Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DMA 29: Raleigh/Durham, NC


  • Please log in to reply
89 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,189 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 30 December 2008 - 03:20 PM

Looks like (based upon the uplink report) we will have WRAY (30) guide data now that Dish is carrying the SD channel. I'll wait and see if it sticks, since an overnight update will need to happen for EPG update anyway. Soon as that looks good I'll go back and update the top post to indicate the new data.

Only thing missing for us is the ION OTA channel and sub-channels guide data.

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   timhk

timhk

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2007

Posted 01 January 2009 - 07:05 PM

Hello... I have an indoor antenna, and receive 5.1, 11.1, 22.1 and 50.1 very well:

Signal Strengths: CBS5.1 in 70's, ABC11.1 in 80's, FOX50.1 in 70's, and CW22.1 around 60.

My question is NBC11.1. My signal level hovers around 40, which is a crapshoot. My question is, will this get stronger once their Analog signal is turned of in Feb? Or are these signal strengths what I can expect going forward.

I live near Crossroads in Cary, so I'm definitely okay with having a OTA indoors I believe, except for the NBC station...


The tower for channel 11 is located about 100 yards from the tower that has 5,17,22,28,50. This may be the source of your problem

Edited by timhk, 01 January 2009 - 07:30 PM.
misspelled word


#53 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,189 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 04 March 2009 - 01:48 PM

Several folks (myself included) are not seeing channel 50 or 17 in HD via Dish. OTA working fine, but not the HD via satellite.

No ETA, as Dish is just now being made aware of the issue... could even possibly (speculation) be weather related damage to the reception/uplink site since we had some local snow/ice and cold the last couple of days.

Will post again when it is fixed.

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#54 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,189 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 05 March 2009 - 01:06 PM

Both 17 and 50 seem to be back this afternoon. Not sure what really happened, but seems to be fixed now.

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#55 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,189 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 30 March 2009 - 10:29 PM

Durham, N.C. — FOX 50 (WRAZ-TV) announced the launch of a new, free, over-the-air movie channel Monday.

"THIS" can be found on Ch. 50.3 and on Time Warner digital cable Ch. 252. It will feature movies from the libraries of MGM, United Artists, Orion Pictures, Polygram, Cannon and Samuel Goldwyn Films.

Full article here.

WRAZ-TV and THIS are subsidiaries of Capitol Broadcasting Company, Inc., owner of WRAL-TV and other media, sports and real estate properties.Copyright 2009 by Capitol Broadcasting Company. All rights reserved.

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#56 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,189 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 30 March 2009 - 10:31 PM

I'm editing the first post of this thread to reflect the new channel 50.3, and the change to 5.2 that will now be both News and Weather OTA.

Of course the EPG data is wrong now on 50.3 as of today, but hopefully Dish will catch up with the changes.

FYI, I still have intermittent problems with 4.1 OTA EPG data on my receivers. Sometimes it is there, sometimes not. No word from Dish as to a fix for that problem.

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#57 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,189 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 08 April 2009 - 08:22 PM

Not sure when it happened, but sometime recently 17-02 OTA became Universal Sports.

So no longer an SD simulcast of NBC, but rather other sports programming. Right now happens to be Cycling.

The Dish EPG seems to be accurate on the programming change as well.

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#58 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,189 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 25 April 2009 - 05:14 PM

Someone on AVSForum noted that 11-2 OTA is now 720p... I checked, and sure enough it is!

So I've updated the OTA chart now to list the resolution (480i/720p/1080i) for each channel/sub-channel in our DMA.

Here's a new discussion I started in the Local Television forum regarding Live Well HD, the new launched subchannel.

