Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20 & Harmony 890 Remote (Questions about RF?)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   daytoday

daytoday

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2006

Posted 01 February 2007 - 09:59 AM

I just installed a HR20 and just purchased a Harmony 890 remote. Please help me with the following questions

1) Do I need a external RF Antenna for my HR20? DirecTV says I need the antenna, but I have also read that the HR20 has it built in. I don't see a place on the back of the HR20 for the antenna.

2) If I need a external Antenna, can I just buy the antenna? DirecTV does not list just the antenna?

Thanks!!!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,200 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 01 February 2007 - 01:42 PM

I have a question about Harmony remotes myself, and I'll ask in this thread rather than starting another.

If using it with the HR20, what do you do for the colored buttons?
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM


#3 OFFLINE   jkirk

jkirk

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 83 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2007

Posted 01 February 2007 - 01:46 PM

I'll try to anwer both posts.

I use the harm 890 and used the rf extension pod with good results.

As for the colored buttons, I added them using the custom area. it works great so far..

#4 OFFLINE   daytoday

daytoday

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2006

Posted 01 February 2007 - 06:35 PM

I'll try to anwer both posts.

I use the harm 890 and used the rf extension pod with good results.

As for the colored buttons, I added them using the custom area. it works great so far..




OK, Thanks!

#5 OFFLINE   wanderingheel

wanderingheel

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2006

Posted 05 February 2007 - 08:54 PM

Is it possible to use the harmony (with the extension IR blaster pods) AND the HR20's RF remote at the same time? I'd love to be able to use the stock remote... umm... remotely. But to do that, I'd have to use RF and IR at the same time - RF for the stock HR20 remote, and IR for the harmony... unless anyone else has any ideas?




spam firewall