Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

How can I record the same program in SD and HD


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   brantlew

brantlew

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2007

Posted 19 March 2007 - 09:55 PM

There are some programs which I would like to watch in HD for the best quality but would also like to keep a copy stored on my hard drive for later viewing. I don't want to use up all my storage with HD recordings so I would like the stored copy to be in SD format. However when I try to create a timer for the HD program from my OTA antenna and the same program from the satellite in SD, the guide doesn't allow the second recording claiming that it is a duplicate. Does anyone know how to get past this restriction?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Ken Green

Ken Green

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,105 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2005

Posted 19 March 2007 - 10:17 PM

There are some programs which I would like to watch in HD for the best quality but would also like to keep a copy stored on my hard drive for later viewing. I don't want to use up all my storage with HD recordings so I would like the stored copy to be in SD format. However when I try to create a timer for the HD program from my OTA antenna and the same program from the satellite in SD, the guide doesn't allow the second recording claiming that it is a duplicate. Does anyone know how to get past this restriction?

Once you have created the second event, and the software flags it as a duplicated/skipped event, click on the second duplicated recording from your guide. It will be marked with a X'd out bubble. It will then appear in the daily schedule as a skipped (duplicate) event. Select restore. The software will ask if you want to restore only this single event, or apply this selection to all events effected by this timer. Make your appropriate choice.
ViP722 - ViP622² - ViP612 - ViP211 - 510
Slingbox SOLO
Dish 1000+ 110/118/119/129 - HD Locals/118w - DPP44²
EHDD - 750g/500g - Broadband via HomePlug
Sony 51" HDRPTV² - Dell 23" HD LCD - Sharp Aquos 17" HD LCD
OTA - Winegard HD9095P - 55 miles

#3 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 20 March 2007 - 12:06 AM

However.. the tough problem brant is the procedure kdg454 gave you is correct but only is a one time shot and I am sure you were hoping for something automatic. As far as I know, there is not a way to do it because both HD and SD programs are considered the same if there episode ids and show ids are the same. It actually is a feature of NBR and of the 622 for most users. I would add it to the wish list though I am not sure how many people would want this type of feature.
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>

#4 OFFLINE   TheGrove

TheGrove

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 138 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 20 March 2007 - 02:06 AM

I'm not sure about OTA & satellite, but I have had it happen where both channels are from the satellite. I have 2 timers setup. The 1st timer records my show restricted to the SD channel and the 2nd timer records the same show on the HD channel. I believe I have both timers setup to record all shows. What I've found is that I will get a particular episode recorded on the SD channel and then a couple of days later the episode will record on the HD channel.

#5 OFFLINE   Wildman63

Wildman63

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2006

Posted 20 March 2007 - 09:45 AM

I watch recorded HD movies while I burn them to DVDs on my Panasonic DMR-ES46V... then delete the DVR copy, unless it's really an excellent flick. I seldom have more than a few hours stored on the hard drive. I use the DVR primarily to schedule TV watching.

#6 OFFLINE   Jolard

Jolard

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 127 posts
Joined: Feb 14, 2006

Posted 21 March 2007 - 12:24 PM

I have problems with one of my OTA channels, and so sometimes shows tape great, othertimes they don't. So I have one show I record in both HD and SD to make sure I get it fine.

The only way to have regular timers work like this (without having to restore every week) is to set a manual timer for one of them. i.e. set it to record on such and such a channel from 8:59 pm to 10:03 pm. In other words, set up a time based timer instead of a show based timer.

Hope that makes sense.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...