Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

L4.01 For Thursday?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
91 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Mr.72

Mr.72

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 564 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2007

Posted 14 March 2007 - 01:56 PM

maybe the auto-tune-timer trick will save you some headache?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   rbonzer

rbonzer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 113 posts
Joined: May 13, 2002

Posted 14 March 2007 - 07:50 PM

Wouldn't you know it... We're heading on vacation for a week starting Saturday. Fingers crossed for a clean install and re-boot if/when it occurs. :rolleyes:


If I was you, I'd turn off auto update. Last thing I'd want would be a stuck DVR when you get back from vacation, and all your shows didn't record.

#28 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,192 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 14 March 2007 - 09:46 PM

Disabling auto update is not available on the 622s at this time.
Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#29 OFFLINE   diospyros

diospyros

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2005

Posted 14 March 2007 - 10:22 PM

That's awesome. Its at least in my top 1111 of all time.



Ummm, isn't 1111 the 100th network?

#30 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,331 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 14 March 2007 - 11:21 PM

Ummm, isn't 1111 the 100th network?


Last I checked, 1111=15

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#31 OFFLINE   Eagles

Eagles

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Topic Starter
  • Gold Members
  • 773 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2003

Posted 15 March 2007 - 05:00 AM

When does Dish usually spool their software? I seem to remember it happening in the early morning hours. Did they cancel the release? Any thoughts.
EAGLES

#32 OFFLINE   jcord51

jcord51

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 198 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2003

Posted 15 March 2007 - 06:21 AM

It's Thursday.....Nada!

#33 OFFLINE   ChuckA

ChuckA

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,010 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2006

Posted 15 March 2007 - 07:01 AM

I thought it was always very late in the day of release, like in the early hours of the following day (i.e. Friday) when I received them in the past.
Receivers: ViP622 (dual mode), ViP722k (single mode), 311
Dish 1000
America's "Everything" Pack & HD
TV1: SONY 55" KDF-55WF655; HDMI & Components connections
OTA Antenna in attic
PocketDish AV700E

#34 OFFLINE   kikkenit2

kikkenit2

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 680 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2006

Posted 15 March 2007 - 07:09 AM

I waited for this release for months. Got sick of audio breakups and no HDMI. I just sent my 2 back and went over to the dark side. D* forever. Too late Dish!

#35 OFFLINE   DAG

DAG

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 224 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2006

Posted 15 March 2007 - 07:10 AM

When my "wake-up" auto timer didn't fire this morning, I thought that it was because I had gotten the new update. This has screwed my auto tune timers in the past. But, when I pressed select, all I had was the warning screen offering the sole option of deleting everything on my hard drive. Naturally, since I read DBStalk often, I knew that this was not going to happen in reality, so I did the only option available and hit select. It rebooted with the 3.66 firmware, no recorded shows lost that I can see.

Glad to see that things have not changed, DISH. :nono2:

What must the usual 622 owner think when they are presented with that warning screen and just one option of deleteing everything???? :eek2:
Model 622, replaced once by DISH in Feb., 2006

Software L635
Dual mode

OTAs via large antenna in attic
Panasonic 42" plasma industrial grade monitor
Component video via Audio Authority AA1154A component switcher
Toslink switched/converted to coax via AA1554A
Bose Lifestyle 20 using coax digital audio

#36 OFFLINE   Hall

Hall

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 599 posts
Joined: Mar 04, 2004

Posted 15 March 2007 - 07:16 AM

Who said L4.01 was delayed because of an issue found in testing? I dont' recall a reason being given for L4.01 being delay.

There's been various reasons thrown around and it depends on who you believe (or maybe they're all right). Mark Lamutt implied something related to closed-captioning that may have been to blame. Scott G said they held it in order to finalize things so that "Weather on the 8's" would work first on the 622s.

#37 OFFLINE   Hall

Hall

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 599 posts
Joined: Mar 04, 2004

Posted 15 March 2007 - 07:18 AM

I'd prefer to trigger a download and be able to monitor it while it's happening rather than having to set my alarm for 3 am every morning until it arrives.

I'm curious what you think you can do that will "help" it download and update properly. What are you going to "monitor" ?? The progress bar ??

#38 OFFLINE   mchaney

mchaney

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 304 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 15 March 2007 - 07:22 AM

So what's the consensus now? Has Dish changed their web page? Is 4.01 on hold for now or might we get it tonight?

Mike

#39 OFFLINE   Eagles

Eagles

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Topic Starter
  • Gold Members
  • 773 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2003

Posted 15 March 2007 - 07:28 AM

I waited for this release for months. Got sick of audio breakups and no HDMI. I just sent my 2 back and went over to the dark side. D* forever. Too late Dish!


And as it relates to this thread, your point is what?
EAGLES

#40 OFFLINE   whatchel1

whatchel1

    Hall Of Fame

  • No PM's
  • 1,086 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 15 March 2007 - 07:48 AM

He just likes to come on here and run an ad for D*. Now he can cry in both E* & D* forums.

#41 OFFLINE   Hall

Hall

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 599 posts
Joined: Mar 04, 2004

Posted 15 March 2007 - 08:16 AM

So what's the consensus now? Has Dish changed their web page? Is 4.01 on hold for now or might we get it tonight?

The update can come anytime after midnight or they might not release it until mid-morning or mid-afternoon or .... gasp !!! .... tomorrow or later. Many people are at work and can't check to see if their receivers have been updated.

