Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Anyone with a 622 seeing random short skips?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
33 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   stinkmeat

stinkmeat

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 06 March 2007 - 11:15 AM

I have this exact same problem. It seems to occur only on OTA recorded shows. It seems to happen a lot with Heroes although I have seen it on other shows as well.

While watching HD recorded content it stutters for a moment and sometimes pixelates while the sound drops out for a couple of seconds. Then it resumes. If I watch it again, the skip is not there.

I thought it was an overheating issue since my old Moxi used to drop out & pixelate sometimes when it got too hot, but I got a chilmat and there has been no improvement.

Aren't all of the channels encoded the same way? Why would OTA content have an issue while sat content is fine? Especially considering that this is happening on recorded content only...How is recorded OTA content different that satellite recorded content?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 06 March 2007 - 11:37 AM

Aren't all of the channels encoded the same way? Why would OTA content have an issue while sat content is fine? Especially considering that this is happening on recorded content only...How is recorded OTA content different that satellite recorded content?


Well first off you have MPEG4 and MPEG2 encoders in the mix. I would also suspect MPEG2 encoding is done by a number of different machines with a number of different firmware with a number of different encoding parameters. Not all channels are created equally.

Now.. as far as OTA... The encoding process is outside the hands of Dish and definitely is where a lot of channel specific issues do crop up. One thing to remember, the 622 does not do any encoding. it just places what it gets onto the drive.

The other thing to remember.. Live content is actually recorded content. The 622 is reading from the buffer (hard drive) as content is being added to the buffer. So a hard drive read and write is involved while watching live. It is not directly sent to the TV.

So how is OTA content different that Sat. Well one, the bitrate is usually higher. Two, it is encoded differently than what Dish is sending. My feeling is that OTA and Dish MPEG streams are similar in the fact they are MPEG but how they get there may or may not be the same process and the results do have some difference.
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>

#28 OFFLINE   teachsac

teachsac

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2006

Posted 06 March 2007 - 12:04 PM

Stinkmeat,

You in the Sac area and referring to KCRA? If so, Dish is aware of it, can reproduce the problem, and I am waiting to hear back from them regarding a possible solution.

Scott

#29 OFFLINE   stinkmeat

stinkmeat

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 06 March 2007 - 01:37 PM

Stinkmeat,

You in the Sac area and referring to KCRA? If so, Dish is aware of it, can reproduce the problem, and I am waiting to hear back from them regarding a possible solution.

Scott


Yes I'm in Sacramento area and KCRA does seem to be the problem.

I guess that's all we can ask for...let me know what you hear back.

Ron - thanks for the clarification. I knew about MPEG2 vs MPEG4 but I didn't realize that within those there are variations as well. It still seems like once it's on the hard drive that unless some content is for some reason more taxing to display it shouldn't be having this problem. In any case I'm looking forward to not having this issue any more...

#30 OFFLINE   jimstick

jimstick

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2007

Posted 06 March 2007 - 02:40 PM

I have this exact same problem. It seems to occur only on OTA recorded shows. It seems to happen a lot with Heroes although I have seen it on other shows as well.

While watching HD recorded content it stutters for a moment and sometimes pixelates while the sound drops out for a couple of seconds. Then it resumes. If I watch it again, the skip is not there.

I thought it was an overheating issue since my old Moxi used to drop out & pixelate sometimes when it got too hot, but I got a chilmat and there has been no improvement.

Aren't all of the channels encoded the same way? Why would OTA content have an issue while sat content is fine? Especially considering that this is happening on recorded content only...How is recorded OTA content different that satellite recorded content?



This is NOT the exact same problem I am having. What I am talking about is there is just a portion of recorded material that is skipped. No delay, no pixelization, no dead air, no stutter, no nothing, it's just as though that
portion does not exist, but if you rewind and play it again, it's there. It's like if someone is talking, and they say, "That's what I'm talking about", you might see and hear,"That's I'm talking about", but when you rewind, you pick up the "What" that was missing the first time. Like it skipped over a part of the hard drive.

#31 OFFLINE   teachsac

teachsac

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2006

Posted 06 March 2007 - 05:03 PM

Jimstick,

This is the same problem problem we are having in Sacramento with our OTA station. There is now a new element in the equation here. YOU can be watching someting and it will skip ahead 3-5 seconds. If you rewind, the material is present. I am working with someone in engineering, and they are analyzing two 622's I sent them with this problem. They have been able to recreate the problem. No idea yet as to the problem. As soon as they get back to me, I will post the results.

Scott

#32 OFFLINE   jimstick

jimstick

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2007

Posted 08 March 2007 - 09:56 AM

Never mind.

#33 OFFLINE   jimstick

jimstick

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2007

Posted 27 March 2007 - 09:20 AM

Jimstick,

This is the same problem problem we are having in Sacramento with our OTA station. There is now a new element in the equation here. YOU can be watching someting and it will skip ahead 3-5 seconds. If you rewind, the material is present. I am working with someone in engineering, and they are analyzing two 622's I sent them with this problem. They have been able to recreate the problem. No idea yet as to the problem. As soon as they get back to me, I will post the results.

Scott


Heard anything yet?

#34 OFFLINE   stinkmeat

stinkmeat

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 04 April 2007 - 12:22 AM

I'm definitely still seeing the skips...and it is only on local channel 3 (KCRA).




Protected By... spam firewall...And...