Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

eSATA vs another HR20 for more capacity


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tsbrady1

tsbrady1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 01 April 2007 - 08:51 AM

Earl or anybody in the know, I am starting to run out of space on my HR20 and I am in a quandry whether to add an eSATA or whether to just get another HR20. the problem with the eSATA is that I will not have access to a bunch of recorded stuff, I do not have it networked and I do not have the time or inclination to copy it to DVD. Does anybody have a clue as to when eSATA will be able to use the internal drive, is it going to be a few months or who knows when? Sorry if already been asked, I hit the "check if already been posted" button and nothing came up.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Donb01

Donb01

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 185 posts
  • LocationManitowoc, WI
Joined: Feb 08, 2007

Posted 01 April 2007 - 09:14 AM

From what I have read on the eSATA stuff, whatever new drive you use completely replaces the drive inside the HR20 and does not function as supplemental storage, and also no matter how big of a drive you buy the HR20 will only allocate 100GB for its use and the rest is inaccessible to the device.

So I guess if you want to keep more stuff you would have to get another HR20.
HR20-700S (Jan 07 build), 5LNB Dish - 2 feeds, wired ethernet, Vizio L32 - 32" LCD TV - HDMI, Analog audio to the TV and a wireless transmitter right now, Harmony 670 remote

#3 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 01 April 2007 - 09:16 AM

Esata= more storage
2nd HR20= less conflicts..
I went with 2nd unit since I have so much stuff on 1 or 2 nights...

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#4 OFFLINE   brownram

brownram

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 01 April 2007 - 10:27 AM

From what I have read on the eSATA stuff, whatever new drive you use completely replaces the drive inside the HR20 and does not function as supplemental storage, and also no matter how big of a drive you buy the HR20 will only allocate 100GB for its use and the rest is inaccessible to the device.

So I guess if you want to keep more stuff you would have to get another HR20.


this is why people get confused. the hard drive in the hr20 is a 320gb sata hard drive 100gb for directv use 220gb for recording. if you add a 750gb esata directv uses 100gb and you get 650gb for recording
i love my hr20 now

#5 OFFLINE   tsbrady1

tsbrady1

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 01 April 2007 - 11:11 AM

houskamp, you do bring up another advantage to an additional HR20 with the less recoring conflicts scenario, the only problem is that my plasma only has 2 HDMI or component ports so I would have to switch my DVD to an S video input, but I don't watch that many DVDs so that's not a big deal. thanks for the input.

#6 OFFLINE   rsblaski

rsblaski

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 812 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2003

Posted 01 April 2007 - 11:39 AM

houskamp, you do bring up another advantage to an additional HR20 with the less recoring conflicts scenario, the only problem is that my plasma only has 2 HDMI or component ports so I would have to switch my DVD to an S video input, but I don't watch that many DVDs so that's not a big deal. thanks for the input.


You should look into one of these:

http://www.monoprice...format=2&style=

They also have 3 and five port switches.

If you got a 3 port switch, you could have just one HDMI cable running into your tv.

Monoprice has many fans, especially for their cable prices.
Remember, when it comes to audio/video, more is always better. (This does NOT apply to remote controls!)

#7 OFFLINE   tsbrady1

tsbrady1

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 150 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2006

Posted 02 April 2007 - 05:52 AM

thanks rsblaski, that may solve my dilemma




Protected By... spam firewall...And...