Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR250 use *without* satellite connection


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mediawise

mediawise

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 11 February 2007 - 10:11 PM

It may sound strange, but as an RVer I am occasionally without clear view of a satellite. In this case I would like to watch previously recorded programs on my Direct HR250 HD receiver. This was easy to do with the earlier TiVo version, but this new receiver seems to always want a satellite input before it will allow anything other than set up.

After many minutes of waiting, I can get a program listing, but the receiver freezes when I press play.

I am currently without the manual (I am on the road), so I cannot look up this info - so any help would be appreciated.

Ken, the RV Navigator

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,637 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 11 February 2007 - 10:21 PM

It may sound strange, but as an RVer I am occasionally without clear view of a satellite. In this case I would like to watch previously recorded programs on my Direct HR250 HD receiver. This was easy to do with the earlier TiVo version, but this new receiver seems to always want a satellite input before it will allow anything other than set up.

After many minutes of waiting, I can get a program listing, but the receiver freezes when I press play.

I am currently without the manual (I am on the road), so I cannot look up this info - so any help would be appreciated.

Ken, the RV Navigator

The HR-20 needs the SAT connection, but if you boot it up with a connection & leave the power on [UPS?] you can lose the SAT connection & it will still work for playing recordings..
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   toy4two

toy4two

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 137 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 12 February 2007 - 12:35 AM

The HR-20 needs the SAT connection, but if you boot it up with a connection & leave the power on [UPS?] you can lose the SAT connection & it will still work for playing recordings..


I regularily use my receivers at tail gates before football games. Last time I brought it I forgot my dish but we figured we would just watch some highlights I recorded.

Big fat no. The thing is useless without a constant sat connection, which is really stupid for RV use. :nono2:

I'm still trying to figure out how to get it to pull in my free over the air stations from Mexico I used to get, now it needs zip codes ?? :nono:

Still needs lots of refinement.

#4 OFFLINE   rminsk

rminsk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 205 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2006

Posted 12 February 2007 - 12:47 AM

The HR10-250 does not need a satellite connection. It would be better to ask your question at http://www.tivocommu...isplay.php?f=36

#5 OFFLINE   Richi

Richi

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Sep 13, 2006

Posted 12 February 2007 - 10:55 AM

I regularily use my receivers at tail gates before football games. Last time I brought it I forgot my dish but we figured we would just watch some highlights I recorded.

Big fat no. The thing is useless without a constant sat connection, which is really stupid for RV use. :nono2:

I'm still trying to figure out how to get it to pull in my free over the air stations from Mexico I used to get, now it needs zip codes ?? :nono:

Still needs lots of refinement.


Toy.. on HR10-250 do you have software version 3.2 or 6.3b? I am still on 3.2 and have NO problem picking and recording the HD stations from Mexico.. I HOPE AND PRAY that the powers that be INCLUDE scanning as opposed to zip code selection of the local OTA as now present on the HR20.:( :(

#6 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 12 February 2007 - 10:59 AM

I am going to close this thread, until the OP contacts me (via PM).
To let me know if he ment the HR10-250 or the HR20

So it can be put in the appropriate place.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV




spam firewall