Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20 - ATSC/OTA Discussion


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
511 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   mikhu

mikhu

    Beer Aficionado

  • Registered
  • 1,682 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2006

Posted 07 December 2006 - 09:06 AM

Has anyone been able to compare the HR-20 ATSC tuner with the H20? I have both (for a couple more days anyway). The tuner in the H20 is rock solid and I was just wondering if the HR20 could be even better.

I'll have to say that the integration of OTA with the H10 and H20 works really well and I can't wait to have the added capability of a DVR with OTA (I don't have the new software yet). The fact that these recievers take two fundamentally different signals and integrate them seamlessly in the quide has always been impressive to me. When D* can add more bandwidth next year, get a few more bugs worked out, and finally add more HD channels the HR-20 should be quite a nice box.


Yes, the ATSC tuner in the H10 I have was rock solid! I'm hoping they used the same tuner in the HR20.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,920 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 07 December 2006 - 09:07 AM

I still think the answer is the same, no, for the reasons I put in the last post. I'd love to be wrong, but I don't think I am. It's just a limitation of the HR20 as currently configured.
...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock
HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD
DirecTV since 1995

#53 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 07 December 2006 - 09:17 AM

Earl - I currently have a 3lnb dish and have a diplex on one of the feeds which currently splits my antenna feed into the TV with the other end going into the SAT HR20. The release discussion indicates that it is not recommended to diplex the signal.

Can you explain why it is not recommended to diplex the signal and what will happen if you do? I'd rather not have to run a separate line from the antenna down to the box if I don't need to.


It is not recommended, once you go to a 5LNB system.
The signals from the newest sats (the KA ones), want to work in the same frequency spectrum as the diplexed OTA antenna.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#54 OFFLINE   mnassour

mnassour

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 858 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 07 December 2006 - 09:24 AM

Oh, I so HOPE this is the release that changes my attitude!

Anyway, question here....the local PBS station is in the process of changing its subchannels. We expect that on Jan. 1 they will shift from the current format (two subchannels) to three or four. When that happens do we know if the HR20 will automatically find them, or do we need to do a new setup, or is there simply a function to rescan for channels?

#55 OFFLINE   RxMan1

RxMan1

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 336 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2005

Posted 07 December 2006 - 09:24 AM

Sorry for straying a bit, this is OTA discussion, right?

I have an HR10-250 and HR20-700 right next to each other in my component closet. I have one line coming down from my antenna to my HR10-250. Could I split it right there and run a short piece to the HR20-700 or would it be better to split it closer to the attic antenna and run the lines down from there?

I hope the OTA tuner in the HR20 is better than the HR10!

#56 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,590 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 07 December 2006 - 09:29 AM

Sorry for straying a bit, this is OTA discussion, right?

I have an HR10-250 and HR20-700 right next to each other in my component closet. I have one line coming down from my antenna to my HR10-250. Could I split it right there and run a short piece to the HR20-700 or would it be better to split it closer to the attic antenna and run the lines down from there?

I hope the OTA tuner in the HR20 is better than the HR10!



Split it close to the HR20.
If your signal is not strong then you may need to install a preamp at the antenna to overcome all the splits. The signal at each tuner will only be 25% of your original signal (50% loss in the splitter, then 50% again in the internal splitters of the Hr10 and the HR20)
If the Hr20 tuner is the same as the one in the H20 then it is MUCH better than the HR10!!

#57 OFFLINE   mikhu

mikhu

    Beer Aficionado

  • Registered
  • 1,682 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2006

Posted 07 December 2006 - 09:29 AM

Sorry for straying a bit, this is OTA discussion, right?

I have an HR10-250 and HR20-700 right next to each other in my component closet. I have one line coming down from my antenna to my HR10-250. Could I split it right there and run a short piece to the HR20-700 or would it be better to split it closer to the attic antenna and run the lines down from there?

I hope the OTA tuner in the HR20 is better than the HR10!


You can do that assuming you have a strong enough signal. I have a passive splitter behind my HDTV. One run goes to the TV and one goes to the HR20. Works just fine. Well, it worked fine on the H10 and HR10 anyway, as well as the HDTV. Assuming it's going to work fine on the HR20 when we get it here.

#58 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,920 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 07 December 2006 - 09:29 AM

Sorry for straying a bit, this is OTA discussion, right?

I have an HR10-250 and HR20-700 right next to each other in my component closet. I have one line coming down from my antenna to my HR10-250. Could I split it right there and run a short piece to the HR20-700 or would it be better to split it closer to the attic antenna and run the lines down from there?

I hope the OTA tuner in the HR20 is better than the HR10!


