Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

OTA dropouts on 622 input


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
165 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   dbconsultant

dbconsultant

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,260 posts
  • LocationTemecula, CA
Joined: Sep 13, 2005

Posted 03 January 2007 - 12:20 PM

The 622 tuner was MUCH better than the 811 in my case.



I am in Temecula also but more outside of town, past the wineries and up in the hills off Anza Road. Where are you in Temecula and what digital stations are you able to pull in? I haven't bothered with an OTA antenna since antennaweb said the only digital I would have access to is PBS San Bernardino.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   UT_Texan

UT_Texan

    Mentor/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 122 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2004

Posted 03 January 2007 - 09:46 PM

Here is another thread where this same problem has been discussed.
http://www.dbstalk.c...ight=Austin Fox

I too have moved my rca indoor antenna to my Sony and split the signal to both the TV and the 622. The TV receives the signal just fine. Let us know how the attennuator works. If it does then I am onboard in getting one as well.
Can you let us know where you got the attenuator from?
Did the engineer say if the reduction in signal strength will affect the ota channels?

thanks
Hook'em Horns!
2-622 1-510 1-508
Sony 60in SXRD
Sony 50in SXRD

#28 OFFLINE   smackman

smackman

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 430 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 04 January 2007 - 07:02 AM

My 622 will nor recognize DTV channel 19.1 out of Monroe Louisiana but my mistubishi tv has no problems with it. When scaning for channels on 622 it tries to lock in on 19 but will not do. My TV tuner has no problems with this channel and never pixalates on this channel. I have never gotten the 622 to lock in on this channel so I can't tell you the signal strength but tv has no problems with it. This is the only channel that does this. This channels frequency assignment is 19.
Also the 622 locks up EVERYTIME I scan and save a change on OTA.
Smackman THE KING OF SMACK: Dish Customer since 2000
VIP 722

#29 OFFLINE   FaxMan

FaxMan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2003

Posted 04 January 2007 - 07:52 AM

A FOX engineer here in Tallahassee says he's identified the problem and is working on the solution.

Hello I have discovered a problem many of you already know of and have. The Dish 622 box will lockup/drop out when receiving WTLH Fox49's feed. You probably don't have a problem with your antenna if you receive the other stations without problems.

The problem is on our end and involves timing (pcr). The microwave should not be the problem can't blame it anymore have to find something else.
I am working on it with help from Dish. More as I can.


My fingers are crossed. Hopefully he can get connected with the folks in Austin. Or, if anybody on this board has any suggestions regarding "timing (pcr)", please speak up.

#30 OFFLINE   Cokeswigga

Cokeswigga

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 167 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2005

Posted 04 January 2007 - 10:20 AM

I am in Temecula also but more outside of town, past the wineries and up in the hills off Anza Road. Where are you in Temecula and what digital stations are you able to pull in? I haven't bothered with an OTA antenna since antennaweb said the only digital I would have access to is PBS San Bernardino.



I tried antenna web today, and no stations show up for me... they did a few weeks ago, so I dunno whats up with that site.

Anyways....

The antenna I have is the winegard HD-9095 with an AP-4700 pre-amp
The OTA gives signals stengths on a scale of 0-100
I can get CBS usually with signals in the 90s
FOX, NBC, ABC are in the 70-80's.
I never bothered trying to get any other stations.
This antenna is on the highest point of roof, and is on a 10 foot mast, so it's pretty high up.

I actually just orded an AP-4800 preamp, so I will update you next week, if this preamp works better. This is a higher gain pre-amp. Sometimes, during bad weather, the OTA signals drop to the 60's, so I amp hoping that this will help just a little.

