Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

TwonkyMedia duplicates index on updates


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mikeny

mikeny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,914 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2006

Posted 14 January 2007 - 03:31 PM

I've noticed after 0x115 and 0x119 that TwonkyMedia duplicates every file in the db after an update to the HR20. Has anyone else noticed this? I can't believe it was coincidence. It didn't happend immediately but certainly overnight. The fix is to terminate the server and delete the contents of the db folder. Relaunch Twonky and rescan content directories.
SL3 SWM, 3 HR24-500s, H25-500, DECA

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,499 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2006

Posted 14 January 2007 - 07:13 PM

So I just started up my Twonky server to see if I could duplicate what you are seeing and it did not do that. I did not show any duplication at all. I recall you having experienced this last time going through an update as well.

I did not have my Twonky running during the update. I only run Twonky whenever I want to view/play stuff off the PC. I do not have it start up as a "service". I manually start it.

-Mark-
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 or ::127.0.0.1 or 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1 or ::1!"
Support the DBSTalk forum, become a member, Click Here!
For Networking Help, Click Here!
For my setup, Click Here!
3/98


#3 OFFLINE   mikeny

mikeny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,914 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2006

Posted 14 January 2007 - 08:56 PM

So I just started up my Twonky server to see if I could duplicate what you are seeing and it did not do that. I did not show any duplication at all. I recall you having experienced this last time going through an update as well.

I did not have my Twonky running during the update. I only run Twonky whenever I want to view/play stuff off the PC. I do not have it start up as a "service". I manually start it.

Thanks for your reply. Yes, I leave the server running 24/7. I may terminate it the next time I update the HR20. I wonder if it thought it needed to rebuild the database for some reason, thinking that there 2 new clients that it didn't recognize. Who knows?
SL3 SWM, 3 HR24-500s, H25-500, DECA

#4 OFFLINE   Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,499 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2006

Posted 15 January 2007 - 07:07 AM

Thanks for your reply. Yes, I leave the server running 24/7. I may terminate it the next time I update the HR20. I wonder if it thought it needed to rebuild the database for some reason, thinking that there 2 new clients that it didn't recognize. Who knows?


That can make a good case as to why. Could be a DNS thing locally when first detected, like instead of it seeing the computer name it sees it as an IP address and rebuilds the database then goes on from there until the name is presented from the computer.

-Mark-
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 or ::127.0.0.1 or 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1 or ::1!"
Support the DBSTalk forum, become a member, Click Here!
For Networking Help, Click Here!
For my setup, Click Here!
3/98





spam firewall