Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

OTA dropouts on 622 input


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
165 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   Tylast

Tylast

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: May 27, 2006

Posted 13 January 2007 - 02:15 PM

When it does this just hold the power button down for approx 10 seconds and it will go thru a soft reboot. No need to unplug. Every once in a while after I reboot the TV and receiver handshake does not work. When this happens I just change my tv from HDMI TO INPUT 1 THEN BACK TO HDMI.

Thanks!
Muzikfetish
ViP622 & Samsung 5067

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   UT_Texan

UT_Texan

    Mentor/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 122 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2004

Posted 18 January 2007 - 07:15 AM

I called Dish last night to report the problem as well. I had to escalate to a mgr to get a complaint logged and sent to the engineers but hopefully it will help. He still insisted it wasn't a problem with the 622. He made reference in the log that it was also occurring in Tall. Fl
Hook'em Horns!
2-622 1-510 1-508
Sony 60in SXRD
Sony 50in SXRD

#53 OFFLINE   gazookas

gazookas

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 18 January 2007 - 03:42 PM

Like some others, I was having trouble with my local Fox station (Ch. 45) in Baltimore on my OTA/DiP 622 combo. Picture would sporadically drop out or pixelate despite good signal strength (low to mid 80's). Other OTA channels seemed to be fine.

Went through a lot of steps with Dish tech rep including Dish sending a signal to the box, me rescanning locals, and rebooting receiver.

I don't know what signal the rep sent, but she said something about "fully activating the DVR to receive OTA". I was puzzled since I was getting OTA locals prior to the signal.

In any case, I am not 100% sure yet, but it seems to have helped. A very limited amount of watching Fox 45 has not shown any pixelation or dropouts.

I will try to post again to let everyone know if the problems are really gone or not.

Good luck to all!

#54 OFFLINE   boylehome

boylehome

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 2,143 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2004

Posted 18 January 2007 - 04:15 PM

It looks like there are some similarities with problems and FOX TV stations. The same holds true here.

All other digital stations work fine here. The FOX station works fine on other than my 622 receivers. The signal will drop to zero and return it normally holds a steady 84 signal for the FOX station, but since they returned to the airwaves on January 10, 2007, having been off for two days, the signal fluctuates from 75 to 87. The video constantly pixelates and the moving images are choppy. When the signal drops to zero the yellow 739 error screen appears as does the information screen 316 appears for the FOX recorded programs. The symptoms are like those caused from multi-path, but this is not the case.

Engineers at the TV station inform that they had to replace an, "exciter" at the transmitter. The first and temporary replacement was a manufacturer loaner which had older software with known issues to some ATSC tuners. They replaced the loaner with a new exciter that is supposed to have new software resolving the issues, the same symptoms are still present. The TV station is working on the problem with the manufacturer. This makes me question if the other FOX stations have the same component and software which is causing the problem?

I contacted E* by phone two days ago. Tech support said there were no other reported problems. They sent a report to engineering. I also sent a detailed letter to E* as follow-up.

It seems that generally, when there are minor problems with digital transmissions, the 622 (and my friends 211) have problems and will not work properly while the majority of other brand ATSC tuners in HDTV's, cable company ATSC tuners, and D* ATSC tuners work just fine. Even first generation ATSC tuners are working with this less than perfect signal problem.

#55 OFFLINE   FaxMan

FaxMan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2003

Posted 20 January 2007 - 02:11 PM

It appears that possibly a Fox Engineer in Memphis has found/fixed their variant of the problem.

Look up and down a few posts for the discussion, solution, results.

http://www.avsforum....T2B#post9513976

#56 OFFLINE   Hall

Hall

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 599 posts
Joined: Mar 04, 2004

Posted 21 January 2007 - 10:09 AM

Interesting post DTV Dave made regarding the manufacturer of this "exciter" device all of a sudden getting lots of calls from TV stations asking for the old firmware version.... I wonder if this could be related to a recent problem our local ABC (WKEF) has developed ?? In our 'local' case though, it's affecting far more than just E* and D* receivers. Even Time Warner customers are seeing it.

#57 OFFLINE   CricTic

CricTic

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Mar 16, 2006

Posted 22 January 2007 - 12:42 AM

Awesome news!

Can someone get the word back to KTBC?

