Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Problems With HR20 Keybounce


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
76 replies to this topic

Poll: Do you have keybounce or double-tap issues with your HR20 remote? (135 member(s) have cast votes)

Do you have keybounce or double-tap issues with your HR20 remote?

  1. Yes, this occurs often. (82 votes [60.74%])

    Percentage of vote: 60.74%

  2. Yes, it occurs, but infrequently. (22 votes [16.30%])

    Percentage of vote: 16.30%

  3. No problems here. (31 votes [22.96%])

    Percentage of vote: 22.96%

Vote

#1 OFFLINE   tucker301

tucker301

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 234 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 08 April 2007 - 09:13 PM

Call it keybounce, call it double-tap, call it sticky keys - When you press a button on the HR20's factory remote, does it sometimes register as two presses and do something really annoying?
Example: You want to switch to channel 5-1, but the remote reads 55-1.
Please vote and keep comments concise and relevant.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   tucker301

tucker301

    Banned User

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 234 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 08 April 2007 - 09:26 PM

IR or RF?


Yes.

I thought of posting that option, but the simple fact is, it should work correctly either way.
Mine has been set in RF since day two, but I still get doubles all the time.

So, just for clarity - IR/RF? Doesn't matter. If you have problems either way, post up.

#3 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,952 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 08 April 2007 - 09:47 PM

FREQUENT keybounce in RF...I don't use IR since there is no line of sight from my viewing location to the HR20.

#4 OFFLINE   tucker301

tucker301

    Banned User

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 234 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 08 April 2007 - 10:20 PM

I've got unobstructed line of sight at 16 ft.
The receiver is positioned with the full front exposed and about two inches of overhead and right-left clearance.
The room is on the North side of the house with two windows on the north exterior wall, so there is very little ambient light during the day and we watch at night with the lights off.
There is no glass or anything between myself and the receiver and my angle is nearly dead-on.
With this setup it should work either way.

Let's see, what else?
Average Temperature - 72 degrees F. Does it need to be warmer or cooler to work correctly?
Average Humidity - 50 % (would drier or wetter be better?)
8 foot ceilings - (gonna have to live with that)
Carpeted floors - (carpet's pretty old - perhaps new carpet will help the remote work better?)
Wood paneling - Aha! It's undetectable radiation from the isotopes of wood decomposing at the rate of 1 milligram per year!

Mine bounces all the time in either mode....AND IT SUCKS!

#5 OFFLINE   brittonx

brittonx

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 414 posts
Joined: Dec 25, 2006

Posted 08 April 2007 - 10:41 PM

I get bad keybounce with both. For me, it is more prevalent with RF.
1-HR20-700 w/1TB Seagate HDD, 1-H21-200, 2-H20-100, 1-H20-600
Slimline Dish via WB68 multiswitch.
Primary display: 52" Sony Bravia 1080p to HR20-700 via HDMI
Second display: 42" Emerson Plasma to H21-200 via HDMI
Media Server Windows 7 Ultimate
HR20 & H21 wired to Netgear Gigabit Switch via Cat 5e cables.


#6 OFFLINE   funhouse69

funhouse69

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 669 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2007

Posted 08 April 2007 - 11:10 PM

Keybounce here multiple times a day in RF - IR not so much - more line of site issues. I stick with RF - that was one of the selling points of the HR20 for me :D

I've read elsewhere in this forum that the new HR20-100 has an external Antenna that is supposed to address this? I'd be curious to hear if that seems to have eliminated the problem or not.
Was with D* for over 10 years then switched to the dark-side a few years ago and haven't looked back. I truly enjoy the 50% savings and uninterrupted service

#7 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 08 April 2007 - 11:20 PM

Using Rf from day one.
My first H20 didn't at all, my second H20 would slightly.
My HR-20 does it every once an a while, but this could be my bumbling fingers just as much as anything.
Not any noticeable problem.

PS: I can't type either....so my fingers could be all of it. FWIW
A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   Xram

Xram

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 317 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 08 April 2007 - 11:43 PM

I get bad keybounce with both. For me, it is more prevalent with RF.


Ditto for me.
4 - HR20-700 's
1 - HR21-700
1 - HR20-100
1 - R15
WB616
Slimline

#9 OFFLINE   Supervolcano

Supervolcano

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,085 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2007

Posted 08 April 2007 - 11:57 PM

For me....
RF mode has serious keybounce issues.
Haven't had any problems in IR mode.
That means --- Yes, this occurs often.

armophob....
If one of the modes doesn't function properly, then a "no" vote is defeating the purpose of this thread.
:rolleyes:
Click Here to See my Equipment and SWM8 Configuration.
Click Here for My Theories on why we have no shouldn't have DLB yet.
Click Here to Review cbaker's "Long Term (Multiple CE) Bug List".

