Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

A Dramatically Faster User Interface


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
117 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 03 April 2007 - 11:20 PM

Most of us have cell phones or voice mail. We use shortcuts like 1 – 1 – 2. They are so easy to remember we don't even think about them.

Why can’t the HR20 do that?

To toggle Closed Captioning On/Off is 23 steps, 15 if you know the secrets.

If the HR20 menus were as easy to use as a cell phone, the Quick Menu in Live TV might be:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1175709384

Instead of 23 steps, toggling Closed Captioning would be 2 steps :

Menu - 8

The Parental Controls Menu might be:
http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1175667430

So to get to Parental Controls would be 3 steps instead of 11:

Menu - 9 - 3

So what's the downside?

Our old menus still work just the same so you can still take 23 steps instead of 2 if you want.

You won't be able to change channels in the middle of digging through menus. But now it won't take 30 seconds to do a 2 second task. There won't be time.

EDIT: To keep it simple, you would tie the numbers to the item number in the list not the specific option just like in your Cell Phone. So in My Playlist's Quick Menu, My Playlist would obviouly not be in the first slot. Something else would have the number "1" hot key.

EDIT: Please don't make it go beyond 10 choices but if you do, you can use the color buttons.

Call a numbered link a "HotPass" or "FastTrack" and trademark it. Now TiVo is chasing you.

Add the numbers in your menu text. Each number just calls a module you have already written.

You will speed up tech support calls. It's hard to walk someone through 23 steps. Two clicks is cake.

Turning off Animations made the HR20 faster. This is the second step. You go from one of the hardest user interfaces to one of the best in about 3 days.

It's not just Closed Captioning that will be better. It is everything.

So what are your ideas? How can we tweak it?

- Craig

Thank you to Doug Brott, Lamontcranston, Litzdog911, Carl6, Mtnagel, Tom Robertson, Coffey77, and others for your help in developing this idea. EDIT: Also BubblePuppy had suggested this previously in this post. I also got a private note that menu numbering should be called "DirectAccess".

Attached Thumbnails

  • DisplayMenu.GIF
  • ParentalControls.GIF
  • SetupMenu.GIF
  • AmazinglyLongMenu.GIF
  • QuickMenu.GIF


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   BubblePuppy

BubblePuppy

    Good night dear Smoke... love you & "got your butt...&a

  • Registered
  • 5,259 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 04 April 2007 - 04:29 AM

I prefer the numbering system. I suggested that here:http://www.dbstalk.c...=closed caption Post #65

But the one button CC toggle would be the best for this feature.
Thanks to Google search, people can appear to be smarter than they really are.

#3 OFFLINE   mtnagel

mtnagel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,015 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 04 April 2007 - 05:03 AM

I like the idea a lot. The one that I would use it for the most would be to turn off parental controls. I do that a lot. If it speeds that up, I'm all for it.

Good idea :up:
- Matt

#4 OFFLINE   iceman2a

iceman2a

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 540 posts
  • LocationBOSTON, MA.
Joined: Dec 30, 2005

Posted 04 April 2007 - 06:10 AM

Why couldn't D*'s development people think of this? :D
Why didn't I think of this? :(
It's right there in front of us everyday?
Thanks Milominder...... I hope D* takes this sugestion and runs with it!
_______________
Slimline5 ODU
swm16
HR34/700/AM21
HR21-200
HR20/700
2 H21-200

#5 OFFLINE   Coffey77

Coffey77

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 2,533 posts
Joined: Nov 12, 2006

Posted 04 April 2007 - 06:20 AM

Yea, excellent idea Milo. You beat me to the graphic though as I have been floating ideas around in my head since you PM'd me earlier this week.
- Andy
My Setup - (Computer Setup Included)
HR20-700 - / - / H20-100 -
PLEASE SUBSCRIBE<-- to DBSTalk.com and become a DBSTalk Club Member!

#6 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 04 April 2007 - 06:43 AM

Sorry BubblePuppy. I had done a search on "menu numbering", "menu numbers", and "menu number" but missed your post. I thought it was about Closed Captioning Toggles and did not see the second idea.

My Panasonic DMR-ES15 DVD Recorder has menu numbering like this and I really like it. I also like menu numbering to do voice mail and to use my cell phone.

To BubblePuppy and anyone else who has suggested direct access menu numbering: Thank you for a great idea...

- Craig

#7 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 04 April 2007 - 06:51 AM

Yea, excellent idea Milo. You beat me to the graphic though as I have been floating ideas around in my head since you PM'd me earlier this week.

Andy, I am sorry I had not listed you in the "Thank You" line. I appreciate your help in developing this. I corrected the OP.

- Craig

#8 OFFLINE   Coffey77

Coffey77

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 2,533 posts
Joined: Nov 12, 2006

Posted 04 April 2007 - 06:53 AM

Andy, I am sorry I had not listed you in the "Thank You" line. I appreciate your help in developing this. I corrected the OP.

- Craig


No need at all Craig, I really didn't do anything. Just basically agreed with you. :D
- Andy
My Setup - (Computer Setup Included)
HR20-700 - / - / H20-100 -
PLEASE SUBSCRIBE<-- to DBSTalk.com and become a DBSTalk Club Member!

#9 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 04 April 2007 - 06:54 AM

No need at all Craig, I really didn't do anything. Just basically agreed with you. :D


And that makes you a very smart man! :) It was your idea to work out the graphic menu examples. With the gif's it is clear how simple this would be.

