Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Huntsville AL OTA problem


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bfincher

bfincher

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2007

Posted 26 March 2007 - 09:50 AM

I can't receive channel 54-1 through my HR20. I get the message that no signal is acquired. When I pull up the signal meter it says that it can't acquire a signal. The channel comes in fine with the Tivo tuner. I know of at least one other person in the market that is having the same problem. All other OTA channels are coming in fine. Any ideas?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   leww37334

leww37334

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2005

Posted 26 March 2007 - 10:26 AM

I am in the Huntsville DMA also and have an HR-20, 54-1 works fine for me. just for kicks go into the OTA setup and enter 37334 as your zip and see if that gets you 54-1. Just as an aside I have never been able to get 25-3 either, but not a big deal. When you say you don't get 54-1, do you get 54-2? Could it be just a reception problem? What is your signal strength on your TIVO? What was your initial install date? I'm wondering if D* could have dropped it out of their database in an update?

PM me if you have any further problems.
“Reason is not automatic. Those who deny it cannot be conquered by it. Do not count on them. Leave them alone.” - Ayn Rand

#3 OFFLINE   gamecox86

gamecox86

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2007

Posted 26 March 2007 - 11:34 AM

I am the other person with this problem. It's not that we don't get 54-1 in our channel lineup, it's that the signal for 54-2 (or 54-2) is not enough for the HR20 to display the channel.

Funny thing is that my HR10-250 and my Mits TV with digital tuner both pick up the channel.

#4 OFFLINE   bfincher

bfincher

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2007

Posted 26 March 2007 - 11:34 AM

I can't get 54-2 either. My initial install date was about a month ago. There is no signal strength. The signal meter says that it can't acquire a signal. I have a friend that lives on the opposite side of Huntsville and he is having the same problem. He can pick up 54-1 and 54-2 fine with his TV's tuner and his Tivo tuner.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...