Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Should I try switching out my HDMI & Optical cables?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
18 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Italfra1

Italfra1

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2005

Posted 31 October 2006 - 11:46 AM

My biggest problem with my HR20 is the frequent lock ups. They mainly occur while I'm watching a recorded or live Mpeg 2 program. The DVR will lock up and the audio and video will continue playing. The DVR will accept no commands from the remote or by manually hitting buttons on the front of the DVR. Only way out is red button reset.

This is also my second DVR and personally think it's a software problem that hopefully will be resolved in the near future with a software upgrade. I'm running an HDMI cable from my DVR to my t.v. and and optical cable from my DVR to my audio reciever. Does anyone think it's worth a try to switch to component cables to see if it resolves the lockups? Has anyone had luck with switching to component. Appreciate the comments. Thx.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 31 October 2006 - 11:47 AM

Yes, there have been plenty of people that have had much more success with component/optical then HDMI.

Please do list your model/make of your TV in the main disucssion thread for the software release.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   Mixer

Mixer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 31 October 2006 - 11:51 AM

I was wondering if the biggest problems that have been reported can be contributed to the HDMI interface. I have (knock on wood) had a really awesome experince with my HR20 so far. Yes I have only had it for going on 5 days now but I have never had a lockup just some slight pixelation (almost like like weather issues on a clear day) nothing I can't live with. My only gripe is that RWD and FWD are very unstable and hopefully this will be addressed in a future firmware release.

Certainly try Component and see whaT happens. Also try to take off the B connectors(?) and see if that helps at all.

#4 OFFLINE   Italfra1

Italfra1

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2005

Posted 31 October 2006 - 11:58 AM

Yes, there have been plenty of people that have had much more success with component/optical then HDMI.

Please do list your model/make of your TV in the main disucssion thread for the software release.


So do I keep the optical running from the DVR to the audio reciever and just switch the HDMI cable to component? Will picture quality suffer? Thx Earl.

Frank

HR10-250 (1)
HR20-700 (1)
Samsung HLR5078W DLP

#5 OFFLINE   Italfra1

Italfra1

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2005

Posted 31 October 2006 - 12:02 PM

I was wondering if the biggest problems that have been reported can be contributed to the HDMI interface. I have (knock on wood) had a really awesome experince with my HR20 so far. Yes I have only had it for going on 5 days now but I have never had a lockup just some slight pixelation (almost like like weather issues on a clear day) nothing I can't live with. My only gripe is that RWD and FWD are very unstable and hopefully this will be addressed in a future firmware release.

Certainly try Component and see whaT happens. Also try to take off the B connectors(?) and see if that helps at all.


I have taken off the BBC's and didn't see a bit of difference so I put them back on. The only thing I havn't tried was switching out my HDMI cable to Component. Just been to lazy to pull the whole system out from the wall. I guess I'll give it a try. My FWD and RWD are also very unstable. That's my second biggest issue after the lockups.

#6 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 31 October 2006 - 12:14 PM

So do I keep the optical running from the DVR to the audio reciever and just switch the HDMI cable to component?


Keep in mind that the optical connection is only a 1 way communication, so it won't affect the operation of the HR20 at all whether you use it or not. HDMI definitely will since there is 2 way communication between the TV and the HR20.

#7 OFFLINE   illini

illini

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2006

Posted 31 October 2006 - 12:15 PM

Other than slight slight sync issues with HDMI, I have had no major issues with mine.

TV is Panasonic TH-50PX600U.

#8 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 31 October 2006 - 02:10 PM

Will picture quality suffer?


No. 99% of people cannot tell the difference.

#9 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 31 October 2006 - 02:11 PM

No. 99% of people cannot tell the difference.


And this forum seems to have quite a lot of the 1% that do :lol:

I cannot see a difference.

#10 OFFLINE   lguvenoz

lguvenoz

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 550 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 31 October 2006 - 02:22 PM

I really think that the HDMI piece is a possible issue. I've been very fortunate in that I have never had a problem with my unit from an HDMI perspective.