Edited by Stewart Vernon, 26 April 2009 - 05:17 PM.
Added link to more discussion

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#59 OFFLINE   miketorse

miketorse

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 647 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2008

Posted 10 June 2009 - 04:36 PM

Stewart: Is 17-1 coming through in HD for you? Anyone else? I am seeing a center-cut SD picture on NBC Nightly News on 17-1 OTA (and on DirecTV feed - yes, I know this is a Dish forum).
Mike

My system:

HR21
HR22 w/ AM21
R15
SWM-8
Slimline5 w/ no LOS to 119 Slimline3


#60 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,189 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 10 June 2009 - 04:55 PM

Stewart: Is 17-1 coming through in HD for you? Anyone else? I am seeing a center-cut SD picture on NBC Nightly News on 17-1 OTA (and on DirecTV feed - yes, I know this is a Dish forum).


I saw a thread on AVSForum earlier asking the same question. It sounded like 17-2 and 17-3 were working, as was the analog feed of 17 OTA... but some people noticed 17-1 OTA not working.

Checking myself just now... Dish SD feed appears to be working, HD has a "we know" slate... 17-2 is showing weather, instead of Universal Sports, 17-3 was a black screen, and 17-1 was center-cut as you noted.

I have not seen anything official on their Web site as to what happened. Maybe something glitched in preparing for Friday's cutover. I'll follow up if I learn anything.

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#61 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,900 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 10 June 2009 - 05:23 PM

I saw a thread on AVSForum earlier asking the same question. It sounded like 17-2 and 17-3 were working, as was the analog feed of 17 OTA... but some people noticed 17-1 OTA not working.

Checking myself just now... Dish SD feed appears to be working, HD has a "we know" slate... 17-2 is showing weather, instead of Universal Sports, 17-3 was a black screen, and 17-1 was center-cut as you noted.

I have not seen anything official on their Web site as to what happened. Maybe something glitched in preparing for Friday's cutover. I'll follow up if I learn anything.


If I had to make a guess - I'd say something broke on the HD encoder path and the station changed the PIDs so 17-1 is showing "something", and just let 17-3 show "black" until they can get it fixed.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#62 OFFLINE   miketorse

miketorse

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 647 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2008

Posted 11 June 2009 - 02:19 PM

Not much detail but: http://durham.mync.c...able-satellite/
Mike

My system:

HR21
HR22 w/ AM21
R15
SWM-8
Slimline5 w/ no LOS to 119 Slimline3


#63 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,900 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 12 June 2009 - 04:15 PM

Recap -

WLFL /WRDC did their digital moves around 1200.

WTVD / WNCN did their analog shutdown / move their digital down to their analog channel around 1230

WRAL stopped analog / start analog night light / moved to 48 at 1255
WRAZ shutoff analog shortly after 1300

The Ion stations turned off analog sometime in that hour, but I don't exactly when.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#64 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,189 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 12 June 2009 - 08:53 PM

I updated the chart at the top of this thread to include the Real broadcast channel # as well as the Virtual PID info. Be aware that I already assume WUNC will be on channel 25, where they are supposed to be after tonight when they make the switch.

Also... Waiting to see what WRAL/WRAZ is going to do long-term. Right now "THIS" network is actually on 5-2 and not 50-3... but was on 50-3 and the Dish EPG still reflects this at the moment even though last I looked 50-3 was SD version of 50-1 broadcasts.

I'm not sure if 50-3 might go back to being Weather again or what.

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#65 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,189 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 13 December 2009 - 09:14 PM

I forgot when it happened, but OTA 4-3 is now WUNC-EX "The Explorer Channel" so I updated the chart in the first post to reflect this change.

(4-3 was formerly WUNC-NC "PBS North Carolina")

Also.. since some folks have had troubles getting WUNC OTA since the digital cutover, they have applied for another channel (30) to put at the Garner/Clayton antenna farm. No word as to when/if that will happen... but when/if it does I will update the chart again to reflect the alternative way of receiving PBS OTA in our DMA.

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#66 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,900 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 13 December 2009 - 09:46 PM

WUNC has raised their tower and put more power into their transmitter.

WTVD has applied for and been approved for a power increase. I think they have implemented it, but I can't say for sure on that.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#67 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,189 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 14 December 2009 - 12:46 AM

WUNC has raised their tower and put more power into their transmitter.