Split it where the two receivers are located...you don't gain anything by splitting up top and it's much more convenient to split at the equipment.
...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock
HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD
DirecTV since 1995

#59 OFFLINE   RxMan1

RxMan1

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 336 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2005

Posted 07 December 2006 - 09:32 AM

Thanks for all of the replies. :)

#60 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,590 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 07 December 2006 - 09:33 AM

It is not recommended, once you go to a 5LNB system.
The signals from the newest sats (the KA ones), want to work in the same frequency spectrum as the diplexed OTA antenna.


Diplexing will work today but as soon as DirecTV 10 and 11 launch next year they will transmit in the Ka-lo band and that overlaps OTA so at that point the diplexing will fail. There is a potential workaround by relocating the b-band converters so they are on the dish side of the diplexer but if you can you should run a separate cable, it will make things much easier (and will also give you a stronger OTA signal than any diplexing scheme).

#61 OFFLINE   EMoMoney

EMoMoney

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 260 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2005

Posted 07 December 2006 - 09:48 AM

That only depends on one thing: is the signal strong enough in the first place?

On my HR10-250 I was getting a solid 95 on BAC, 92 on CBS and WB, 71 on FOX. The only channel I have problems with is NBC. I can't seem to get a solid signal on all 4 at the same time. If I turn my antenna to get a solid signal on NBC, I lose ABC.

#62 OFFLINE   nocaster

nocaster

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 07 December 2006 - 09:53 AM

Oh, I so HOPE this is the release that changes my attitude!

Anyway, question here....the local PBS station is in the process of changing its subchannels. We expect that on Jan. 1 they will shift from the current format (two subchannels) to three or four. When that happens do we know if the HR20 will automatically find them, or do we need to do a new setup, or is there simply a function to rescan for channels?


I hate to bear bad news, but the PBS affiliate in Oklahoma did this a couple months ago. They no longer carry the national 24/7 HD broadcast. This might not happen to you, but it seems to be following the same pattern. One of the subs is PBS Kids. You will have to reconfigure your OTA setup when this happens. They won't appear in the guide automatically.

#63 OFFLINE   jdoug

jdoug

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 104 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 07 December 2006 - 10:01 AM

How is HR20 OTA tuner better than HR10? I have an HR10 and have pretty bad multipath problems, especially after the leaves drop. When leaves are up and no wind it works great. But, with strong wind in summer, or any wind in winter I have problems on both FOX and CBS (or course the only 2 I don't have waivers for and also are not available locally via satellite).

Any chance mutipath problems are less likely with HR20 than HR10?

#64 OFFLINE   gonzlobo

gonzlobo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 102 posts
Joined: Jul 04, 2006

Posted 07 December 2006 - 10:03 AM

There is a TOTAL NET: of 2 recordings at a time.

1 SAT
1 OTA
1 SAT - 1 OTA
2 SAT
2 OTA


Ok, I understand we can only record on 2 channels simultaneously, but can we watch 1 OTA & record 2 SATs (or any other combination)?

#65 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 07 December 2006 - 10:04 AM

Ok, I understand we can only record on 2 channels simultaneously, but can we watch 1 OTA & record 2 SATs (or any other combination)?


No. The unit can only tune 2 channels at once... regardless of source.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#66 OFFLINE   Canis Lupus

Canis Lupus

    You make it, We break it

  • Registered
  • 4,722 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2006

Posted 07 December 2006 - 10:06 AM

Don't think so because in the end, you only have 2 tuners. You can combine them for recording any way you want, but you only have 2 tuners. Therefore when 2 tuners are being used to record, you have to watch something from your list.

EDIT: - woops sorry Earl. I got tossed right when I saw your reply (must be busy here today :) )

Ok, I understand we can only record on 2 channels simultaneously, but can we watch 1 OTA & record 2 SATs (or any other combination)?



#67 OFFLINE   wmschultz

wmschultz

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,131 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2006

Posted 07 December 2006 - 10:08 AM

How is HR20 OTA tuner better than HR10? I have an HR10 and have pretty bad multipath problems, especially after the leaves drop. When leaves are up and no wind it works great. But, with strong wind in summer, or any wind in winter I have problems on both FOX and CBS (or course the only 2 I don't have waivers for and also are not available locally via satellite).

Any chance mutipath problems are less likely with HR20 than HR10?


Please, Please, Please....

Can someone do a compare to the HR10-250? I would like to think that this ATSC tuner is better than that one.

#68 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 07 December 2006 - 10:11 AM

Please, Please, Please....

Can someone do a compare to the HR10-250? I would like to think that this ATSC tuner is better than that one.


