Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Dual Live Buffers: How you would like to see them implemented?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
63 replies to this topic

Poll: How would you like to see DLBs implemented? (301 member(s) have cast votes)

How would you like to see DLBs implemented?

  1. Two 30-minute buffers is enough for me. (62 votes [20.60%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 20.60%

  2. Two 45-minute buffers is good enough and won't use more recording space. (143 votes [47.51%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 47.51%

  3. Two 90-minute buffers. I don't want to give up the 90 minutes I'm used to. (70 votes [23.26%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 23.26%

  4. Two 120-minute buffers! Who cares about recording space? (6 votes [1.99%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 1.99%

  5. I do not want DLBs enabled on my HR20. (12 votes [3.99%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 3.99%

  6. Other (explain in a reply to this thread) (8 votes [2.66%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 2.66%

Vote

#51 OFFLINE   nasadave

nasadave

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 11 February 2007 - 02:10 PM

I vote other...here is my wild idea...

Make the DLB configurable.

Let me pick how much disk space to allocate to the DLBs...those that want 5 hours can get it, and those that want 15 min can get it also. It would not be difficult to do this, and they could make it default to 30 minutes or something for those that don't care.

Instead of trying to copy the Tivo lets do one better! :D

Maybe even make it just use whatever space is available, and fill'er up for hours... if we then decide to record something, the space can be reclaimed, and treated like the old Tivo suggestions recordings were.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   jheda

jheda

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 1,363 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 11 February 2007 - 05:34 PM

As the title says: Has anyone called Direct TV customer service, and asked if we will be getting Dual Buffers via a software download on the HR 20's?

I would love to have this feature. I miss having it like I did on my Tivo Series 2 DVR.


:confused:


Welcome

pls vote on the poll of features desired ... ill try to find the link for you....or jay, sockmonkey help me; we want to keep the DLB buzz going!////

Called the HR20 Wish List Survey

JHEDA

we miss you EARL

[SIZE="2"]Hr-24
Hr21-700 
Sony kds60a2000 yamaha 750 DD5.1 via components
Samsung DVD player via hdmi..r10 in playroom:)


#53 OFFLINE   Jotas

Jotas

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2006

Posted 11 February 2007 - 05:45 PM

30 or 45 mins would suffice as long as I could flip back and forth like I can with my HR10-250.

#54 OFFLINE   DonCorleone

DonCorleone

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 869 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2006

Posted 11 February 2007 - 05:48 PM

Not to be a naysayer here, but what's the big deal about DLB? I mean, you just have to hit record on the 2 channels and that's esentially DLB, right? I don't know...of all the things I want them focusing on, it's not DLB.
DirecTV since 2001, NFLST, EI, and as of 2/8/07, new AU-9 with 2 HR20-700S (1 HDMI, 1 component/RCA), 6X8 multiswitch, and Samsung LNS3252D 32" LCD...eSata Seagate 750GB...12/30/07 new HR20-700S component connected to Phillips 42PFL5332D 42" LCD and HDMI to a little 20" Dynex LCD

#55 OFFLINE   CliffV

CliffV

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 259 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2006

Posted 11 February 2007 - 07:34 PM

I vote other...here is my wild idea...

Make the DLB configurable.

Let me pick how much disk space to allocate to the DLBs.


Actually, I'd hate to see yet another thing to configure. How about this? Always support a 30 minute buffer. But if there is additional hard drive space, use more up to some maximum (like an hour per channel).

Of course, that might not help folks who keep their HD full.

#56 OFFLINE   SockMonkey

SockMonkey

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 937 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2006

Posted 11 February 2007 - 09:05 PM

Not to be a naysayer here, but what's the big deal about DLB? I mean, you just have to hit record on the 2 channels and that's esentially DLB, right? I don't know...of all the things I want them focusing on, it's not DLB.


One of the big advantages that I see is that usually with DLBs (at least the way the Tivo boxes worked) if you accidentally changed the channel while watching a show behind real time, you wouldn't lose the buffer and therefore miss part of the show. With the HR20, you will.

I frequently watch TV behind. I have 2 small kids and for that reason, I usually have to pause or rewind to catch what I missed when I had to tend to their needs.

It's always great to be changing a diaper or something and find the 2 year old holding the remote and pressing buttons. Usually I notice this when I hear the audio change and therefore my buffer is already lost. On a Tivo unit, I could just hit "previous" and be right back where I was.

This is just one example of where DLBs come into play. Another is watching two sporting events (football games) at once. You can switch back and forth. I don't want to have to record every show I watch in preparation for wanting to switch back and forth. If I'm desperate, I'll do that... but come on, that's just not the way the buffers were intended to be used. Plus, then I have to keep up with deleting shows I didn't really want to record off of my playlist and be careful not to delete the ones I did want to record and haven't yet watched. Too much work!

