Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

ViP622 Install tomorrow


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pcstuff

pcstuff

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 55 posts
Joined: Jan 22, 2007

Posted 06 March 2007 - 10:36 AM

Wow, E* impresses me again. I finally jumped on their current Dish-It-Up promotion and called them this morning, same kind of friendly, helpful and knowledgeable person like I spoke with a week ago AND she was able to schedule the install for tomorrow morning! Woohooo!

Perfect timing, since my 42" Panny is being delivered today! :D :D :D

So here is my question:

Is there anything I should be watching/asking for while the installer is at my house? Any possible trouble/problem areas that can be addressed while he is here?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,928 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 06 March 2007 - 10:40 AM

Since you were pretty noncommittal in your location information, I can only recommend that they verify the signals from 129 before they leave.

I'm assuming that this will be your first HD receiver.

#3 OFFLINE   Steve H

Steve H

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 625 posts
Joined: May 15, 2006

Posted 06 March 2007 - 10:41 AM

Are you going to use HDMI or componet ? You might need to get a HDMI cable if that is the way you are going?
Samsung 55" LED
Yamaha RX-V565
Bose Acoustimass 6
Hopper & 1 Joey

Location - Mt. WhereinthehellamI? So. Utah

#4 OFFLINE   zwinflame

zwinflame

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 06 March 2007 - 10:42 AM

Good Luck. Not trying to be pessimistic here but the initial conversations with the rep are the best. Wait till the installer comes.

Few things to watch out for when the installer is there:
* He will try to run two wires with a DP34 when indeed with a DP44 he can do it with one wire with a separator. Running an additional wire is cheaper for the install however messes up your home.

* Ensure he installs the dish where you want him.

* If combining the cable internet and the dish wire. Ask him for a diplexer to combine the signals. Its the holland blue one with DPD2 I believe.

Thats it I guess.

#5 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,928 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 06 March 2007 - 10:48 AM

Few things to watch out for when the installer is there:
* He will try to run two wires with a DP34 when indeed with a DP44 he can do it with one wire with a separator. Running an additional wire is cheaper for the install however messes up your home.

This might be a reasonable caution if they were still using DP compatible dishes, but they aren't. Welcome to the world of the Dish 1000.2 with its built-in DPP 4x3 switch.

It is possible to adapt a Dish1000.2 to use DP technology, but why?

I'm assuming that the OP lives in a Dish1000 coverage area and that they don't have more than two receivers already.

#6 OFFLINE   pcstuff

pcstuff

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 55 posts
Joined: Jan 22, 2007

Posted 06 March 2007 - 12:03 PM

SouthEast Atlanta region, if that helps.

Yes, my first HD receiver, but not my first Dish DVR. I will keep my 625 for the downstairs TV and the 622 will only feed the upstairs TV, while the 625 will still feed into it, too.

#7 OFFLINE   pcstuff

pcstuff

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 55 posts
Joined: Jan 22, 2007

Posted 06 March 2007 - 01:44 PM

Since you were pretty noncommittal in your location information, I can only recommend that they verify the signals from 129 before they leave.

I'm assuming that this will be your first HD receiver.


What channels are coming through 129?

#8 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 06 March 2007 - 02:28 PM

Over half the regular HD channels, the Voom package, and Atlanta's HD locals.
See http://ekb.dbstalk.com/hdchan.htm or http://ekb.dbstalk.com/129list.htm
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#9 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 06 March 2007 - 09:32 PM

What channels are coming through 129?


Make sure Sat 129 Tp 4 is coming in strong. That's where your locals are.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...