Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

RF Questions


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   faspina

faspina

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 147 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 12 February 2007 - 10:23 AM

[Cross posted to R15 forums]

I have a HR20 the the family room

I have a r15 downstairs

I can the video feed to my computers TV in my office card by various means which I won't go into here.

But I'd like to control both of them via a 3rd RF remote not yet purchased.

Both the current remotes, used in the respective rooms are set to infrared. The HR20, is control by putting the switch to DTV position. The R15 is controlled by putting the switch in AV1 position.

Can I get a 3rd remote, set both device to RF and control each of them with the 3rd remote set to RF. Will the other two remotes in each room sepectivey need to be set to RF as well?

I guess my questions

1. Can you have a a Hr20 or r15 work in both IR and RF remote modes
2. Does the RF mode work with the remote set to AV1 to control a r15.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 12 February 2007 - 10:24 AM

1) Only the R15 will work in both RF and IR mode (As RF is not officially supported on the R15)

2) No, RF only works on the DirecTV setting.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,359 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 February 2007 - 10:30 AM

No, RF only works on the DirecTV setting.

Maybe I don't get this but: I have my "twins" [HR-20s] controlled by RF with 1- DirecTV & 2- AV2 from the same remote.
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 12 February 2007 - 10:42 AM

Maybe I don't get this but: I have my "twins" [HR-20s] controlled by RF with 1- DirecTV & 2- AV2 from the same remote.


Are you sure that the AV2 is working via RF?
If so... then thanks for the correction...
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#5 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,747 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 12 February 2007 - 10:45 AM

DTV, av1 or av2 devices can be set to RF, on a RF remote.
aka Tivoburkee

#6 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 12 February 2007 - 10:47 AM

DTV, av1 or av2 devices can be set to RF, on a RF remote.


Well then... guess you can learn something every day.

Thanks for the correction
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#7 OFFLINE   richlife

richlife

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,060 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2006

Posted 12 February 2007 - 09:07 PM

My question remains: If you use RF mode, does your HR20 work reliably? RF was the first function I discontinued use on when my HR20 went all to hell and I almost replaced it. After the replacement call, I changed back to IR, most of the problems went away, and I cancelled the replacement. Been getting better ever since, but with IR all the way.

Edit: I had hoped the User Survey would address this, but haven't seen anything.
Rich Beaudry
UNC Tar Heel '69, '75
Woodworker, grandfather, DirecTV 1994
Whole-Home Slimline w/ SWM.
A) HR20-700: NR 4aa; HDMI Audio: HDMI, TOSLINK. Res-1080i; Native- On; eSata-No; Remote-RF (2).
B) HR23-700: NR 4aa; Video&Audio HDMI. Res.-720p; Native-On; Network-No; eSata-No; Remote-IR.
C) H23-600: NR 0440; HDMI. Res.-1080p; Native-On; eSata-No; Remote-IR.
TVs: A) Sony 50" Rear Proj KDS50A2000 & VIZIO 22" LCD M220VA; B) Sony 37" Rear Proj KDF37H1000; C) Toshiba 40" LCD 40FT1U

#8 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,359 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 12 February 2007 - 09:13 PM

My question remains: If you use RF mode, does your HR20 work reliably? RF was the first function I discontinued use on when my HR20 went all to hell and I almost replaced it. After the replacement call, I changed back to IR, most of the problems went away, and I cancelled the replacement. Been getting better ever since, but with IR all the way.
Edit: I had hoped the User Survey would address this, but haven't seen anything.

I use RF & haven't seen any increase in problems. My coffee table makes IR a pain.
A.K.A VOS

#9 OFFLINE   SuperTech1

SuperTech1

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 545 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2007

Posted 12 February 2007 - 09:19 PM

My question remains: If you use RF mode, does your HR20 work reliably? RF was the first function I discontinued use on when my HR20 went all to hell and I almost replaced it. After the replacement call, I changed back to IR, most of the problems went away, and I cancelled the replacement. Been getting better ever since, but with IR all the way.

Edit: I had hoped the User Survey would address this, but haven't seen anything.


I use IR exclusively as well. I was a little surprised to see it omitted from the survey. I believe it could be considered a risk factor as well. I've posted before that I understand some use RF with no problems, but if you're trying to troubleshoot elusive problems the more variables you can eliminate the better.
"If I can't fix it, it ain't broke"
Sony KDS-60A2020 SXRD Mitsubishi WS-55819
5LNB AU9 Dish Directv HR20-700 DVR - Networked

HR21-100 - Networked
Linksys WRT350N Router Linksys WGA54G


#10 OFFLINE   richlife

richlife

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,060 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2006

Posted 12 February 2007 - 09:26 PM

I use IR exclusively as well. I was a little surprised to see it omitted from the survey. I believe it could be considered a risk factor as well. I've posted before that I understand some use RF with no problems, but if you're trying to troubleshoot elusive problems the more variables you can eliminate the better.


We're thinking exactly alike, SuperTech1.
Rich Beaudry
UNC Tar Heel '69, '75
Woodworker, grandfather, DirecTV 1994
Whole-Home Slimline w/ SWM.
A) HR20-700: NR 4aa; HDMI Audio: HDMI, TOSLINK. Res-1080i; Native- On; eSata-No; Remote-RF (2).
B) HR23-700: NR 4aa; Video&Audio HDMI. Res.-720p; Native-On; Network-No; eSata-No; Remote-IR.
C) H23-600: NR 0440; HDMI. Res.-1080p; Native-On; eSata-No; Remote-IR.
TVs: A) Sony 50" Rear Proj KDS50A2000 & VIZIO 22" LCD M220VA; B) Sony 37" Rear Proj KDF37H1000; C) Toshiba 40" LCD 40FT1U




spam firewall