My standard MO when I hit a problem has been to disconnect the HDMI, switch over to component video, do a red button reset, and see if the problem persists.

In my case every lockup that was repeatable has shown up regardless of connection. It never hurts to try though since many people have had very valid problems with HDMI.

One other note.... I can see no appreciable difference in picture quality.
Lewis G.
AT9 -> WB68 -> Receivers
2 RG6QS -> HR20 -> HDMI -> Sony 50" LCD HDTV
1 RG6QS -> R16 -> S-Video -> Samsung 30" Tube HDTV
1 RG6QS -> RCA Receiver -> S-Video -> Windows Vista HTPC -> DVI-HDCP -> Samsung 22" HDTV Monitor
-- RCA Reciever -> Channel 3 -> Sharp 15" LCD
-- HTPC -> 100 Mbps -> XBox360 -> Sony 50" LCD HDTV
1 RG6QS -> D11 -> Composite -> Sharp 13" TV
1 RG6QS -> D10 -> S-Video -> Samsung 24" TV
2 RG6QS -> R16 -> S-Video -> Toshiba 27" TV

#11 OFFLINE   tstarn

tstarn

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 1,199 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2006

Posted 31 October 2006 - 02:58 PM

After 6 weeks of using HDMI and getting freeze-ups (not many of the other issues reported here), I permanently moved to component cables on about 72 hours ago, so my experience is not deep enough yet. I did, however, give the box a major workout on Sunday during NFL games, with no lock-ups (in my case, that is when the remote buttons and the ones on the box itself stop working or the picture goes blank and will not change, which both require a reset). I had already removed the B-Band converters after a more major lock-up, about 10 days ago.

So now I have no BBC and component cables going from my HR20 to my Hitachi plasma. I'm curious to see how this experiment goes, and if and when I will ever be able to move back to HDMI.

As for PQ, it's hard to tell the difference, especially without the ability to toggle between component and HDMI. Component looks pretty good, and I am using the cheap cable suppied by D*.
HDTV: Hitachi 42HDS69 plasma, Sony KE-32TS2 HD plasma
Directv Receivers: HR-20, R-10 (2), H-20
Hitachi and HR20 connected via HDMI (direct)
Sony and H20 connected via component

HT: Kenwood 8070 7.1 THX-certified receiver
Speakers:
PSB Image T55 (Main), PSB Image C40 (center), Image S50 (Surrounds).
DVD Players: Panasonic DVD Recorder (DMR-ES10B), Sony DVP-NS75H (upconverting).

#12 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 31 October 2006 - 03:03 PM

As for PQ, it's hard to tell the difference, especially without the ability to toggle between component and HDMI. Component looks pretty good, and I am using the cheap cable suppied by D*.


Couldn't you temporarily hook up both (since all outputs are active at the same time), and toggle between the inputs on your TV ?


I have one HR20 via Component the other via HDMI/DVI
When I toggle between the two, I see no difference in PQ
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#13 OFFLINE   tstarn

tstarn

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 1,199 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2006

Posted 31 October 2006 - 03:22 PM

Couldn't you temporarily hook up both (since all outputs are active at the same time), and toggle between the inputs on your TV ?


I have one HR20 via Component the other via HDMI/DVI
When I toggle between the two, I see no difference in PQ


Yes, the Hitachi in fact has three HDMI inputs, so I can do it easily. Just figured why punish myself if there is a major PQ difference, since I am not using HDMI right now. And if your experience is an indicator, you've already done it for me.:D There isn't any difference. In fact, if the component turns out to be along-term solution, it stays, since I don't have an HDMI switching HT receiver anyway. I can live with composite (red/white RCA) for sound when not using DD 5.1 via Toslink.
HDTV: Hitachi 42HDS69 plasma, Sony KE-32TS2 HD plasma
Directv Receivers: HR-20, R-10 (2), H-20
Hitachi and HR20 connected via HDMI (direct)
Sony and H20 connected via component

HT: Kenwood 8070 7.1 THX-certified receiver
Speakers:
PSB Image T55 (Main), PSB Image C40 (center), Image S50 (Surrounds).
DVD Players: Panasonic DVD Recorder (DMR-ES10B), Sony DVP-NS75H (upconverting).