#58 OFFLINE   UT_Texan

UT_Texan

    Mentor/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 122 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2004

Posted 22 January 2007 - 06:43 AM

I sent them an email Sat. copying Tall. Fl and will try to follow up with a call today. I spoke to an engineer Friday but he was trying to tell me to download 6.3b (D*). I told him that wasn't for Dish but he wouldn't agree. Wish me luck today.
Hook'em Horns!
2-622 1-510 1-508
Sony 60in SXRD
Sony 50in SXRD

#59 OFFLINE   FaxMan

FaxMan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2003

Posted 22 January 2007 - 12:44 PM

I was just in contact with the Tallahassee Engineer. Unfortunately, they use different equipment so no easy fix here. He indicated that it seems to be PSIP related and is somewhat connected to the national feed. :(

#60 OFFLINE   boylehome

boylehome

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 2,143 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2004

Posted 22 January 2007 - 02:18 PM

The station got the exciter problem fixed. The 622's are working well here.

#61 OFFLINE   UT_Texan

UT_Texan

    Mentor/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 122 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2004

Posted 22 January 2007 - 03:41 PM

Well,
I spoke with the Chief engineer here in Austin and unfortunately the Memphis fix won't work for Austin. They use a different Exciter.
He was very knowledgeable and helpful in trying to put it in laymen's terms.
The sad part is there isn't anything he can do if Dish doesn't work with them. He said it may have something to do with the high frequency they have to broadcast on.
He did say that in Feb 2009 they will be able to broadcast on the VHF 07 frequency. So I guess there is light at the end of the tunnel, albeit 2 years from now.
He said they are willing to provide support for their viewers here but in order to do that they need a unit to beta test. According to the engineer Dish won't talk to them.
All Fox said is give us a beta unit to test, all we need is for the OTA piece to function. Does the receiver have to be activated in order for the OTA to work? Does it take a miracle for this to happen?

I think at this point is quite apparent that Fox is within the FCC regulations for transmission. I base this on the fact our TV's can pick up the signal and decode it just fine.
With that said Fox here in Austin won't take it further as this is their stance as well.
I find it funny that our fellow Austinites with D* had the same problem with their receivers until a recent sw patch of 6.3b corrected their issues.

Does anyone know what changes D* made to their tuner to pick it up? Can we find out?

So this is a plea for Dish Network and their engineers to get in touch with the engineers at Fox here in Austin to see what can be fixed either by Fox or Dish Network.
If they would like his contact information I received his ok to pass it along.
Hook'em Horns!
2-622 1-510 1-508
Sony 60in SXRD
Sony 50in SXRD

#62 OFFLINE   CricTic

CricTic

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Mar 16, 2006

Posted 22 January 2007 - 03:51 PM

Maybe you should email ceo@dishnetwork.com (or whatever the fast track customer service address is)? I would do it myself but since you have been in contact with the KTBC guys you would probably be a better go-between.

#63 OFFLINE   UT_Texan

UT_Texan

    Mentor/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 122 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2004

Posted 22 January 2007 - 04:39 PM

That is my next step. I have worked with someone over there in the past. They were very helpful.

I am first going to see if I get help from this forum first before I go that route.
Hook'em Horns!
2-622 1-510 1-508
Sony 60in SXRD
Sony 50in SXRD

#64 OFFLINE   bstech

bstech

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 22 January 2007 - 07:01 PM

I spoke with my local Fox affiliate in Birmingham, Al. He too is working on a fix for this problem. I am very impressed with the assistance provided so far. Birmingham also has a different exciter so the Memphis fix won't work here either. I would like to say thanks to everyone for posting this information and keeping us all informed.

#65 OFFLINE   FaxMan

FaxMan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2003

Posted 22 January 2007 - 07:38 PM

I wonder if possibly Birmingham, Austin, and Tallahassee all have the same equipment or if we could encourage the engineers to talk with each other?

UT_Texan, regarding frequency. Our Fox affiliate broadcasts on digital 50 here in Tallahassee. The local CBS channel is on 46 though and comes in just fine. What Freq are you on?

Folks who have any kind of HD tuner other than the 622 are able to receive the Fox signal just fine.

#66 OFFLINE   austindude

austindude

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Jan 22, 2007

Posted 22 January 2007 - 09:23 PM

I have the same problem here in Cedar Park. The signal strength goes from the 80's to 0 and the signal is lost. It makes FOX unwatchable.

This problem started around 3 weeks ago.

I have a ViP211.

#67 OFFLINE   UT_Texan

UT_Texan

    Mentor/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 122 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2004

Posted 22 January 2007 - 10:03 PM

FaxMan,
Fox is on Freq 56.1 uhf is what I believe he said but comes in as channel 7.1. They use a "tallus" exciter here in Austin. Not sure about the spelling. I get channels on 54 and 62 just fine but not sure what their freq is.

