Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

This freaking thing is killin' me!!!!!HELP!


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Kimmer

Kimmer

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Dec 05, 2006

Posted 08 February 2007 - 07:31 AM

I have the BSOD or BSB or total failure of something (ME?) Screen is black - it came on out of standby and when I changed channel to an OTA local channel through the box I think. I can hear it but cannot change the channel. I have RBR and unplugged for a few minutes. What the heck is happening??????????? Can this get anymore annoying. I feel bad for the people (and I'm sure there are plenty) who don't know about this forum - I feel bad for us and we know about it.

I think it is great that D* feels (lets) us be testers but give me a break - we are paying for a service that is tooo damn unpredictable - well the HR20 is anyway. They should be paying their customers!!!!!

I go through long periods of no problems and then a problem such as this and missed recordings for a while - doesn't seem to be related to any version!

I'm soooooo aggravated! Can you tell???????? Sorry for the rant and thank you!!!!!!!

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   The Phantom Ghost

The Phantom Ghost

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 110 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2006

Posted 08 February 2007 - 07:38 AM

Are you sure that the TV is on the right input? Also, are you using HDMI? If so, try components. If I understand, you don't get the channel banner or anything right?

#3 OFFLINE   Kimmer

Kimmer

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Dec 05, 2006

Posted 08 February 2007 - 07:49 AM

I am using component not HDMI - and I had everything banner and all until I changed the channel.:nono2: Maybe I will shut if off and come back later and everything will be okay - wishful thinking???????????????????

#4 OFFLINE   jal

jal

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 761 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2005

Posted 08 February 2007 - 07:51 AM

Kimmer, I agree with you. This situation is very frustrating. I keep having the same problems.

#5 OFFLINE   Buzz112

Buzz112

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 08 February 2007 - 09:22 AM

[quote name='Kimmer']I feel bad for the people (and I'm sure there are plenty) who don't know about this forum - I feel bad for us and we know about it.
QUOTE]

I was in a FED EX office the other day and spotted a guy with a DTV HR-20 boxed-up to be shipped. I asked if he was having problems, and he said it was black screen and no amount of RBR or plug-pulling would bring it back. D told him to ship the unit back for a replacement. He did NOT know about DBSTalk.com so I wrote the web site down for him and recommended it as a great place to trouble shoot problems or at least have a shoulder to cry on while waiting for the replacement unit.
Buzz
HR20-700
Westinghouse 42" 1080i LCD
HDMI

#6 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 08 February 2007 - 12:23 PM

1. Do you ever have Native Mode ON.
2. Do you use HDMI?
3. Do you have more than 30 Series Links?
4. Do you use Autorecord?
5. Do you ever turn your HR20 Off (Standby)?

In the HR20 Site Survey - Finding the Cures, no respondent who said NO to these five questions had replaced their HR20.

#7 OFFLINE   Que

Que

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 632 posts
Joined: Apr 15, 2006

Posted 09 February 2007 - 11:05 AM

I feel bad for the people (and I'm sure there are plenty) who don't know about this forum - I feel bad for us and we know about it.
QUOTE]

I was in a FED EX office the other day and spotted a guy with a DTV HR-20 boxed-up to be shipped. I asked if he was having problems, and he said it was black screen and no amount of RBR or plug-pulling would bring it back. D told him to ship the unit back for a replacement. He did NOT know about DBSTalk.com so I wrote the web site down for him and recommended it as a great place to trouble shoot problems or at least have a shoulder to cry on while waiting for the replacement unit.


I'm sure people have Google "hr20 problems" and it pointed them here.

A user list on this site can give you an idea. I'd also like to see a time line in that user list.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...