Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Usability Questions


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   heiber

heiber

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 72 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2007

Posted 09 February 2007 - 10:12 AM

I've now had my receiver for about two weeks and am for the most part pleased, however I have a couple of questions:

1. I tried to setup the remote for RF control a couple of times, but it was unresponsive and I had to reset using the receiver. Is there any reason this did not work?

2. Is there a way to easily go to the recording options screen when watching a show? Sometimes when I come across a show in progress, I want to go to the recording options screen and see future showings or setup a season pass – like I can do with my Directivo.

3. Is there a way to see future shows that will not be recorded? With Tivo, I can go into the To Do and look at the recording history to see shows that will not record. This is especially useful to identify future conflicts that I may not be aware of and want to change.

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 09 February 2007 - 10:15 AM

1) Other then the RF setting not "taking" when you program the remote.... I would just try it again... one of my HR20's was stubborn

2) INFO (maybe twice to get the fulld details), hit the SELECT button, and it will take you to the full program details, which will have the record options. You can also hit R once to record THAT episode, or hit it TWICE to set it up as a SERIES LINK (Season Pass)... that will work for a live broadcast. That method will use your default settings

3) Conflicts will appear in the ToDo List and the History... Quick way to both: LIST; Yellow Button to the ToDo list... and then History is an option on the side menu.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 09 February 2007 - 11:09 AM

Check out the Tips & Tricks & the HR20 FAQ links below for over 100 undocumented tips.

- Craig




Protected By... spam firewall...And...