I sent an email last week and this weekend to both Tallahassee and Austin.
Tall. mentioned that it might be related to a "pcr" issue.

I am going to give it a day or two to see if we get support from someone here before I contact the executive office of E*.

I ask anyone who is having issues receiving their FOX OTA to contact E* and report it and insist a complaint be logged that is sent to the engineers.

The only way this will get resolved is if E* and Fox stations work together to discover the issue so that one of them can implement a fix.
Hook'em Horns!
2-622 1-510 1-508
Sony 60in SXRD
Sony 50in SXRD

#68 OFFLINE   bstech

bstech

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 22 January 2007 - 10:28 PM

Birmingham, Al. Fox is UHF Channel 50 also I am having trouble with our NBC affiliate which is channel 52 but I am receiving CBS channel 30 and PBS channel 53 and CW which is channel 28. All of these stations are within 1 degree from my location and all at 28.6 - 28.8 miles away and I get all of them on my TV with no trouble at all. As a matter of fact Fox may very well be the strongest OTA station through the TV tuner. By the way the transmitter is Birmingham is a Larcan with a Zenith/LG exciter.

#69 OFFLINE   bstech

bstech

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 23 January 2007 - 07:21 AM

Email from Dish Network... I can see that they are really concerned. If this is not kosher someone please remove this. Thanks.

Dear Mr. X,



Thank you for your e-mail. Unfortunately, we cannot guarantee reception of non-DISH Network programming with our receivers. We do apologize for the inconvenience.



We hope we have properly addressed your concerns. If you have further questions you can respond to this e-mail or access our online technical support at the following link: http://tech.dishnetw...tal/index.shtml.

Thanks,

**** *.

Technical E-mail Support

Dish Network

#70 OFFLINE   FaxMan

FaxMan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2003

Posted 23 January 2007 - 07:47 AM

I ask anyone who is having issues receiving their FOX OTA to contact E* and report it and insist a complaint be logged that is sent to the engineers.


Any suggestion regarding which method or phone number to talk to them to make sure that we don't just get lost in the shuffle?

#71 OFFLINE   makers78

makers78

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2007

Posted 23 January 2007 - 09:46 AM

FaxMan,
Fox is on Freq 56.1 uhf is what I believe he said but comes in as channel 7.1. They use a "tallus" exciter here in Austin. Not sure about the spelling. I get channels on 54 and 62 just fine but not sure what their freq is.

I


According to AntennaWeb.org:

channel frequency
62 (KAKW) 13
54 (KNVA) 49
7 (KTBC) 56


#72 OFFLINE   Barrysb

Barrysb

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2004

Posted 24 January 2007 - 12:59 PM

To those who are a having a problem with one OTA channel, you might want to try my work-around. Can't promise it will work and it seems a bit counter-intuitive, but inserting a large amount of attenuation in the antenna feed stopped my 622 receiver from having intermittent still frames, pixelation, sound motorboating, and signal loss error messages on one of my local channels. I had to insert over 20 dB of attenuation where the signal strength dropped to the mid 70s before it stopped acting up. This is a band-aid and not a solution to the problem.

#73 OFFLINE   UT_Texan

UT_Texan

    Mentor/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 122 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2004

Posted 26 January 2007 - 07:43 AM

I have sent a note over to my contact in the executive office and to quality@echostar.com for help.
Hook'em Horns!
2-622 1-510 1-508
Sony 60in SXRD
Sony 50in SXRD

#74 OFFLINE   Barrysb

Barrysb

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2004

Posted 26 January 2007 - 09:11 AM

I have sent a note over to my contact in the executive office and to quality@echostar.com for help.


Thanks, I reported my work-around to Dish's technical group. Hard to tell whether it got through to the right people or not. Also, since I'm not aware of anyone else trying this band-aid, I can't be sure if this is just a fluke situation in my case.

#75 OFFLINE   cwc

cwc

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2007

Posted 28 January 2007 - 06:41 PM

Any luck with the attenuator? I'm curious because I'll try it also if it works for you.


I am a new Dish Network subscriber this month, with a 622 and a 211. I am having the same issue with both receivers. I have an OTA antenna in the attic and all the other local channels are received with a signal of 85 - 100 and all lock just fine. 7.1 gets a signal of 90-94 and then it goes to 0 with the same unlock or pixelations. I have tried amplifiers at the antenna output but that has not worked.

I would definitely like to know if the attenuator solves the problem. I hate having to watch "24" in SD.

CW




Protected By... spam firewall...And...