Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Our First Date...What Should I Do?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mrb

mrb

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 26 March 2007 - 02:17 PM

My HR20 is scheduled to arrive on Saturday. I've had the R15 (three of them...all bad). I'm pretty competent on audio/video and dvr and all that. I keep up on these boards.
And yet I must ask...installer leaves, HR20 is hooked up, signals strong, etc...

What should I do first with this thing before I set up all my SL and all that? Should I set all the settings, etc...and then restart (RBR is an erase of all my settings too, correct?)

Basically, I know this box has to be treated with some TLC...so any advice is surely appreciated. If it craps out and the HR10 TiVo is gone my wife will kill me.

(The number of references to peoples' wives getting angry at the HR20 and by extension the men who are posting on these boards is a constant source of humor, btw!):lol:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   wmschultz

wmschultz

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,131 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2006

Posted 26 March 2007 - 02:19 PM

If you are close enough, I say invite Earl over.

#3 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,205 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 26 March 2007 - 02:20 PM

Let me take this opportunity to beat VOS to the punch and suggest that you do a "reset everything" after getting the latest software update.

#4 OFFLINE   Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,499 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2006

Posted 26 March 2007 - 02:22 PM

Let me take this opportunity to beat VOS to the punch and suggest that you do a "reset everything" after getting the latest software update.


Dang, you beat me to it as well.... :lol:

-Mark-
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 or ::127.0.0.1 or 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1 or ::1!"
Support the DBSTalk forum, become a member, Click Here!
For Networking Help, Click Here!
For my setup, Click Here!
3/98


#5 OFFLINE   mrb

mrb

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 26 March 2007 - 02:36 PM

Dang, you beat me to it as well.... :lol:


I am assuming the latest software (I have it written down somewhere at home) will be automatically downloaded once the installer sets the thing up, no? Then after that I go ahead and do the RBR, then set settings, then normal restart, then set up series links, etc...

Is it the concensus here that there are a couple ways to get in trouble:

padding shows and setting up SLs from the search feature (rather than double Rec press from the guide?)

Final question (for today): is there a link with any "tricks" codes for the remote (like 30 second skip, etc...) somewhere here. Couldn't locate one when I looked.

#6 OFFLINE   elixir26

elixir26

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Mar 09, 2007

Posted 26 March 2007 - 03:21 PM

I'd upgrade my memory to at least 750gb. That would have saved me from doing everything twice.

#7 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,953 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 26 March 2007 - 03:24 PM

Let me take this opportunity to beat VOS to the punch and suggest that you do a "reset everything" after getting the latest software update.

Damn
A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   mrb

mrb

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 217 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 26 March 2007 - 03:24 PM

I'd upgrade my memory to at least 750gb. That would have saved me from doing everything twice.


Huh?

#9 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,953 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 26 March 2007 - 03:26 PM

Huh?

My memory is fading too, but I can't figure out how to put the RAM in my head.
A.K.A VOS

#10 OFFLINE   Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,499 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2006

Posted 26 March 2007 - 04:36 PM

I am assuming the latest software (I have it written down somewhere at home) will be automatically downloaded once the installer sets the thing up, no? Then after that I go ahead and do the RBR, then set settings, then normal restart, then set up series links, etc...

Is it the concensus here that there are a couple ways to get in trouble:

padding shows and setting up SLs from the search feature (rather than double Rec press from the guide?)

Final question (for today): is there a link with any "tricks" codes for the remote (like 30 second skip, etc...) somewhere here. Couldn't locate one when I looked.


Not all installers will bother with updating the firmware.
Here is how to force a download...
http://www.dbstalk.c...ead.php?t=81728

Here are the tips & tricks, be sure and open the pdf file, not just the thread!
http://www.dbstalk.c...ead.php?t=72648

-Mark-
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 or ::127.0.0.1 or 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1 or ::1!"
Support the DBSTalk forum, become a member, Click Here!
For Networking Help, Click Here!
For my setup, Click Here!
3/98


#11 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 26 March 2007 - 06:10 PM

Not all installers will bother with updating the firmware.
Here is how to force a download...
http://www.dbstalk.c...ead.php?t=81728

Here are the tips & tricks, be sure and open the pdf file, not just the thread!
http://www.dbstalk.c...ead.php?t=72648


should do it automaticaly within about 10 minutes of startup.. all mine have..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#12 OFFLINE   armophob

armophob

    Difficulty Concen........

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,018 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 26 March 2007 - 06:15 PM

I like reset everything. Just in case there is any bugs left in the refurb and you get a fresh new software download before you start editing it.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...