You are going to have to wait till the user base increases.
I can't really "compare" to my HR10-250... as I get the same number of channels.

I could get VHF-3 with the HR10-250, nor with the HR20.
On a "good day" I could get it on the H20, but that was really hit or miss.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#69 OFFLINE   uncrules

uncrules

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 345 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2005

Posted 07 December 2006 - 10:14 AM

How about comparing the tuner of the H20-600 vs the HR20. I've been very satisfied with the tuner in my H20-600. I hope the HR20 tuner will be just as good.
1 HR34-700 (w/AM21N), 2 HR24-500 (1 w/AM21), 2 HR22-100 - Whole Home DVR with DECA and broadband DECA setup
Panasonic Viera 65" TC-P65V10, Magnavox 42" 42MF337B, Sony Bravia 40" KDL40EX400, 2 Vizio 37" E370VL
Directv subscriber since 1995
Xbox 360 Elite, 2 PS3, Nintendo Wii

#70 OFFLINE   wmschultz

wmschultz

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,131 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2006

Posted 07 December 2006 - 10:20 AM

You are going to have to wait till the user base increases.
I can't really "compare" to my HR10-250... as I get the same number of channels.

I could get VHF-3 with the HR10-250, nor with the HR20.
On a "good day" I could get it on the H20, but that was really hit or miss.


What about signal strength? I just have one flaky channel (FOX) and I can't pick
up PBS due to the region they put there tranmitter in (opposite of the others)

#71 OFFLINE   nocaster

nocaster

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 07 December 2006 - 10:22 AM

Please, Please, Please....

Can someone do a compare to the HR10-250? I would like to think that this ATSC tuner is better than that one.


I have read in the past that the tuner in the H20 (non dvr) was much improved over the HR10-250. I'm assuming the HR-20 has the same tuner or better as the H20. I know my H20 is rock solid and improved on the H10 (not to be confused with the HR10 TiVo).

All these reciever names are getting confusing. :)

#72 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 07 December 2006 - 10:24 AM

What about signal strength? I just have one flaky channel (FOX) and I can't pick
up PBS due to the region they put there tranmitter in (opposite of the others)


On all the stations I could receive, the meter was reading 100%
But again... In Chicago, all my transmissions are from "Basically" the same spot (the two towers are less then 3 miles apart from one another)
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#73 OFFLINE   Blitz68

Blitz68

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,086 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2006

Posted 07 December 2006 - 10:26 AM

I know that you can only record two programs at once. I have read that. However, can you, for instasnce, watch something on the OTA tuner while recording 2 programs on the satellite tuners?

I am sorry if it is the same question as recording. I was just not sure how the technology worked. Thanks for any response.


No

DirecTV Since 1995

 

Love the Penguins & Steelers!!!!


#74 OFFLINE   mdmcvay

mdmcvay

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2006

Posted 07 December 2006 - 10:34 AM

Is there anyway to combine two antennas? I have been having a heck of a time trying to receive all my digital ota, and since the ota on my hr20 will be active soon, I am trying to get everything perfect. I have one antenna mounted in the attic and a Zenith Silver Sensor on top of the entertainment center. According to antennaweb, I am between 4 and 7 miles from all my local txmitters. Compass orientations are 70 degrees for 3 sta, 129, 155, 157, and 164. I am having a hard time aiming to get them all at once. Can i aim my attic antenna one direction and my silver sensor another and then combine and feed into the hr20 and have it work? or maybe i should go buy a "bowtie" type antenna and throw it in the attic

Thanks
DirecTV HR20-700
Sony KDS-R50XBR1
LG-RC199H DVD
Yamaha HTR-6090
Nintendo Wii
Sony PS3
Xbox 360 Elite w/ HD-DVD
Slingbox Pro


Insignia 32" LCD
HR21-700


#75 OFFLINE   f300v10

f300v10

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 239 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2005

Posted 07 December 2006 - 10:40 AM

How is HR20 OTA tuner better than HR10? I have an HR10 and have pretty bad multipath problems, especially after the leaves drop. When leaves are up and no wind it works great. But, with strong wind in summer, or any wind in winter I have problems on both FOX and CBS (or course the only 2 I don't have waivers for and also are not available locally via satellite).

Any chance mutipath problems are less likely with HR20 than HR10?


Assuming the OTA tuner in the HR20 is as good as the H20, then yes you should see less multipath issues with the HR20. My H20 was WAY better at dealing with wind and changes in leaves than the HR10-250. The H20 would still occasionally drop the signal, but it was far less frequent and recovered a good lock much faster than the HR10 which was often unwatchable.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...