I think the best thing for Dish to do is sit on it for another couple of days ! :D

#42 OFFLINE   mchaney

mchaney

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 304 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 15 March 2007 - 09:34 AM

I think the best thing for Dish to do is sit on it for another couple of days ! :D


:lol: :nono:

Mike

#43 OFFLINE   zwinflame

zwinflame

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 15 March 2007 - 09:37 AM

What is the most waited update on L4.01 as mine works flawlessly. Never had HDMI issues. However from time to time I do have audio losses and I have to remove the HDMI from the Vip622 and reinsert it and the audio comes back. Just shaking it does not make it work. Removing the HDMI from the plasma and reinserting it also does not fix the audio problem. Sorry for going on a different tangent but then again whats the most waited update on L4.01

. For me its the IPTV implementation, but then again the skeptics said it that it probably is not in this update.

#44 OFFLINE   Eagles

Eagles

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Topic Starter
  • Gold Members
  • 773 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2003

Posted 15 March 2007 - 09:37 AM

According to the linked thread L4.01 has already spooled. I guess if you don't have it yet you were not targeted as part of the phased release. I still have my doubts if this is correct as "NOBODY" has reported receiving L4.01 in the 622 forum.

http://www.dbstalk.c...ead.php?t=82390
EAGLES

#45 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 15 March 2007 - 09:59 AM

What is the most waited update on L4.01 as mine works flawlessly. Never had HDMI issues. However from time to time I do have audio losses and I have to remove the HDMI from the Vip622 and reinsert it and the audio comes back. Just shaking it does not make it work. Removing the HDMI from the plasma and reinserting it also does not fix the audio problem. Sorry for going on a different tangent but then again whats the most waited update on L4.01

. For me its the IPTV implementation, but then again the skeptics said it that it probably is not in this update.


For me it would be the side by side PIP and buffer stickinees if it makes it into this release. Also since I have experience audio issues that I would describe as excessive I hope to see some of those fixes make it into this release.
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>

#46 OFFLINE   Hall

Hall

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 599 posts
Joined: Mar 04, 2004

Posted 15 March 2007 - 10:13 AM

Various bug fixes are probably big things people want, but those really won't be "announced" unless someone gets a hold of release notes. Side-by-side PIP seems to be popular. The HD map-downs aren't a big deal to me...

Ron: What's this "buffer stickiness" you refer to ?? Is it related to the 622 doing NO buffering during a recording's playback, among other scenarios ??

#47 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 15 March 2007 - 10:26 AM

OOOPes.. I meant sticky pause... Sticky pause was mentioned along with PIP side by side. I took it to mean that that when you are toggling between buffers you can press pause and it will hold while you jump to the other buffer. Of course I can be totally wrong here and it might be something totally different, but if it is what it sounded like it is something that I can see as having a lot of value.
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>

#48 OFFLINE   ebaltz

ebaltz

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,432 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2004

Posted 15 March 2007 - 10:40 AM

When my "wake-up" auto timer didn't fire this morning, I thought that it was because I had gotten the new update. This has screwed my auto tune timers in the past. But, when I pressed select, all I had was the warning screen offering the sole option of deleting everything on my hard drive. Naturally, since I read DBStalk often, I knew that this was not going to happen in reality, so I did the only option available and hit select. It rebooted with the 3.66 firmware, no recorded shows lost that I can see.

Glad to see that things have not changed, DISH. :nono2:

What must the usual 622 owner think when they are presented with that warning screen and just one option of deleteing everything???? :eek2:


Yep this is what I got as well. Had the warning message this morning. It makes me think that it might have tried to spool, screwed something up and then defaulted back to 3.66. Who knows
Dish HD w/ 1 Hopper and 3 Joey, PS3, Sony HN1000 Receiver and Sony Bravia HX800 3D TV

#49 OFFLINE   elbodude

elbodude

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 174 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2006

Posted 15 March 2007 - 11:21 AM

OOOPes.. I meant sticky pause... Sticky pause was mentioned along with PIP side by side. I took it to mean that that when you are toggling between buffers you can press pause and it will hold while you jump to the other buffer. Of course I can be totally wrong here and it might be something totally different, but if it is what it sounded like it is something that I can see as having a lot of value.


I think you nailed it. Having each tuner hold the pause as you switch between tuners is HUGE for me. Also, having the buffer still recording while watching a previously recorded show is also a feature I would like.

#50 OFFLINE   Slordak

Slordak

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,476 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2003

Posted 15 March 2007 - 11:49 AM

What is the most waited update on L4.01 as mine works flawlessly. Never had HDMI issues. However from time to time I do have audio losses and I have to remove the HDMI from the Vip622 and reinsert it and the audio comes back. Just shaking it does not make it work. Removing the HDMI from the plasma and reinserting it also does not fix the audio problem. (...)

Huh? You state you never had HDMI issues, but then in the next sentence you indicate that you periodically have to remove the HDMI cable and reinsert it to resolve loss of audio. That sure sounds like an HDMI issue to me, but actually what most folks are waiting on is Dolby Digital 5.1 audio via HDMI. Obviously the HDMI hardware issues (i.e. fragile connector) won't be resolved with a software update.

The audio loss many of us are experiencing is the choppy-audio via optical, where it drops out over and over again briefly. There's also the problem where one tries to pause live content, and the receiver tells one that it's paused, but then when one resumes playback, it's as if one didn't pause it at all.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...