#31 OFFLINE   CricTic

CricTic

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Mar 16, 2006

Posted 04 January 2007 - 10:31 AM

Glad to see this issue is getting some renewed attention. Maybe it'll even get fixed before 24 starts up! :)

I have my antenna hooked to both my TV and my 622 via a splitter that attenuates 3.5 dB, and have been noticing the dropouts for some time. On a lark, I tried removing the splitter, but noticed no chance to the KTBC reception performance. I also tried leaving the splitter in and connecting another attenuator to the back of the antenna (the same attenuator that ships with the receiver that you connect to TV2 coax if you're using it to drive a TV directly ... I'm pretty sure it's 3 dB). My KTBC signal dropped out entirely ... I'm guessing it was attenuated too much at that point.

I tried contacting KTBC but got nowhere. It sounds like someone has an open line with the KTBC engineer ... please stay on them with this, your fellow Austinites appreciate it!

#32 OFFLINE   dbconsultant

dbconsultant

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,260 posts
  • LocationTemecula, CA
Joined: Sep 13, 2005

Posted 04 January 2007 - 11:43 AM

I tried antenna web today, and no stations show up for me... they did a few weeks ago, so I dunno whats up with that site.

Anyways....

The antenna I have is the winegard HD-9095 with an AP-4700 pre-amp
The OTA gives signals stengths on a scale of 0-100
I can get CBS usually with signals in the 90s
FOX, NBC, ABC are in the 70-80's.
I never bothered trying to get any other stations.
This antenna is on the highest point of roof, and is on a 10 foot mast, so it's pretty high up.

I actually just orded an AP-4800 preamp, so I will update you next week, if this preamp works better. This is a higher gain pre-amp. Sometimes, during bad weather, the OTA signals drop to the 60's, so I amp hoping that this will help just a little.



Thanks, Cokeswigga, ignore the pm I sent you.

#33 OFFLINE   Surveyor98

Surveyor98

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Dec 12, 2003

Posted 04 January 2007 - 05:29 PM

Personally I think it's a problem with Fox's transmitters not synching perfectly with the 622. The 622 freaks and can't handle it. This seemed to get worse AFTER the last update was downloaded.

Oh, well. I'm going to be out of the country for a year or so. Was trying to get it fixed before I left so the girlfriend wouldn't have to deal with it. Maybe they will fix it before I get back. Thanks to everyone for all their input.

#34 OFFLINE   UT_Texan

UT_Texan

    Mentor/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 122 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2004

Posted 04 January 2007 - 07:59 PM

A FOX engineer here in Tallahassee says he's identified the problem and is working on the solution.



My fingers are crossed. Hopefully he can get connected with the folks in Austin. Or, if anybody on this board has any suggestions regarding "timing (pcr)", please speak up.


FAXMAN,
Is there someone in Tallahassee that we can tell the engineer here in Austin to contact for more info.

thanks
Hook'em Horns!
2-622 1-510 1-508
Sony 60in SXRD
Sony 50in SXRD

#35 OFFLINE   Vasanth B

Vasanth B

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2005

Posted 04 January 2007 - 10:55 PM

I tried both a 6dB and 10dB antennuator and can confirm this does not work. I have ViP 622, KTBC here in Austin, a roof-mounted CM-4228 antenna and good quality cabling. The problem started after KTBC made an "exciter upgrade" on their tower here in Austin. I can't post a link yet as I'm under 5 posts but find the 'Austin, TX' thread in the "Local HDTV Info and Reception" sub-forum under HDTV forum on AVSForum.com.

EDIT: These last few posts about the Talla Engineer seem like the first breakthrough in the chronic issue. I'll post something on AVSForum and point folks there to this thread to see if the poster there with the KTBC Engineer's ear can get him in touch with the Talla WTLH Engineer.

#36 OFFLINE   UT_Texan

UT_Texan

    Mentor/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 122 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2004

Posted 05 January 2007 - 07:08 AM

I have sent an email to both the Fox 7 engineering dept. and an engineer at Fox 49 to try and get them on the same page. We will see where it goes.
Hook'em Horns!
2-622 1-510 1-508
Sony 60in SXRD
Sony 50in SXRD

#37 OFFLINE   jhr2112

jhr2112

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 05 January 2007 - 04:25 PM

Any luck with the attenuator? I'm curious because I'll try it also if it works for you.


