Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Setup question Optical out with HDMI


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   stiffi

stiffi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2006

Posted 02 February 2007 - 03:12 PM

Can somebody help me with a setup question?

I want to feed 2 TVs at the same time with the HR20.

1. Over Component
2. Video on HDMI, but Audio on the Optical.

Basically, because my Audio receiver doesn't have HDMI, I can only connect it right to my TV, and then use Optical for the audio.

Will this work?

thanks for your help.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   wmschultz

wmschultz

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,131 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2006

Posted 02 February 2007 - 03:29 PM

Yes, it will.

#3 OFFLINE   wmschultz

wmschultz

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,131 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2006

Posted 02 February 2007 - 03:31 PM

One caveat though.

If you have Dolby Digital on, your TV won't have any sound coming out of it due to the lack of a Dolby Digital Decoder.

If you have Dolby Digital off, the HR20 will downmix the sound to PCM via both the optical and HDMI.

#4 OFFLINE   stiffi

stiffi

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2006

Posted 02 February 2007 - 03:43 PM

One caveat though.

If you have Dolby Digital on, your TV won't have any sound coming out of it due to the lack of a Dolby Digital Decoder.

If you have Dolby Digital off, the HR20 will downmix the sound to PCM via both the optical and HDMI.


Why would there be a "lack of a Dolby Digital Decoder"?

My Audio receiver has one.

#5 OFFLINE   wmschultz

wmschultz

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,131 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2006

Posted 02 February 2007 - 03:49 PM

TV's don't have Dolby Digital Decoders in them. It would increase the cost of manufacturing.

Your audio receiver has one because that is what it is for. Decoding audio.

#6 OFFLINE   fancydancy

fancydancy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 129 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 02 February 2007 - 04:04 PM

Currently my TV has 2 HDMI cables connected, one from the HR20, one from the DVD player. I have Dolby Digital set to ON for both and I always have audio coming out my TV...


TV's don't have Dolby Digital Decoders in them. It would increase the cost of manufacturing.

Your audio receiver has one because that is what it is for. Decoding audio.



#7 OFFLINE   stiffi

stiffi

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2006

Posted 03 February 2007 - 08:28 AM

TV's don't have Dolby Digital Decoders in them. It would increase the cost of manufacturing.

Your audio receiver has one because that is what it is for. Decoding audio.


Okay, maybe I wasn't clear.

My 1st TV has no speakers. I'd be listening to the audio from the Audio receiver over the Optical connection.

The 2nd TV would just be RCA (Red and white) connected.

I realize the Dolby won't carry over the RCA cable, but if I leave the output to Dolby Digital, will it at least stay activated so I can listen over my Audio receiver, while simultaneously connected to the 2nd TV over RCA?

thanks again.

#8 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,629 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 03 February 2007 - 08:59 AM

Okay, maybe I wasn't clear.

My 1st TV has no speakers. I'd be listening to the audio from the Audio receiver over the Optical connection.

The 2nd TV would just be RCA (Red and white) connected.

I realize the Dolby won't carry over the RCA cable, but if I leave the output to Dolby Digital, will it at least stay activated so I can listen over my Audio receiver, while simultaneously connected to the 2nd TV over RCA?

thanks again.


Yes they will.. thats how I have my slingbox connected..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#9 OFFLINE   stiffi

stiffi

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2006

Posted 03 February 2007 - 09:16 AM

Yes they will.. thats how I have my slingbox connected..


thanks




spam firewall