- Craig

#10 OFFLINE   Coffey77

Coffey77

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 2,533 posts
Joined: Nov 12, 2006

Posted 04 April 2007 - 06:55 AM

I agree... ;)
- Andy
My Setup - (Computer Setup Included)
HR20-700 - / - / H20-100 -
PLEASE SUBSCRIBE<-- to DBSTalk.com and become a DBSTalk Club Member!

#11 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,861 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 04 April 2007 - 07:07 AM

An excellent idea, well executed.

I'd like to chime in as well, that if a system like this were implemented, then people with learning remotes (e.g. Harmony) could learn multiple commands and assign them to a single button. Then pretty much anything you wanted could be a 1-button item.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#12 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 04 April 2007 - 08:09 AM

Playing Devil's advocate...

What do you do if that menu needs to have more then 10 entries...

In your first screen display, you are missing the
Quick Menu-> My Playlist
Quick Menu-> Audio
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#13 OFFLINE   stroh

stroh

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2004

Posted 04 April 2007 - 08:10 AM

This would also make things much easier for DTV also. The support techs could just tell you a series of key strokes to hit instead of "look for this menu, ok, now hit select, ok, now look for this, ok, hit select..."

Of course, that is assuming they tell you the correct sequence...

#14 OFFLINE   BubblePuppy

BubblePuppy

    Good night dear Smoke... love you & "got your butt...&a

  • Registered
  • 5,259 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 04 April 2007 - 08:15 AM

This would also make things much easier for DTV also. The support techs could just tell you a series of key strokes to hit instead of "look for this menu, ok, now hit select, ok, now look for this, ok, hit select..."

Of course, that is assuming they tell you the correct sequence...


It would be as easy as 1-2-3...:lol:
Thanks to Google search, people can appear to be smarter than they really are.

#15 OFFLINE   jmschnur

jmschnur

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 861 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2006

Posted 04 April 2007 - 08:16 AM

This is a good idea.

Sub menues would work if there are too many "must haves". I suggest that this be done by the user-i.e. perhaps there are 25 toggles one might have and the user could decide what was in the general menu (perhaps 5 things) and then what would be in the sub menus.
Joel
[FONT="Arial"][SIZE="1"][B]
ce 0x0431 HDMI 1080P Pioneer Kuro 60" plasma 151
{CE 0x0481 - HDMI 1080p - Sharp 32" 1080P LCD
2 HR20-100 DVRs
Integra DHC 80.2, HDMI throughout.
Home network mixed vista, windows 7
Slimeline 5; Vista,,7 ; wired and wireless; Verizon Fios internet, Netgear 3700 router, infinity/buffalo n ethernet converters
Integra DHC 80.2

#16 OFFLINE   kocuba

kocuba

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 596 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 04 April 2007 - 08:23 AM

Playing Devil's advocate...

What do you do if that menu needs to have more then 10 entries...

In your first screen display, you are missing the
Quick Menu-> My Playlist
Quick Menu-> Audio


If a menu has more than 10 items maybe it needs to be or should be broken down in to categories(ie sub menus or groupings).

IMHO FWIW

#17 OFFLINE   SuperTech1

SuperTech1

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 545 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2007

Posted 04 April 2007 - 08:24 AM

Playing Devil's advocate...

What do you do if that menu needs to have more then 10 entries...

In your first screen display, you are missing the
Quick Menu-> My Playlist
Quick Menu-> Audio


Simple -
You include "-", "red", "green", "yellow","blue"
i.e Menu-dash = My Playlist
Menu-yellow = Audio
"If I can't fix it, it ain't broke"
Sony KDS-60A2020 SXRD Mitsubishi WS-55819
5LNB AU9 Dish Directv HR20-700 DVR - Networked

HR21-100 - Networked
Linksys WRT350N Router Linksys WGA54G


#18 OFFLINE   kocuba

kocuba

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 596 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 04 April 2007 - 08:27 AM

BTW I forgot to mention I do like the idea. Great Job Milo and all who conferred on this. Hopefully D* will run with it.

#19 OFFLINE   Nick

Nick

    Keep going - don't give up!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,249 posts
  • LocationThe Beautiful Golden Isles of Coastal Georgia
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 04 April 2007 - 08:35 AM

To toggle Closed Captioning On/Off is 23 steps, 15 if you know the secrets

UN-FREAKIN-BELIEVEABLE! :eek2:

How (or why) you D* subs up with that put, I don't know. :shrug:

.


~ 12 Year Anniversary Month ~
Charter Gold Club Member
DBSTalk Club ~ 21k Club
Top 10 Poster

.


#20 OFFLINE   ChrisMinCT

ChrisMinCT

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2006

Posted 04 April 2007 - 08:37 AM

Playing Devil's advocate...

What do you do if that menu needs to have more then 10 entries...

In your first screen display, you are missing the
Quick Menu-> My Playlist
Quick Menu-> Audio


Reorganize the menus so that there is never more than 9 entries on one. This might add a layer or two here and there, but would still be substantially faster than today's methodology.
(1) HR20-700, (2) HR23-700+AM21 Native/Original=On * Toshiba 57HM167 (HR20-HDMI, Cat5) * Olevia 427V (HR23-HDMI, 802.11N) * Sharp Aquos LC32LE700UN (HR23-HDMI, Cat5) * AT9 (5) LNBs




spam firewall