Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Got round to "Native On" --


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Ed Campbell

Ed Campbell

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,290 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2006

Posted 04 February 2007 - 08:41 AM

-- in SD and what a difference!

I'd fiddled with Native On a few times since getting the HR20; but, all of those brief experiences were focussed on HD. I was put off by the extension of what already is an eternal wait for channels to switch and didn't see anything special about the picture -- in HD.

Last night, after wandering into a thread with some discussion on the topic, I realized I hadn't checked to see if it made a difference in SD. So, I turned off 480i as an option on the HR20 > switched to Native On > and went and looked at a couple of my favorite SD channels notorious for a muddy image: Fox Soccer Channel, 613 and CCTV9, 455.

A very pleasant surprise. Both channels have increased clarity, depth of color. One of the happiest little tips I've acquired from the crew here.

Tech side: HR20 > HDMI > Samsung HLP4663W.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 04 February 2007 - 08:50 AM

Yep same thing I have.. I run 480p (tv doesn't like 480i) and 720p (highest for my tv) sd stuff looks great...

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#3 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 04 February 2007 - 09:00 AM

Yep. I keep Native set to OFF but have 480i and 1080i as options on the HR20. If I happen to be viewing an SD program and I want my TV to do it's "magic" on the signal then I'll just hit the format button on the remote to switch it to 480i.

#4 OFFLINE   Webini

Webini

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Feb 03, 2007

Posted 04 February 2007 - 09:02 AM

What is the exact procedure to remove resolutions on the HR20? I can't seem to find it. :(

#5 OFFLINE   edmartin

edmartin

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 149 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2006

Posted 04 February 2007 - 09:09 AM

Huge difference for me, too. With native off & locked to either 720 or 1080, my Sony is almost unwatchable on SD channels. But as long as I leave 480, 720 & 1080 on and native on the clarity is fantastic. My only lagging issue is that the menus on HD channels (720 and 1080) are much fuzzier than they are on the 480's.

#6 OFFLINE   edmartin

edmartin

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 149 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2006

Posted 04 February 2007 - 09:10 AM

What is the exact procedure to remove resolutions on the HR20? I can't seem to find it. :(


Menu/settings/setup/TV type/green button to go to TV Resolutions tab.

#7 OFFLINE   jfm

jfm

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 191 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2006

Posted 04 February 2007 - 09:34 AM

-- in SD and what a difference!

So, I turned off 480i as an option on the HR20 > switched to Native On > and went and looked at a couple of my favorite SD channels notorious for a muddy image: Fox Soccer Channel, 613 and CCTV9, 455.

Tech side: HR20 > Samsung HLP4663W.


Isn't SD sent in 480i? Why do you turn it off?

I too have been in Native Off for channel switching time reasons, but will now experiment with Native On, but don't know why to not select 480i as output option.
John
FR: HR20-700, Sony KDS-60A2000
LR: R10; Toshiba 27A51
Dish: Slimline AU9 5-LNB

#8 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,524 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 04 February 2007 - 10:07 AM

Isn't SD sent in 480i? Why do you turn it off?

I too have been in Native Off for channel switching time reasons, but will now experiment with Native On, but don't know why to not select 480i as output option.


Some HDTV's cannot accept 480i over HDMI connections, so use 480p by necessity.

#9 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 04 February 2007 - 12:35 PM

See the Tips and Tricks link below for help with Native Mode and much more.

Also, if you have not seen the HR20 FAQ, take a look. It is now up to 40 key links.

- Craig

#10 OFFLINE   WolfpackSully

WolfpackSully

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 113 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 04 February 2007 - 01:10 PM

I have all resolutions selected and native on. I assume that this allows my TV to improve the picture instead of the HR20. My TV sends everything out as 1080p. As long as I can handle to resolution change/delay, I belive my picture is optimal. Thoughts?

Thanks!
Sully

PS Currently using component, but about ready to change to HDMI.
HR20 & H20
Sony KDS50A2000




Protected By... spam firewall...And...