Before any of you who don't have small kids tell me to put the remote somewhere where they can't get to it... well, all I have to say is, you don't have small kids... you wouldn't understand. :D

Bob

Signal: AU9 Slimline Dish/SWM-8/OTA

Receivers: HR22NC-100 w/AM-21 [CE:0x03A1] / HR20-700 [CE:0x03A8] / HR22-100 [CE:0x03A1]

See my full setup here.


#57 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,303 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 11 February 2007 - 09:28 PM

Nope, you've got that wrong, at least on the R10 DirecTivo.

Most of the time if you change channels on a tuner, you are changing the channel on the same tuner and you lose your buffer. Your buffer on the other tuner is retained.

Unless you happen to change channels to what the other tuner is tuned to, or if you press the "live TV button" you will lose your buffer on the program you were watching.

My dogs do that to my R10 all the time by stepping on the remote lying on the couch. It infuriates my wife because she is ususally several minutes behind in the buffer from instant-replaying unitelligible dialogue several times until she figures out what they are saying. Then she loses that chunk of the program when the channel changes.

When that channel gets changed, the buffer on what you were watching goes.
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#58 OFFLINE   SockMonkey

SockMonkey

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 937 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2006

Posted 11 February 2007 - 10:01 PM

Nope, you've got that wrong, at least on the R10 DirecTivo.

Sorry, you're right... now that I am rethinking that, I am wrong. I have been working on installing Vista on my computer all day long and my brain is fried. Sorry guys.

I guess I was thinking... forget it, I don't know what I was thinking. It's been a while since I've used a Tivo. :eek2:

I still want my DLBs! :D
Bob

Signal: AU9 Slimline Dish/SWM-8/OTA

Receivers: HR22NC-100 w/AM-21 [CE:0x03A1] / HR20-700 [CE:0x03A8] / HR22-100 [CE:0x03A1]

See my full setup here.


#59 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,303 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 12 February 2007 - 08:22 AM

I've had those days. :lol:

They are the inevitable result of one of seven conditions... Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, etc.

I still want my DLBs.
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#60 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 12 February 2007 - 08:33 AM

Welcome

pls vote on the poll of features desired ... ill try to find the link for you....or jay, sockmonkey help me; we want to keep the DLB buzz going!////

Called the HR20 Wish List Survey


Yes, you can voice your opinion on the HR20 Wish List Survey
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#61 OFFLINE   jsg712

jsg712

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2007

Posted 12 February 2007 - 09:03 AM

Is there a possibility that the live Dual Buffer capability is going to be coming out in an upcoming software update? To me, not having this capability was the biggest disappointment in upgrading to the HR20. I'm hoping that all of this discussion about live Dual Buffers means this capability will soon be included in an update.

#62 OFFLINE   SockMonkey

SockMonkey

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 937 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2006

Posted 12 February 2007 - 09:21 AM

Is there a possibility that the live Dual Buffer capability is going to be coming out in an upcoming software update?

Yes, there is a possibility. There's also a possibility that it will never be added. However, if I had to put money on it, I'd bet that we'll see it, but only after the HR20 is a very stable box and all the recording/gui problems are worked out.

Until then, I'm waiting patiently (well, sort of). :lol:

:welcome_s
Bob

Signal: AU9 Slimline Dish/SWM-8/OTA

Receivers: HR22NC-100 w/AM-21 [CE:0x03A1] / HR20-700 [CE:0x03A8] / HR22-100 [CE:0x03A1]

See my full setup here.


#63 OFFLINE   LI-SVT

LI-SVT

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 649 posts
Joined: May 18, 2006

Posted 12 February 2007 - 09:45 AM

I would like a menu option for one single 90min buffer or two 30min buffers. This way I can change it from time to time to suit my viewing needs.

Ultimate plus movie channels

One Genie

Two HR21P


#64 OFFLINE   richlife

richlife

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,060 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2006

Posted 12 February 2007 - 09:16 PM

I didn't vote that way (2 45s ideally), but regardless of how it looks, I WANT MY D-L-B!! :icon_da: :beatdeadhorse: :icon_da:

DLB DLB DLB
:joy: :joy: :joy:

(Did you ever notice that those bouncing smilies are saying DLB joy DLB joy DLB joy? :lol: :lol:
Rich Beaudry
UNC Tar Heel '69, '75
Woodworker, grandfather, DirecTV 1994
Whole-Home Slimline w/ SWM.
A) HR20-700: NR 4aa; HDMI Audio: HDMI, TOSLINK. Res-1080i; Native- On; eSata-No; Remote-RF (2).
B) HR23-700: NR 4aa; Video&Audio HDMI. Res.-720p; Native-On; Network-No; eSata-No; Remote-IR.
C) H23-600: NR 0440; HDMI. Res.-1080p; Native-On; eSata-No; Remote-IR.
TVs: A) Sony 50" Rear Proj KDS50A2000 & VIZIO 22" LCD M220VA; B) Sony 37" Rear Proj KDF37H1000; C) Toshiba 40" LCD 40FT1U




Protected By... spam firewall...And...