Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Switching to HD- silly question


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
17 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   texas arsenal

texas arsenal

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2007

Posted 09 February 2007 - 07:44 AM

Im having the HR20 installed in early March. I have one silly question.


With the HR20 will I still need an OTA to pick up local HD content?


Im in the DFW area and D* offers my locals in HD.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   DonCorleone

DonCorleone

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 869 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2006

Posted 09 February 2007 - 07:56 AM

Im having the HR20 installed in early March. I have one silly question.


With the HR20 will I still need an OTA to pick up local HD content?


Im in the DFW area and D* offers my locals in HD.


If they offer locals in your area, then don't need the OTA, no. Some have commented that the clarity is better on OTA. If you're close enough to the signal to get OTA with a small antenna, it might be worth it to try out (and it's a nice backup plan if the satellite signal goes out). But, no, you don't need OTA.
DirecTV since 2001, NFLST, EI, and as of 2/8/07, new AU-9 with 2 HR20-700S (1 HDMI, 1 component/RCA), 6X8 multiswitch, and Samsung LNS3252D 32" LCD...eSata Seagate 750GB...12/30/07 new HR20-700S component connected to Phillips 42PFL5332D 42" LCD and HDMI to a little 20" Dynex LCD

#3 OFFLINE   texas arsenal

texas arsenal

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2007

Posted 09 February 2007 - 08:08 AM

If they offer locals in your area, then don't need the OTA, no. Some have commented that the clarity is better on OTA. If you're close enough to the signal to get OTA with a small antenna, it might be worth it to try out (and it's a nice backup plan if the satellite signal goes out). But, no, you don't need OTA.


Thank you Godfather :)

#4 OFFLINE   texas arsenal

texas arsenal

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2007

Posted 09 February 2007 - 08:33 AM

Another question-

Im watching an out of market game via RSN or NHL Centre Ice and they say this is in HD. Say Fox Sports Pittsburgh for example, would I get this in HD?

#5 OFFLINE   soccergrunt

soccergrunt

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 09 February 2007 - 09:10 AM

If they offer locals in your area, then don't need the OTA, no. Some have commented that the clarity is better on OTA. If you're close enough to the signal to get OTA with a small antenna, it might be worth it to try out (and it's a nice backup plan if the satellite signal goes out). But, no, you don't need OTA.


One thing to keep in mind is that you will need OTA if you want to receive the local sub-channels. I use OTA in Indy to pick up the one network affiliate not carried by D* and a few local sub-channels (24hr weather radar and 24 local news).

#6 OFFLINE   texas arsenal

texas arsenal

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2007

Posted 09 February 2007 - 09:16 AM

But I could get those is SD right?

MLB Extra Innings


#7 OFFLINE   DonCorleone

DonCorleone

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 869 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2006

Posted 09 February 2007 - 09:16 AM

Good point, soccergrunt...I meant to add that, but forgot...thanks for the catch.

As for the HD RSN question, I don't know much about NHL, but for MLB it's only the select games they pick (on those channels you mentioned) for that night, so it's relatively random. I think it's the same for NHL, but I'm really not sure.
DirecTV since 2001, NFLST, EI, and as of 2/8/07, new AU-9 with 2 HR20-700S (1 HDMI, 1 component/RCA), 6X8 multiswitch, and Samsung LNS3252D 32" LCD...eSata Seagate 750GB...12/30/07 new HR20-700S component connected to Phillips 42PFL5332D 42" LCD and HDMI to a little 20" Dynex LCD

#8 OFFLINE   soccergrunt

soccergrunt

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 09 February 2007 - 09:30 AM

But I could get those is SD right?


Texas,
If you are referring to the sub-channels, you will receive them in SD, but they are not broadcast by D*. You can pick them up via OTA directly by your digital tuner in the TV or you can hook up OTA to the HR-20 and have them built right into the guide so you do not have to switch to the TV tuner.

#9 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,235 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 09 February 2007 - 10:03 AM

The other thing to remember is that D* only offers the "Big 4" networks in MPEG-4 in most markets (ABC, CBS, FOX & NBC).

If you have the CW, MyNetwork, PAX or any "unaffiliated" locals you will need OTA capability to get their digital signals.
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#10 OFFLINE   SFS97

SFS97

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 09 February 2007 - 10:06 AM

If you have Center Ice, you will be able to get the out of market HD game on your unit.
HR20-700
HR21-700
H20-100

#11 OFFLINE   texas arsenal

texas arsenal

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2007

Posted 09 February 2007 - 10:10 AM

If you have Center Ice, you will be able to get the out of market HD game on your unit.


AWESOME!

MLB Extra Innings


#12 OFFLINE   SFS97

SFS97

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 09 February 2007 - 10:13 AM

Also, You will get KDFW Fox 4, KXAS NBC 5, WFAA ABC 8 (W/HD news), KTVT CBS 11 and KDFI MY 27 digital feeds from D*

You will not get KDAF CW33, KERA PBS 13 or KTXA 21 in digital format. You would need OTA for these at this time.
HR20-700
HR21-700
H20-100

#13 OFFLINE   mcbeevee

mcbeevee

    97% Complete

  • Registered
  • 1,281 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 09 February 2007 - 10:28 AM

Im having the HR20 installed in early March. I have one silly question.
With the HR20 will I still need an OTA to pick up local HD content?
Im in the DFW area and D* offers my locals in HD.

OTA reception is really nice when a thunderstorm comes through and wipes out my sat signal! :)

#14 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 09 February 2007 - 10:37 AM

If you have Center Ice, you will be able to get the out of market HD game on your unit.


Only if it's been selected to be on 95. They pick and choose various NHL and NBA games each week to be on 95. No guarantees of anything.

Like last night the Red Wings and Blues were on 95 in HD but I couldn't get it because they used the FSN-Midwest feed and that's not my local RSN. But if you have Center Ice you *should* be able to get that game.

#15 OFFLINE   texas arsenal

texas arsenal

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2007

Posted 09 February 2007 - 10:39 AM

Also, You will get KDFW Fox 4, KXAS NBC 5, WFAA ABC 8 (W/HD news), KTVT CBS 11 and KDFI MY 27 digital feeds from D*

You will not get KDAF CW33, KERA PBS 13 or KTXA 21 in digital format. You would need OTA for these at this time.


Thank you for the info. 27 in HD = Stars :)

MLB Extra Innings


#16 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,235 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 09 February 2007 - 10:45 AM

The bummer is that if you're like me (well being like me is a bummer in and of itself...however, I digress) the bummer is that I have always diplexed my OTA signal over the same RG6 run as the satellite signal.

With the 5 LNB wideband dish that is needed for the HR20 you cannot diplex your OTA signal over the same cable.

The 250-750 MHz portion of the frequency spectrum where OTA signals reside is now occupied by the Ka Lo-Band signals from the 99 and 103 satellites with the new dish.

You have to make a dedicated cable run from the antenna to the HR20, or any of your other set top boxes in order to have an OTA signal available once you switch to the 5 LNB dish.
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#17 OFFLINE   SFS97

SFS97

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2006

Posted 09 February 2007 - 11:18 AM

Thank you for the info. 27 in HD = Stars :)


No, there have not been any Stars games broadcast in HD on 27, but the pq is much better than watching a stretched anolog signal. Hopefully in the future though.
HR20-700
HR21-700
H20-100

#18 OFFLINE   westernamerican

westernamerican

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 143 posts
Joined: Dec 14, 2006

Posted 09 February 2007 - 02:54 PM

OTA is good if you like the added -2, -3 broadcasts of the locals in DFW area!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...