Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Twonky, iTunes and all "X's"


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   edmartin

edmartin

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 149 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2006

Posted 01 February 2007 - 06:44 PM

I installed the registered version of Twonky 4.1 and 2 PC's in my house are showing up. All the photos are showing up. But I have X's next to pretty much all of my music - just MP3's are available. I have a ton of iTunes music but it's all showing up with X's. Any ideas?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Drewg5

Drewg5

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 716 posts
  • LocationSt. Louis
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 01 February 2007 - 07:54 PM

Itunes music can not be played on the HR20 at this time (if ever). Apple has DRM on the Itunes files that the HR20 can not decode

My Junk

ATT Uverse

45" Sony

30" Visio web connected


#3 OFFLINE   edmartin

edmartin

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 149 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2006

Posted 01 February 2007 - 08:30 PM

Hmmmm. Any suggestions on converters (iTunes to MP#, I guess)?

#4 OFFLINE   dj76116

dj76116

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2007

Posted 01 February 2007 - 09:13 PM

Hmmmm. Any suggestions on converters (iTunes to MP#, I guess)?


found this. Haven't tried it though. Looks more trouble than it's worth.

http://www.melodrift.com/node/103
Dave Jones
HDTV Noobie :D

DirectTV HR20-700
HDMI from HR20-700 to LG TV
Optical from HR20-700 to stereo (Video 1)
No phone line, will plug in today
Componnent from Samsung DVD to LG TV
Optical from Samsung DVD to Stereo (Video 2)
No Network/USB connected
Native on Program Determines Resolution
LG 50" Plasma S0PC1DR
480i 480p 720p 1080i
Sony Stereo 7.1 (?) STR-DG-600

R5-300 Bedroom - swapped for a blown TIVO
after 5 years

#5 OFFLINE   packfan909

packfan909

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 869 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2006

Posted 02 February 2007 - 12:01 AM

Hmmmm. Any suggestions on converters (iTunes to MP#, I guess)?


You will experience this in every server available. My suggestion would be to burn CD's of your Music Store purchases and then import them back in as MP3's.

Not easy, but that is the one way I have gotten around this. That and start buying CD's again.
DirecTV & Sirius Subscriber - Hardware on Profile
HR20-700 CFG: OTA Y | LAN: Bridged | 1080i Str | Rem IR Harmony 676 | HDMI
HR20-700 CFG: OTA Y | LAN: Wired | 480p Str | Rem RF RC24 | Component
HR21-700 CFG: OTA Y | LAN: Wired | 1080i LB | Rem RC32 | Component
uPnP Software: TVersity Pro BETA 1.5
Internet: Fiber 10MB via Surewest, Airlink+ Router

#6 OFFLINE   Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,499 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2006

Posted 02 February 2007 - 05:51 PM

I installed the registered version of Twonky 4.1 and 2 PC's in my house are showing up. All the photos are showing up. But I have X's next to pretty much all of my music - just MP3's are available. I have a ton of iTunes music but it's all showing up with X's. Any ideas?


Did you install the LAME plugin for LPCM transcoding from Twonky?

They get unzipped into thee c:\program files\twonky\cgi-bin directory, or something close to this.

-Mark-
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 or ::127.0.0.1 or 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1 or ::1!"
Support the DBSTalk forum, become a member, Click Here!
For Networking Help, Click Here!
For my setup, Click Here!
3/98


#7 OFFLINE   edmartin

edmartin

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 149 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2006

Posted 04 February 2007 - 09:21 AM

I ended up getting Easy CD-DA Extractor (found it on CNET but the direct URL is http://www.poikosoft.com/) and converted all of my iTunes .m4a's to .mp3's. All in all, it probably took the same amount of time per file to convert vs. re-rip but with the converter, I didn't have to keep inserting CD's; I just set up my entire library and let it run over-night.

#8 OFFLINE   edmartin

edmartin

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 149 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2006

Posted 04 February 2007 - 09:24 AM

Did you install the LAME plugin for LPCM transcoding from Twonky?

They get unzipped into thee c:\program files\twonky\cgi-bin directory, or something close to this.


Yes, I installed the LAME plugin - that made MP3's good-to-go. But as above, I ended up having to convert all of my iTunes .m4a's to .mp3's.




spam firewall