#14 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 31 October 2006 - 05:30 PM

I can live with composite (red/white RCA) for sound when not using DD 5.1 via Toslink.


Actually you should be able to get non DD 5.1 sound just fine over your Toslink. On my A/V receiver I have it set to autodetect the signal and if DD then decode it for 5.1 and if it's PCM (what DirecTV receivers send out for regular stereo) then I have it decode as Dolby Pro-Logic. So you may want to check out your A/V receiver and see if it's got similar settings. Even my really old Sony I had a few years back would get me stereo when it wasn't DD.

Good luck!

#15 OFFLINE   Enrique B Chamorro

Enrique B Chamorro

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2006

Posted 31 October 2006 - 11:24 PM

I have a Sony KDL-46XBR2. It has 3 HDMI and 2 component.
I hooked up the HR20 to both the a HDMI and a component.
I could not tell a difference in picture quality.
I could tell that the TV would switch between HD and SD faster on the HDMI.
When on component, the TV would jumble before it would lock on HD.
I am staying with the HDMI for now.
I go get at times a "static pop" in the audio, typ. in the time between the commerical and the show.
Also, my old Yamaha receiver does not aways get the DD from the TOS link.
I have to switch the HR20 off of DD to get sound?

#16 OFFLINE   btmoore

btmoore

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,079 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2006

Posted 01 November 2006 - 01:36 AM

Also, my old Yamaha receiver does not aways get the DD from the TOS link.
I have to switch the HR20 off of DD to get sound?


Maybe.

Myself and others have to turn DD off in the settings menu to have DD support work. Others claim that they have DD set on and DD works, that turns it off on my HR20. Play something with DD 5.1 and check your receiver. BTW not all stations has a DD 5.1 or 2.0 soundtrack it may be a PCM prologic digital stream.

#17 OFFLINE   Twosted

Twosted

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 340 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2006

Posted 01 November 2006 - 05:48 AM

Maybe.

Myself and others have to turn DD off in the settings menu to have DD support work. Others claim that they have DD set on and DD works, that turns it off on my HR20. Play something with DD 5.1 and check your receiver. BTW not all stations has a DD 5.1 or 2.0 soundtrack it may be a PCM prologic digital stream.


Tune to HDNET. It is 5.1 all of the time.

#18 OFFLINE   tstarn

tstarn

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 1,199 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2006

Posted 01 November 2006 - 07:39 AM

Actually you should be able to get non DD 5.1 sound just fine over your Toslink. On my A/V receiver I have it set to autodetect the signal and if DD then decode it for 5.1 and if it's PCM (what DirecTV receivers send out for regular stereo) then I have it decode as Dolby Pro-Logic. So you may want to check out your A/V receiver and see if it's got similar settings. Even my really old Sony I had a few years back would get me stereo when it wasn't DD.

Good luck!

My receiver has auto detect too, but I don't care much about listening to the news or other similar broadcasts via my HT sound. I only meant I had to move to R/W RCA for TV speakers, which are fine for most stuff. With HDMI, as you know, there was no need for a composite cable, since the sound was feeding into the TV speakers via HDMI.
HDTV: Hitachi 42HDS69 plasma, Sony KE-32TS2 HD plasma
Directv Receivers: HR-20, R-10 (2), H-20
Hitachi and HR20 connected via HDMI (direct)
Sony and H20 connected via component

HT: Kenwood 8070 7.1 THX-certified receiver
Speakers:
PSB Image T55 (Main), PSB Image C40 (center), Image S50 (Surrounds).
DVD Players: Panasonic DVD Recorder (DMR-ES10B), Sony DVP-NS75H (upconverting).

#19 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 01 November 2006 - 08:37 AM

Tune to HDNET. It is 5.1 all of the time.


Thank you! I will add that one to the Tips and Tricks under setting up Dolby:

HR-20 Tips & Tricks

Do you have any other tips?

- Craig




spam firewall