Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

What Build Is On The New HR20s


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
17 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,235 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 08 February 2007 - 08:04 AM

I'm scheduled to have my new HR20 installed on March 7.

Those of you that have had recent installs, what build is the HR20 coming with "out of the box"?
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   AlbertZeroK

AlbertZeroK

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 914 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2006

Posted 08 February 2007 - 08:19 AM

I'm scheduled to have my new HR20 installed on March 7.

Those of you that have had recent installs, what build is the HR20 coming with "out of the box"?


I'm guessing that would depend on when it was manufactured. But the box will upgrade it's self automatically to the new version anyways, so it doesn't really matter.

#3 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,691 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 08 February 2007 - 08:41 AM

I'm guessing that would depend on when it was manufactured. But the box will upgrade it's self automatically to the new version anyways, so it doesn't really matter.

As soon as they set it up, it will download the latest National version of the firmware...which is now 0120. There will most likely be at least 1-2 more updates to that version before you get your HR20 installed in March.

#4 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,235 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 08 February 2007 - 09:05 AM

As soon as they set it up, it will download the latest National version of the firmware...which is now 0120. There will most likely be at least 1-2 more updates to that version before you get your HR20 installed in March.

Trying to hit a moving target, eh?

Well, whatever the build I'm crossing my fingers and hoping for the best.

I'm having them install the 5LNB dish and connecting just the HR20 to it. I'm leaving my other Dual LNB dish, 3x8 multiswitch and cabling in place for my other receivers.
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#5 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,691 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 08 February 2007 - 09:39 AM

Well, whatever the build I'm crossing my fingers and hoping for the best.

I'm having them install the 5LNB dish and connecting just the HR20 to it. I'm leaving my other Dual LNB dish, 3x8 multiswitch and cabling in place for my other receivers.

You'll get the latest and greatest at that time...should be the greatest to date.

The reported flaws continue to diminish over time, so you should be pretty optimistic.

Your 5LNB new dish will use a new (6X8) multiswitch, which can also be used with your other existing equipment. There should be no reason to keep the old dish either. I have that particular setup for 2 HR20's, 1 H20 (non DVR), and 1 non HD receiver at this time.

#6 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,235 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 08 February 2007 - 09:43 AM

You'll get the latest and greatest at that time...should be the greatest to date.

The reported flaws continue to diminish over time, so you should be pretty optimistic.

Your 5LNB new dish will use a new (6X8) multiswitch, which can also be used with your other existing equipment. There should be no reason to keep the old dish either. I have that particular setup for 2 HR20's, 1 H20 (non DVR), and 1 non HD receiver at this time.

My 3X8 is already maxed out. If I go to a 6X8 on the one dish, I'm short two feeds.

I currently have 4 SD boxes (4 tuners) and 2 R10 D-Tivos (4 more tuners). I don't plan to take anything out of service, I'm just adding to my existing service. When the HR20 goes in, one of the R10s goes to the master bedroom and the 420 in the master bedroom goes to one of the spare bedrooms. The addition of the HR20 gives me 10 tuners to feed. Anything with only 8 outputs doesn't meet my "new" needs, at least until FTM becomes available.

Probably excessive for just me and my wife, but excess is my middle name. :) I even have two more TVs hooked up with wireless Terk Leapfrog transmitter/receivers. Satellite TV on 8 TVs for two people.

Family Room---R10
Living Room---R10
Kitchen-------Hughes E11
Office--------Hughes E11
M. Bedroom---RCA 420
Spare Bdrm---RCA 420
Dining Rm-----Leapfrogged from Kitchen
Spare Bdrm---Leapfrogged from Kitchen

I'm a sick, sick man.
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#7 OFFLINE   k0rww

k0rww

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
  • LocationSt. Louis
Joined: Aug 20, 2006

Posted 08 February 2007 - 10:59 AM

HarleyD:

Have DirecTV install two WB68 multi-switches with you 5LNB installation.
Have the installer connect them together with four 1x2 splitters.
In this way you can drive 16 channels.
There's no fee for the added switch to service all of your receivers.

DirecTV MRV + VOD
Genie
(3) HR24

DirecTV since 6/98

Richard


#8 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,524 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 08 February 2007 - 11:02 AM

I'm scheduled to have my new HR20 installed on March 7.

Those of you that have had recent installs, what build is the HR20 coming with "out of the box"?


A unit from Best Buy picked up a few weeks ago came with 0xbe out of the box.

Upon install, a new unit should be upgraded to 0x120.

#9 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,235 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 08 February 2007 - 11:42 AM

HarleyD:

Have DirecTV install two WB68 multi-switches with you 5LNB installation.
Have the installer connect them together with four 1x2 splitters.
In this way you can drive 16 channels.
There's no fee for the added switch to service all of your receivers.

16 feeds?!

Master Bathroom, here I come!!:hurah:
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#10 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,767 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 08 February 2007 - 11:56 AM

16 feeds?!
Master Bathroom, here I come!!:hurah:

Another option would be to have D* install the Zinwell WB616 for your 16 outputs.
This is just the "big brother" to their WB68. :)
A.K.A VOS

#11 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,235 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 08 February 2007 - 11:59 AM

Another option would be to have D* install the Zinwell WB616 for your 16 outputs.
This is just the "big brother" to their WB68. :)

Posted Image


"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#12 OFFLINE   AlbertZeroK

AlbertZeroK

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 914 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2006

Posted 08 February 2007 - 12:04 PM

DirecTV will not install a WB616 for you. I spent a month trying... And called alot of people. They did however, give me a $300 credit to buy my own.

#13 OFFLINE   gashog301

gashog301

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 08 February 2007 - 01:00 PM

Just got one build date on it was 1-27-07 and can remember ver. but it was from 8-29-06. It downloaded 120 5 minutes after setup.

#14 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,828 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 08 February 2007 - 09:38 PM

I'm scheduled to have my new HR20 installed on March 7.

Those of you that have had recent installs, what build is the HR20 coming with "out of the box"?


I just picked up a 2nd HR20 tonight. It came with 0xbe installed on it with a manufacture date of 1/27/07.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#15 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,524 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 08 February 2007 - 09:57 PM

Just got one build date on it was 1-27-07 and can remember ver. but it was from 8-29-06. It downloaded 120 5 minutes after setup.


The system info will show you the original software version, BTW.

#16 OFFLINE   gashog301

gashog301

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 09 February 2007 - 06:03 AM

The system info will show you the original software version, BTW.



At work and could not look.;) But it was 0xbe.

#17 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,235 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 09 February 2007 - 09:47 AM

Well, if I can get them to install 2 WB68s using the Hi-Freq splitters or whatever, it they can feed all my tuners I'll let them take down the dual LNB dish.

Two dishes could make the trailer tip over in a high wind and I wouldn't want that. :grin:

Seriously, one of the main reasons I wanted to leave the Steren 3x8 in place was to diplex the OTA antenna to the various receivers. I was even going to leave one of those feeds to the family room in place just to use the OTA half of the diplexed signal to the OTA tuner on the HR20.

But I guess if they can get all my STBs on new wide-band multi switches I'll just break down and run new cable from the antenna to the HR20 and leave it as the only room with OTA...at least for now.

You see, I'm not only sick...I'm lazy...and cheap...and grumpy...and dopey...and Doc... :P
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#18 OFFLINE   sraider

sraider

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 146 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2006

Posted 09 February 2007 - 10:10 AM

Mine was built middle of Jan and it was oxbe




Protected By... spam firewall...And...