Well I tried putting a splitter in-line that has a 3db drop but no luck.He called me back yesterday and said he will send a 3db pad to me soon to see if this helps. I take it he wants the ota signal to be lower than 90, right now with the splitter in-line it is still 95. He said after putting the attenuator in-line we should let the receiver reprogram the locals in. I will let you know if this works..BTW, the signal meter on these receivers are for reference only and not any actual measurement of any kind, just there to help you aim an antenna.

I find it funny that the satellite signal is 110%. Ever tried to fill a glass 110%?

#38 OFFLINE   CricTic

CricTic

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Mar 16, 2006

Posted 05 January 2007 - 04:30 PM

Thanks for the update. Please let the KTBC engineer know that if he needs more guinea pigs in the Austin area, I'm available (and I'm sure others on this board would jump at the chance as well).

#39 OFFLINE   Cokeswigga

Cokeswigga

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 167 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2005

Posted 08 January 2007 - 04:50 PM

I actually just orded an AP-4800 preamp, so I will update you next week, if this preamp works better. This is a higher gain pre-amp. Sometimes, during bad weather, the OTA signals drop to the 60's, so I amp hoping that this will help just a little.


****UPDATE******

The "upgraded pre-amp" only caused more problems. I actually removed the pre-amp and connected the antenna straight to the receiver and it works flawlessly.

So no pre-amp needed (for my setup) turns out the preamp was overloading the signal

#40 OFFLINE   FaxMan

FaxMan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2003

Posted 08 January 2007 - 07:23 PM

FAXMAN,
Is there someone in Tallahassee that we can tell the engineer here in Austin to contact for more info.

thanks


I don't have a direct contact, but this thread at AVS Forum is where we're discussing it. (you may need to go up or down a few posts)

#41 OFFLINE   bstech

bstech

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 10 January 2007 - 09:27 PM

I live in Warrior, Alabama very hilly terrain and have had the 622 for about a month now. I have markets to the north and south of me. My preffered market is to the south and on my Hitachi with OTA tuner I get all channels with few dropouts unless bad weather but has trouble with the market to the north. But the 622 is just the opposite. Can't get Fox affiliate to the south at all but I get the market to the north with frequent dropouts unless perfect weather conditions. I have struggled greatly with this and tonight noticed there was a fair amount of heat on the 622. I raised it up about an inch hoping to improve cooling then started my ritual of trying to "fine tune my locals". I have a confidence level of about 1 out of 100 because the weather conditions are ideal tonight but my locals are 100% better so far. I still can't get FOX to the south but everything else is much more stable singnal levels only varying 3 or 4 points instead of 20 or more. I can only say I have my fingers crossed.

#42 OFFLINE   jgurley

jgurley

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 164 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2005

Posted 11 January 2007 - 07:54 AM

This problem with Fox may be more widespread than in the markets mentioned here so far. I live in the mountains of VA, have an attic mounted CM Stealthtenna and received all locals except Fox.

Most of the networks, including Fox, broadcast from a mountain top 7 miles to my west, ABC and WWCW are 24 miles east. My strongest signals have always been the eastern ones even though my antenna is pointed west, which means I'm probably being overshot somewhat by the closer networks. My 622 has never reported any signal from the Fox tower.

I do have one question. Does anyone know a what point the 622 locks on to a signal? My old receiver (Voom) would show whatever the signal strength it was getting and report "Locked On" or "Not Locked". The 622 shows zero on Fox but I can't help but wonder if in fact it's getting some signal, just not strong enough to lock.

I'm about to move my antenna outside which involves some very serious effort and am thinking it would be bad if my Fox signal was only a very few points below the 622's lock on point and all I really need to do is probe in my attic for a spot where I can get Fox. It's one thing to have zero signal, and another to have 49 and only need 50 to lock on.

