Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Remote has mind of its own


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rkerns

rkerns

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 10 January 2007 - 10:40 AM

Just got the 622 and recently the remote has been changing channels and having all kinds of issues. I changed batteries but that made no difference.
Has anyone heard of this issue?
Is there anything I can do or should I just contact DISH and get some new remotes or what?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   ChuckA

ChuckA

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,010 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2006

Posted 10 January 2007 - 10:47 AM

You might try using a different communication channel for the remote (procedure is in the manual). If the receiver changes channels without you pressing the remote buttons, you could be picking up a remote from next door.
Receivers: ViP622 (dual mode), ViP722k (single mode), 311
Dish 1000
America's "Everything" Pack & HD
TV1: SONY 55" KDF-55WF655; HDMI & Components connections
OTA Antenna in attic
PocketDish AV700E

#3 OFFLINE   Rob Glasser

Rob Glasser

    Hall Of Fame

  • Super Moderators
  • 3,052 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2005

Posted 10 January 2007 - 10:47 AM

Sounds like you have a neighbor with a Dish receiver setup on the same UHF remote channel. Follow the instructions in your manual to change the remote address for the UHF/TV2 remote and see if that fixes the problem.

Welcome to DBSTalk, hope this helps.
Rob

DISH Hopper, Hopper w/Sling, & Joey User

#4 OFFLINE   rkerns

rkerns

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 10 January 2007 - 10:48 AM

Well that's no good. I'll have to check that this evening and see if that will fix the issue.
Anything else I can do if that doesn't work?

#5 OFFLINE   Rob Glasser

Rob Glasser

    Hall Of Fame

  • Super Moderators
  • 3,052 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2005

Posted 10 January 2007 - 10:51 AM

Just give that a shot, I'm pretty sure that is the problem. In fact the scenario you mention is usually even documented in the remote section of the manuals since it is common enough. If that doesn't fix it let us know and we'll try and troubleshoot some more.
Rob

DISH Hopper, Hopper w/Sling, & Joey User

#6 OFFLINE   rkerns

rkerns

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 10 January 2007 - 10:56 AM

Sounds good Rob, thanks for the help. I'll give that a shot tonight and report back tomorrow.
Avid reader of the AVS forums and found you guys from over there.
I'm a brand new HD guy, just got it last Sat and so far I'm loving it.
Thanks again, I'll report back.

#7 OFFLINE   rkerns

rkerns

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 11 January 2007 - 08:50 AM

Well guys, so far so good, changed both remotes from 1 to 2 and all is well thus far.
Thanks for the help guys.

#8 OFFLINE   Rob Glasser

Rob Glasser

    Hall Of Fame

  • Super Moderators
  • 3,052 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2005

Posted 11 January 2007 - 12:46 PM

Glad to hear it.
Rob

DISH Hopper, Hopper w/Sling, & Joey User




Protected By... spam firewall...And...