Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DP 44 Switch - Just one output go bad?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   TokyoGolfer

TokyoGolfer

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Apr 07, 2007

Posted 07 April 2007 - 08:55 PM

I have 2 DP 44 Switches chained together to support 6 receivers. Today I went to add a new receiver for a guest bedroom and it seems than one of the receiver outputs on the second switch is bad. Is it possible for just one output to go bad or does the entire switch go bad?

Cheers

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dartonviper

dartonviper

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 201 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2004

Posted 07 April 2007 - 09:11 PM

Yes it is very possible for just 1 port to be bad.

#3 OFFLINE   TokyoGolfer

TokyoGolfer

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Apr 07, 2007

Posted 08 April 2007 - 02:19 PM

Yes it is very possible for just 1 port to be bad.


thank you. i guess i am off to ebay to find a new one.:)

#4 OFFLINE   jarvantgroup

jarvantgroup

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 546 posts
Joined: Mar 24, 2006

Posted 08 April 2007 - 02:58 PM

I have 2 DP 44 Switches chained together to support 6 receivers. Today I went to add a new receiver for a guest bedroom and it seems than one of the receiver outputs on the second switch is bad. Is it possible for just one output to go bad or does the entire switch go bad?

Cheers


Yes. :icon_cool

#5 OFFLINE   ssmith10pn

ssmith10pn

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 687 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2005

Posted 08 April 2007 - 04:14 PM

If you have 2 DPP44's and 6 receivers that leaves 2 ports open.

#6 OFFLINE   jarvantgroup

jarvantgroup

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 546 posts
Joined: Mar 24, 2006

Posted 08 April 2007 - 04:24 PM

I have 2 DP 44 Switches chained together to support 6 receivers. Today I went to add a new receiver for a guest bedroom and it seems than one of the receiver outputs on the second switch is bad. Is it possible for just one output to go bad or does the entire switch go bad?

Cheers


Try taking a lead to a working rcvr and place it on the suspected bad port and run a check switch. If you have the same errors in the summary then it definitely is the port. Use your other unused port the run your new rcvr. If there are no errors in the summary, then look at the new rcvr. There is a term called DOA given to rcvrs that are defective fresh out of the box. :icon_cool




spam firewall