Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Leave on 24/7 ??


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   JasonVW

JasonVW

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2006

Posted 28 October 2006 - 01:52 PM

So my old Tivo DVR had no "off" button so it ran 24/7. With this unit, obviously, I can turn it on and off.

What do people do? Leave it on all the time to extend its life? Or turn it on and off when you do the TV?

Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Jomanscool2

Jomanscool2

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 57 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2006

Posted 28 October 2006 - 02:06 PM

wouldn't leaving it on all the time NOT extend its life?

currently, I have been leaving it all 24/7, but thats because I am too lazy to program my macro button on my MX600 to turn it off.

But since it still records your programs when off (I do believe), I will set up my new harmony 890 in a few days to turn it off and on etc.

#3 OFFLINE   JasonVW

JasonVW

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2006

Posted 28 October 2006 - 02:12 PM

I just assumed a constantly spinning HD lasts longer than one that starts/stops a few times a day.

If it DOES record when off (I can only assume - some HELP here??) then the HD must be spinning 24/7. Or maybe it only spools up when it records, even when off.

I am so confused!!

#4 OFFLINE   matto

matto

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 686 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 28 October 2006 - 02:27 PM

There is no "off" unless the dvr is unplugged. What you think is "off" is a standby mode. The unit is still running and will record scheduled programs, but blanks the video and audio outputs, and the front panel indicators. Thats all standby mode does.

There is speculation that the unit will go ahead and do housekeeping like firmware downloads in standby mode without waiting for a 4-hour interval from the last user interaction.

#5 OFFLINE   F1Fan

F1Fan

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 29 October 2006 - 10:03 AM

I turn my HR20 off (standby) whenever I don't watch anything. I can confirm that it still record shows and download updates. Hard Drive was spinning too.

#6 OFFLINE   mikeny

mikeny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,914 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2006

Posted 29 October 2006 - 10:44 AM

I turn my HR20 off (standby) whenever I don't watch anything. I can confirm that it still record shows and download updates. Hard Drive was spinning too.


I use the RC32RF Backlit remote's "DirecTV/TV Power On" and "Off" buttons to put the DVR in standby and shut off my TV simultaneously. I can also confirm that the unit receives updates, continues to record and buffers live TV while in standby.

It appears standby just shuts off the a/v outputs and of course the blue lights.

#7 OFFLINE   AnonomissX

AnonomissX

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 432 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 29 October 2006 - 10:45 AM

I use the RC32RF Backlit remote's "DirecTV/TV Power On" and "Off" buttons to put the DVR in standby and shut off my TV simultaneously. I can also confirm that the unit receives updates, continues to record and buffers live TV while in standby.

It appears standby just shuts off the a/v outputs and of course the blue lights.



People complained the lights were keeping them up, so the power off button is just output/lights out.
~Melodie~ Aka AnonomissX

If you have a question, I may or may not have an answer.

"Fat people are harder to Kidnap" :lol:

#8 OFFLINE   cybrsurfer

cybrsurfer

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 614 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2006

Posted 29 October 2006 - 11:33 AM

Shutting off your HR20 has no effect on scheduled recordings. You can shut it off while a recording is in progress without any problem. You also can turn it back on while a recording is in progress without any problem.
2 HR20-700S (0xef) [Owned/Factory: MFG 8/29/2006&10/08/2006]
1 HR10-250 (6.3a-01-2-357) [Owned/Factory MFG 5/2006]
AT-9
I'm impartial to Dish/Echostar,DirecTV,Verizon FiOS or Cable. I have no bias as to giving information to members of the many forums on DBSTalk.




spam firewall