#10 OFFLINE   Groundhog45

Groundhog45

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,295 posts
  • LocationCedar Park, Texas
Joined: Nov 09, 2005

Posted 09 April 2007 - 12:21 AM

I see this fairly often. Just this evening I entered 78 and got 788. Happened two times in a row and I was very careful the second time to push and release the buttons quickly. Sometimes I get the guide filters instead of the list and I assume this is key bounce and not a problem with the special setting being changed.

Richard -- DirecTV since '97
Team SETI.USA

 


#11 OFFLINE   directvfreak

directvfreak

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 335 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 09 April 2007 - 04:19 AM

I don't have any problems using the harmony 880.
Matt

#12 OFFLINE   tucker301

tucker301

    Banned User

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 234 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 09 April 2007 - 06:06 AM

Yes, well, in an overly sarcastic way, I suppose my point was that it serves no purpose to state the trouble without refining the actions. Why not just open a poll that says remote is good or bad. I think the more detailed the polls, the better the chances of D* getting a handle on the issues.
If a moderator wants to change my vote from nay to yay then I give my permission with a heavy sigh.


I purposely left the poll simplified, because I feel that the equipment should perform with a general level of satisfaction. I don't think equipment is performing properly when users have to do special tricks or use gimmics to get it to work.

The poll assumes that the user, being savvy enough to have found his way to these forums, already knows that one would need to switch the remote to RF mode if line of sight is not present or if other factors like bright ambient light interfere with the function of the IR.

If you don't like the way the poll is structured, and you feel so desperately inclined to inform the masses of the wonders of RF, then feel free to start your own poll.

You've made your points and I've made mine.
Now let's just see where the poll goes from here.

So far, it looks to be 2 to 1, regardless of mode.

#13 OFFLINE   TimGoodwin

TimGoodwin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 596 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2004

Posted 09 April 2007 - 06:57 AM

The one receiver with RF getting it all the time. The other with IR no such problems. I need the RF in the location I have it so it would be nice to get this problem resolved.
2 HR-20 700's
1 HR24-500
1 AM21
All receivers are networked

8 Port SWM
OTA Feeding all receivers
Slimline Dish
DLS 15MB's- FIOS

#14 OFFLINE   ImmerTech

ImmerTech

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 67 posts
  • LocationFort Lauderdale
Joined: Jul 19, 2004

Posted 09 April 2007 - 07:27 AM

I get keybounce both with the DirecTV remote and with my Harmony. At first I thought it was just the Harmony codes. Then I switched back to the DirecTV remote and had the same problem.

I am using IR for both. Have not tried RF.

- ImmerTech
 


#15 OFFLINE   W9CDL

W9CDL

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 81 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2006

Posted 09 April 2007 - 07:55 AM

YES!!! YES!!! A resounding YES! This an issue I have brought up a number of times, only to have it shelved. It is a severe pain in the a**. It needs to be addressed, and soon. Using the remote is part of the basic function and there is no "work around". The sooner this is addressed the better.

#16 OFFLINE   richlife

richlife

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,060 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2006

Posted 09 April 2007 - 08:07 AM

Frequent keybounce with RF. Seems to me a little less severe with 145.
Rich Beaudry
UNC Tar Heel '69, '75
Woodworker, grandfather, DirecTV 1994
Whole-Home Slimline w/ SWM.
A) HR20-700: NR 4aa; HDMI Audio: HDMI, TOSLINK. Res-1080i; Native- On; eSata-No; Remote-RF (2).
B) HR23-700: NR 4aa; Video&Audio HDMI. Res.-720p; Native-On; Network-No; eSata-No; Remote-IR.
C) H23-600: NR 0440; HDMI. Res.-1080p; Native-On; eSata-No; Remote-IR.
TVs: A) Sony 50" Rear Proj KDS50A2000 & VIZIO 22" LCD M220VA; B) Sony 37" Rear Proj KDF37H1000; C) Toshiba 40" LCD 40FT1U

#17 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 09 April 2007 - 08:08 AM

My answer is really two:
RF all the time

IR rarely

It makes RF impossible to use so I only use IR now.

I could not figure out which of the thress best answers my situaiton so I guess Yes sometimes.

For everyone having problems, try IR if you are using RF and RF is you are using IR. No guarantees but it may help.

- Craigl

#18 OFFLINE   tucker301

tucker301

    Banned User

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 234 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 09 April 2007 - 08:23 AM

I'm wondering if RF is creating echo signals, causing the push to register twice on the receiver.

Perhaps the device could be programmed to ignore a duplicate request within .10 seconds of the first?

#19 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 April 2007 - 08:32 AM

Perhaps the device could be programmed to ignore a duplicate request within .10 seconds of the first?

I would say "ignoring me" is the last thing I want my remote to do. :)
A.K.A VOS

#20 OFFLINE   paulman182

paulman182

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,838 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2006

Posted 09 April 2007 - 09:18 AM

It seems to me that IR is more likely to reflect than RF, since the RF will pass right thru walls.

Equipment includes a buncha stuff that I no longer have interest in detailing





Protected By... spam firewall...And...