So, what's the lock on point of the 622?
Hopper & 2 Joeys
42" Plasma
36" LCD
26" LCD
Salem, VA

#43 OFFLINE   lujan

lujan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,202 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2004

Posted 11 January 2007 - 01:01 PM

I recorded "House" on Tuesday night but have not had a chance to watch it. I will report back if the audio is not working.

EDIT: I watched house last night and had no video or audio problems at all.
171 Blu-ray
83 DVD
63 HD DVD

#44 OFFLINE   bstech

bstech

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 11 January 2007 - 07:48 PM

Oh well I am fairly certain that the heat was not the trouble. I still have a much more stable signal but I am experiencing a few more drop outs tonight than last night even though I still have good weather. I do get the FOX affiliate to the north with the 622 so I'm not sure that it can be blamed on FOX...

#45 OFFLINE   jhr2112

jhr2112

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 12 January 2007 - 04:32 PM

Any luck with the attenuator? I'm curious because I'll try it also if it works for you.


I went out and purchased my own attenuator and that did not fix anything. I called Dish and talked to tech support and they claim they have never heard of this problem but would start a trouble ticket...I understand the locals will be in HD on the Sat sometime this year and that might be the only fix for this. As for now I don't watch fox anymore. I would switch to Directv but the upgrade fee for the 622 was a non refundable $200. If Dish or fox7 would call each other the problem might get resolved.

#46 OFFLINE   CricTic

CricTic

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Mar 16, 2006

Posted 12 January 2007 - 06:20 PM

I just called 'em too ... interestingly enough the lady I talked to (really nice BTW) said she had an entry in the system for it. It wasn't helpful at all (contact the station, check antennaweb.org, etc.) but it seems like they're aware of it now.

I added my voice to yours, so maybe if enough people do that they'll be more driven to solve the problem (especially if other markets are seeing the same thing).

#47 OFFLINE   bstech

bstech

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 13 January 2007 - 07:46 AM

I went out and purchased my own attenuator and that did not fix anything. I called Dish and talked to tech support and they claim they have never heard of this problem but would start a trouble ticket...I understand the locals will be in HD on the Sat sometime this year and that might be the only fix for this. As for now I don't watch fox anymore. I would switch to Directv but the upgrade fee for the 622 was a non refundable $200. If Dish or fox7 would call each other the problem might get resolved.


Is this for everyone?

#48 OFFLINE   Tylast

Tylast

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: May 27, 2006

Posted 13 January 2007 - 08:44 AM

Also the 622 locks up EVERYTIME I scan and save a change on OTA.

Same here. Takes exactly 60 seconds then everything goes dark. I have to pull the plug & wait for it to boot up again, but everything is fine after that. Is annoying though.
Muzikfetish
ViP622 & Samsung 5067

#49 OFFLINE   smackman

smackman

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 430 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 13 January 2007 - 12:44 PM

Same here. Takes exactly 60 seconds then everything goes dark. I have to pull the plug & wait for it to boot up again, but everything is fine after that. Is annoying though.

When it does this just hold the power button down for approx 10 seconds and it will go thru a soft reboot. No need to unplug. Every once in a while after I reboot the TV and receiver handshake does not work. When this happens I just change my tv from HDMI TO INPUT 1 THEN BACK TO HDMI.
Smackman THE KING OF SMACK: Dish Customer since 2000
VIP 722

#50 OFFLINE   goldieloxx

goldieloxx

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2006

Posted 13 January 2007 - 01:28 PM

I'm experiencing the same thing with FOX in the Tri Cities area of Washington state.

I'm showing good signal strength but my receiver will not lock onto the signal. My VIP211 in another room is having the same problem. Those in my area with a D* tuner aren't having the same issue, so I think it's a E* problem.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...