WTVD has applied for and been approved for a power increase. I think they have implemented it, but I can't say for sure on that.


I figure WTVD must have upped their power because my signal took a big leap a while back after hearing they had been approved for the increase.

As for WUNC... I get it now fine too once they had finished their tower work... but thought they were still pursuing the option of another channel to fill in the gaps in coverage.

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#68 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,189 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 16 January 2010 - 09:07 AM

I was snoozing when 30-01 changed last year (around October is sounds like) from Shop@Home to TCT.

But, I accidentally discovered this morning that they now have a 30-02 subchannel as well that is broadcasting in 1080i.

I have not as yet seen any actual HD on that subchannel, though. So far it has just been strech-o-vision.

Also, right now the Dish EPG data is wrong/missing.

30-02 has no EPG data. 30-01 has EPG data BUT that data appears to be for what is actually on 30-02... and thus the 30-01 is truly missing data.

I'll update if I see Dish fix the EPG data at some point. Meanwhile, the chart in post #1 has been updated to reflect the change in content and the new HD subchannel.

I can't find a Web site for WRAY... but TCT has a Web site at www.tct.tv if you're interested in what they are all about.

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#69 OFFLINE   smngm2

smngm2

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2008

Posted 21 May 2010 - 12:45 PM

5.2 THIS movie channel

I live in North Raleigh and seem to be able to receive most all of the OTA channels in our area though a few require some dilligence with my antenna. The one exception has been THIS channel on 5.2. I receive WRAL on 5.1 with a very strong and clear signal but can't pick up 5.2 at all. For those of you able to pick up this channel, do you have any suggestions?

Thanks!
Gene

#70 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,900 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 21 May 2010 - 01:26 PM

Unless there is something screwy with your OTA tuner - if you can see 5.1, you should also see 5.2. I'd try doing a rescan of the affected tuners.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#71 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,189 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 21 May 2010 - 05:52 PM

What receiver/tuner are you using that you have trouble with 5.2?

Scooper is about 99.9% correct that if you are seeing 5.1 you should have 5.2.

I leave the "0.1%" because I have actually seen a problem before on Dish receivers where an OTA channel might scan but not show up or be tunable... so it is theoretically possible you could have a receiver/tuner glitch at play.

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#72 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,189 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 21 May 2010 - 05:56 PM

I noticed recently that 47 seems to only have 3 subchannels now... so I deleted 47.4 from the chart in post #1.

I've seen people in some markets say they have ION in HD, but I haven't seen that yet here in Raleigh. IF anyone ever sees 47.1 in HD, please let me know and I'll modify.

I have trouble getting this channel OTA reliably, so that's why I was slow to notice the dropped 47.4 channel.

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#73 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,900 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 21 May 2010 - 06:16 PM

I noticed recently that 47 seems to only have 3 subchannels now... so I deleted 47.4 from the chart in post #1.

I've seen people in some markets say they have ION in HD, but I haven't seen that yet here in Raleigh. IF anyone ever sees 47.1 in HD, please let me know and I'll modify.

I have trouble getting this channel OTA reliably, so that's why I was slow to notice the dropped 47.4 channel.


Yes it is in HD now - (720p) -
However, I can't see it's southern cousin.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#74 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Topic Starter
  • Moderators
  • 20,189 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 22 May 2010 - 12:10 AM

Yes it is in HD now - (720p) -
However, I can't see it's southern cousin.


Thanks.. I'll update the chart, and maybe one day I'll even get to watch it in HD!

-- Friday Friday Friday... the 13th!

What I do when I'm not here


#75 OFFLINE   smngm2

smngm2

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2008

Posted 24 May 2010 - 02:00 PM

What receiver/tuner are you using that you have trouble with 5.2?


Thanks for the replies guys. I have a 722 receiver and I have rescanned. The channel shows up in the guide as yellow and displays current content (at least, content that agrees with what WRAL's website shows for the channel).

I'll play with it again tonight to make sure this isn't an operator error :rolleyes:

Thanks.
Gene




Protected By... spam firewall...And...