Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

BirdDog is compatible with Ka Band DirecTV


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   cybrsurfer

cybrsurfer

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 614 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 11:08 AM

Below is a pic of a Bird Dog satellite meter which if look on the display shows the Ka / Ku band on it... Click on it for higher resolution.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Bird Dog1.jpg

2 HR20-700S (0xef) [Owned/Factory: MFG 8/29/2006&10/08/2006]
1 HR10-250 (6.3a-01-2-357) [Owned/Factory MFG 5/2006]
AT-9
I'm impartial to Dish/Echostar,DirecTV,Verizon FiOS or Cable. I have no bias as to giving information to members of the many forums on DBSTalk.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   employee3

employee3

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 12:56 PM

It just knows how to switch. You are still looking at the 119. It's KU. Unless they come out with settings for the 99 or 103, then it's not "seeing" KA.
C'mon people, it's just TV.

#3 OFFLINE   wmschultz

wmschultz

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,131 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 01:05 PM

Yep, it is still 119 and 101. Installers need to upgrade their tools.

#4 OFFLINE   Lowry666

Lowry666

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Sep 24, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 01:26 PM

Check out the AccutracIII. It does the 101 l and r, 119 l and r/with 110. It is the perfect meter to set up the AT9. If you follow the instructions it sets it up just right.

Lowry

#5 OFFLINE   employee3

employee3

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 02:20 PM

True the Accutrac III is awesome for the AT9. But, that said, it's pretty much only for the AT9. I align DN dishes and a fair amount of FTA, which IMO the Birdog does a very good job on.

I typically get 95-100 on most transponders using the Birdog on AT9's. The instructions and my personal experience are that you only need to see the 101 and 119 and then follow the dither instructions.
C'mon people, it's just TV.

#6 OFFLINE   Lowry666

Lowry666

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Sep 24, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 02:24 PM

I was going to buy the Birdog, it is a great meter, but the $400 price tag is hard to justify to someone like me who doesn't do installs on a regular basis. But, since I am an Installaholic, I will probably buy one anyway.


Lowry

#7 OFFLINE   wmschultz

wmschultz

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,131 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 02:28 PM

Try this one....

http://www.appliedin...rbuddyspec.html

#8 OFFLINE   Lowry666

Lowry666

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Sep 24, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 02:40 PM

Wow! My birthday is Thursday. If anyone would like to buy me one I can give you my address.


Lowry

#9 OFFLINE   employee3

employee3

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 03:00 PM

You can get a used one off eBay for closer to $300.

I was going to buy the Birdog, it is a great meter, but the $400 price tag is hard to justify to someone like me who doesn't do installs on a regular basis. But, since I am an Installaholic, I will probably buy one anyway.


Lowry


C'mon people, it's just TV.

#10 OFFLINE   employee3

employee3

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 03:01 PM

:eek2: :gott:

Try this one....

http://www.appliedin...rbuddyspec.html


C'mon people, it's just TV.

#11 OFFLINE   Carbon

Carbon

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 336 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 10 October 2006 - 03:38 PM

Below is a pic of a Bird Dog satellite meter which if look on the display shows the Ka / Ku band on it... Click on it for higher resolution.


Hey that is what the installer used on Sat to setup my AT9.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...