tick.
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM


#5 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 09 October 2006 - 02:53 PM

Many of my 30 minute recordings have been completely absent of tick marks since the last update.

#6 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,371 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 09 October 2006 - 03:49 PM

Many of my 30 minute recordings have been completely absent of tick marks since the last update.


Seems like the recording must be longer than 30-minutes, or you don't get any ticks. Not sure if that's a bug, or by design.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#7 OFFLINE   Rugged

Rugged

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 231 posts
  • LocationNashville
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 07:39 AM

Hold FF down for three seconds, it skips to the next tick.


thanks, got it to work.

What about when watching Live TV. I can't even figure out how to jump to start/end. I imagine you can't skip to tick in live tv since I couldn't do that with DTivo either.

#8 OFFLINE   jaywdetroit

jaywdetroit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,308 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 07:57 AM

thanks, got it to work.

What about when watching Live TV. I can't even figure out how to jump to start/end. I imagine you can't skip to tick in live tv since I couldn't do that with DTivo either.


I'd also like to know if there is a way to quickly jump to the end of a program.

I'd also like to say I hope D* does something about how this 15 minute tick works right now. Why not program the arrow keys to allow jumping quickly through a program? And perhaps they could program it so that if you hold down the right arrow for 3 seconds you jump to the end.

Curious - Are the programmers reading these threads?

#9 OFFLINE   thatkgbagent

thatkgbagent

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 10:27 AM

I'd also like to know if there is a way to quickly jump to the end of a program.


Just posted a note on jumping to start/end here. Press & hold 6-sec skip-back or 30-sec slip-forward, at least for recorded programs. I think it works in live shows that have been paused, too, but haven't tried in a few days...

#10 OFFLINE   rrbhokies

rrbhokies

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 203 posts
Joined: May 10, 2004

Posted 10 October 2006 - 10:37 AM

I noticed that 30 minute programs are missing tick marks as well. I would think it would be a bug.
HR34 Genie, Two HR24-500's, HR21-100 :
Samsung 55" LED 6150, Samsung 46" LED 6050, Sony 52" Bravia LCD , Sony 40" Bravia LCD, Sony HCD-X1 2.1 Home Theatre, Samsung Blu-Ray DVD Player, Apple TV 3rd generation, Xbox 360, Wii , XM Radio

#11 OFFLINE   jlancaster

jlancaster

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 752 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 10:37 AM

Press & hold 6-sec skip-back or 30-sec slip-forward, at least for recorded programs. I think it works in live shows that have been paused, too, but haven't tried in a few days..

This does not work for me on any recording...just have to wait until 3x gets me to the end. Anyone else?

#12 OFFLINE   jaywdetroit

jaywdetroit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,308 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 11:35 AM

Press & hold 6-sec skip-back or 30-sec slip-forward, at least for recorded programs. I think it works in live shows that have been paused, too, but haven't tried in a few days..

This does not work for me on any recording...just have to wait until 3x gets me to the end. Anyone else?


This works for me! Thank you for the information!

Though, I really don't like the way they programmed this. They should have used the navigation arrow buttons.




spam firewall